Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Movie
This is a fantastic retelling of Stefan Aust's book about the 1970's West German left wing group the Red Army Faction. The book itself is a fresh retelling of a time that many are aware of, but few are fully informed about - previous books tended towards bias to one side or the other, this at least gives a sense of balance.

This translates well in the film and...
Published on 3 April 2009 by simonpeggfan

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing...
I live around the corner from the scene of the shooting of Benno Ohnesorg at the Deutsch Opera in Berlin in 1967. This film brings a history to me that I can't imagine. Like most British people, my main image of German history is of the pre-1945 era. Since then they have gone through the Cold War, which is what their own image of German history is clouded by, and also the...
Published on 24 Jan 2010 by J. Morris


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Baader-Meinhof Complex [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great film a must see. Some great actors that I recognise from other German films that I 've bought
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars subtitles are imprinted in the movie stream, 19 Aug 2009
This review is from: The Baader-Meinhof Complex [DVD] (DVD)
The subtitles are imprinted into the movie stream - no way to turn them off. Technically there is no reason to do this. This is like in the bad old days of VHS, where there was no choice. Why is it, the movie industry believes the english speaking viewer might not want to to see this film without the subtitles?

This comment is about this release on DVD - not about the movie itselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Baader Meinhof Komplex, 14 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Baader-Meinhof Complex [DVD] (DVD)
It is trying to make the case for the limbo we felt ourselves in while growing up in Germany after WW11. Schuldbewusst und Angehoren! Ja,Wie nieder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Baader-Meinhof - the official half-truth, 9 Nov 2009
By 
P. Carline "truth will out" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Baader-Meinhof Complex [DVD] (DVD)
A well-made, well-acted and engrossing film. Unfortunately it depicts only a partial truth at best - the 'official' version of the story. At worst it could be seen as a cover-up of the facts or even as propaganda for the bogus 'war on terror' - reinforcing the myth of 'home-grown terrorism'.

There is evidence that the Baader-Meinhof group and the Red Army Faction were in fact instigated and run by Western secret services and NATO - like the groups which carried out the bombings and murders in Italy and other European countries between 1969 and 1982 (collectively known as 'Operation Gladio'): allegedly the work of left-wing terrorists but in fact carried out by right-wing/fascist groups set up, trained and armed by the CIA and MI6 and responsible directly to NATO. Those responsible have never been brought to justice.

The aim was to scare the public away from supporting Communist parties which, especially in Italy, were poised to gain significant political power.

The full story can be found in the book by Swiss historian Daniele Ganser: NATO's Secret Armies.

The DVD has subtitles, but they're a bit haphazard - so you will miss a fair amount of the dialogue. I'm not sure if this is a general fault or specific to my copy. I contacted the supplier about this but did not receive a reply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bloodthirsty Angst, 14 Aug 2011
By 
Ken Raus "Ken Raus" (Lugdunum) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Baader-Meinhof Complex [DVD] (DVD)
This is a long film, eigentlich, 2 hours and 23 minutes long and on a par with the length of Downfall and screenplays some of the same actors/actresses with the relative newcomer Johanna Wokalek very good as Gudrun Ensslin.

The dvd boasts a clutch of five extras that include a commentary-Commentaries are often as and often more so than their film, revelatory of directorial agendas not evident in the screenplay which here,is one of a civil war of marginal and of bourgeois and plebeian Communists who unite to avenge the vacuity of their own lifeless lives in wirtschaftswunderliche US-occupied Germany.

Germanys interim NSDAP government is still legal-in fact the Baader-Meinhof gang commented realistically on the reason for the imprisonment of Juedische bankers in the KZ lagern in the NS-zeit and yet their own consciences are equally occupied by Communist dogma rather more East German, whereby the class-war warriors are half right in their insistence upon the removal of ZOG Yankee soldiers yet wrong to imagine the BRD had a choice,as the USA are an imperial power and no one's ally, rather the dog wagged by Israels tail.

As such,the gangs spoilt, bored, hippy Marxist understanding faltered as it did also in respect of their Palestinian Arab allies whose culture is Islamically conservative, a frequent blunder of the classist left and it faltered as it did in respect of the Tory-Liberal proletariat which is seldom the latent Fantasy-Fascist cradle, bourgeois Red dreamer's need to hate and the psychedelic, nudist, marihuana shagfests of this cell would've been forbidden by the conservative Communist DDR of the time, whose soldiery,then, still goosestepped on parade wearing Preussische uniformen,astonishing the Amerikanische onlookers but applauded by the East German populace from whose numbers sprang latter day Neo-Nazi's...Staatsgerechtsanwalt Mahler, depicted in the film, later became a noted Nationalist,showing the oscillatory evolution of some passionate politico's,even that it is better to be partly wrong first than wholly mediocre forever.

In all, the film is a good action-verbal effort but still faction and no more a truthful edit of given life/s or of an era than were Leans spectacular Lawrence of Arabia or Ganz's Der Untergang or even The Passion of the Christ, whose very title gave its bias away,therefore factional films can only ever be a greyish halfway house of edutainment.

As such,this film is likely to please only half of either possible clientele as, to the ignorant, its philosophical talk in dumbdownland will bore and to the politically literate,its bloody action might seem fatuous and yet, that's the point, the gang were practically consequential if politically ineffectual and were murderous bank robbers, bombers and kidnappers...it's a sorry European tale and that makes it interessanter than the tres predictable nasty,sick,nihilistic commonwealth crimefest...you need patience for this one. North Face [DVD] [2008]Downfall (2 Disc Edition) [2005] [DVD]Crimes and MerciesAn Eye for an EyeNight of the Long KnivesHitler's Children: Story of the Baader-Meinhof Terrorist Gang
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sounds like everyone enjoyed it except me....!!, 23 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Baader-Meinhof Complex [DVD] (DVD)
I can tell it's well directed, the actors are superb, the action realistic so why the hell don't I like it as much as the others reviewing it. Maybe it's because I knew nothing about this historical stuff walking into it, maybe as there's no-one to root for through the whole thing, charismatic people, idological people yes, but people who can just leave their children to go on a crusade - can't relate to that...!!!, maybe due to the sheer amount of death doled out to what must have been real people (as this is based on real life) with families et al, made be sad. or maybe simply because the thing goes on for hours and hours and hours and then seems to peter out at the end....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excelent movie but too uncompromised, 11 Sep 2009
By 
Alejandro Bisio "abisio" (Miami, Fl) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Baader-Meinhof Complex [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is almost perfect in every sense; production, acting, storyline and even character complexity; however while nevers it seems to define itself politically (which should be ok) in the end it looks pretty much like the official version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baader-Meinhof, 4 Aug 2009
This review is from: The Baader-Meinhof Complex [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as a present to my father, and I haven't watched it myself.

The feedback I got from my parents was that this was a good film, telling the story with more focus on facts than truthiness, which they attributed to it being German and not an American remake.

I still have the feeling I want to watch it, so I guess that's a good thing.

For serious and indepth reviews, please check other reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideological lunacy, 24 May 2009
This review is from: The Baader-Meinhof Complex [DVD] (DVD)
Like most people born before 1970, I had heard of the Baader-Meinhoff gang; a bunch of left-wing German fanatics who murdered politicians and bankers. Yet I never had a complete handle on what motivated them or what sort of personalities they had. This intelligent and absorbing historical saga (it's a long film) fills in the blanks.

Its docu-drama style is blessed with strong acting, in particular from Johanna Wokalek (Gudrun Ensslin) and Bruno Ganz (Horst Herold). The gang member's skewed view of the world and pathological omnipotence comes across very powerfully and as much as I hate greedy bankers and corrupt politicians, nobody deserves to be left to the mercy of these self-centered miscreants.

The length of the film didn't bother me (I'd have been quite happy for it to go on for another hour), but the sub-titles on the DVD were far too small. For me that was the only fly in the ointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the baader-meimhof complax, 23 Jun 2009
By 
david denton "film watcher." (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a good film, the only drawback is that it is all german, so you have to detract from the film, so that you can follow the story by way of the subtitles. the book is a good read, as it has been translated into english.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Baader-Meinhof Complex [DVD]
The Baader-Meinhof Complex [DVD] by Uli Edel (DVD - 2009)
£4.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews