Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 June 2005
Converge have reminded everyone once again why they are held in such high regard when it comes to making truly stunning hardcore. A step forward from the savage, white-knuckle monster that was the truly astonishing "Jane Doe" opus, Converge have done the wise thing and opted not to make a note-by-note replica of their masterpiece (something bands such as Korn and Sepultura should have stopped doing years ago). With "You Fail Me", they have upped the ante and set another benchmark record for all hard/math/noise/whatever-core bands to aspire to.
Standout tracks include "Last Light", "Heartless", and "When Eagles Become Vultures".
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2004
"How do you follow Jane Doe?"
This question was on my lips after the release of one of the greatest pieces of extreme music EVER. Simple - Converge get experimental.
There are still moments of blastbeat noisecore mayhem ("Black Cloud", "Drop Out"), but also dense melodies ("Hanging Moon"), gothic acoustic passages ("In Her Shadow"), "My War" era Black Flag sludgecore ("You Fail Me") and almost free jazz like instrumentation ("Last Light").
You even get discernible singing on some tracks, which highlights Jacob Bannon's despairing yet beautifully poetic lyrics.
It would have been easy to release Jane Doe Mark 2 - fans would have been happy with that. Thankfully, Converge haven't followed the easy route. The album is disorienting at first, but after a couple of listens the CD is almost impossible to remove from your player.
Along with the latest efforts by Dillinger and Mastodon, metal album of the year.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2006
converge are a band that are quite new to me,and this is the only album of theirs that i possess at this time,but its an intriguing album that grows on you and leaves you in a state of emotional carnage,jacob bannon is truly a troubled soul,reading the lyrics certainly gives you that belief,but he expresses his frustration and hurt in ways we can only dream of,and converge is that way,you fail me is an album that isnt simply screamcore or hardcore as some call them,its an album of passion and fury and soul scraping honesty.

album opener first light is an instrumental,but in truth its like mike tyson shaking your hand before he knocks you senseless as the next track last light screeches in like a car from the italian job,other belting numbers can be found here such as black cloud,you fail me and the head melting when eagles become vultures,the songs vary in their styles more than i was prepared for,there are certainly jazz fused moments and more melody than you think ,but i will admit that this isnt quite sing a long music,although it will grow on you and you will join in one way or another,enjoyable stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2004
Ok, so it's not released yet. And I know you're thinking 'how come he can give it 5 stars if it isn't released'? Well, I'll tell you. I downloaded an advance copy. (Don't worry you lawyer types, I'll buy it when it comes out). No doubt you Converge fans will want to know what it's like. Well, think Jane Doe...but a few years down the line. That's pretty much it. It's good in every way that Converge is good. Awesome riffs, sick vocals and an unbelievable rythme section. It has dark bits, fast bits and those bits that sound like Converge and no one else. Overall I say 'Essential Converge'. The track listing is as follows: First Light, Last Light, Black Cloud, Drop Out, Hope Street, Heartless, You Fail Me, In Her Shadow, Easgles Become Vultures, Death King, In Her Blood, Hanging Moon.
If there is one problem I have with this album is that is finishes a little too suddenly. Jane Doe finished with the epic 'Jane Doe' (at about 12 minutes in length) where as 'You Fail Me' just seems to end all of a sudden. No build up to something catastrophic, just simply the end. A minor niggle and nothing more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2004
Raw emotion. That is how I would describe this astounding album. From start to finish, it is an emotional rollercoaster than has you hanging on for dear life.
On my first listening I was sceptical of the album, and didn't really think too much of it - but it is one of those that you have to listen to quite a bit for it to sink in. And once it sank in, I realised the genious behind it. Although everyone ones input on the album is brilliant, the drumming is on another level. Tis a very drum-driven record.
So overall, absolutely fantastic cd. Perhaps their best. Up there with The Dillinger Escape Plan and Lamb of God in the top 3 albums of the year so far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2005
I have heard quite a few of Converge fans say that this album is not very good but I totally disagree.
The first song starts of at a slow rate but it soon builds up.The tracks 1-4 are so amazing! Great stuff.Eagals Become Vultures is also one of thre best tracks on itand I love the video.
You should definatly get this album if you are going to get any of the Converge albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2005
This is converge at their best, a total bruiser of an album combining metal punk and visceral fury to great effect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2005
I got to be true, this is not my favourite album of Converge, Jane Doe stills being the one to me, but this one is very close. So i'm not gonna describe it song by song... the only thing I can tell you is that there is a moment for every fan in this album. A little bit of everything Converge ever made till now. But the major point in You Fail Me is those high moments, sometimes in the end, sometimes in the beginning, others in the middle of a song that can characterise a whole song by just one riff. At this time with so many bands playing good music but in the same way, this album got some moments really fresh and new...
I ordered it, and I was listening the A side like B side and viceversa, so for all future buyers, this album hasn't got a track list, only the lyrics all together like if they were one.
So black side is the A side and red one is the B side.
The vynil is white, wich is a great edition for any vynil collector and the 3rd music from the B side is an extra that only comes on the vynil edition wich is called Wolves At My Door, the rest is the same track list from the cd.
This is a good record and i recommend it for every fan from this kind of music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)