Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Think Bach Would Be Thrilled, 28 Jan 2009
By 
J Scott Morrison (Middlebury VT, USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bach; Stokowski - Transcriptions Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
After three long years we finally have Volume 2 in this series of orchestral transcriptions of Bach's (and others') music by Leopold Stokowski (1882-1977). I reviewed the first of these Stokowski: Bach Orchestral Transcriptions with a rave and a brief walk down Memory Lane. Unlike some, for whom the Toccata and Fugue in D Minor is the first and most impressive of the Bach/Stokowski arrangements, in that first CD I was delighted to find my own first-heard Stokowski arrangement, that of the Little Fugue in G Minor. But the opening band of the present volume is possibly what most people have been waiting for: the gloriously rich transcription of the Toccata and Fugue in D Minor. (Who can forget its use in Disney's Fantasia?) José Serebrier has the Stokowski sound down pat; it's no wonder as he was Stokowski's assistant when the Maestro was the conductor of the American Symphony Orchestra (and he was Stokowski's necessary second conductor in the world première of the Ives' Fourth Symphony). Once again Serebrier and the fine Bournemouth Symphony perform at the top of their game.

After a bang-up performance of the Toccata and Fugue in D Minor, we get a series of mostly slow-ish and richly orchestrated selections. There are, as of the date of this review, not listed and I shall do so here:

Arioso (Largo from the Concerto for Harpsichord and Strings in F Minor, BWV 1056

Wachet auf (arr. of Schübler Choral, BWV 645)

Ich ruf' zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ (Organ Choral Prelude, BWV 639)

Adagio from Toccata, Adagio and Fugue in C for organ, BWV 564

Mein Jesu (from Schemeli's Musical Song Book)

Ein feste Berg (chorale by Luther)

Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring (Chorale No. 10 from Cantata No. 147)

Prelude in B Minor (No. 24 from WTC, Bk 1)

Siciliano (from 4th Violin Sonata and Clavier, BWV 1017)

Fugue in C Minor (No. 2 from WTC, Bk 1)

Palestrina: Adoramus te

Byrd: Pavane and Gigue

Jeremiah Clark: Trumpet Prelude (previously known as Purcell's Trumpet Voluntary)

Boccherini: Minuet (from Quintet in E Major, Op. 13, No. 5)

Johann Mattheson: Air (from Harpsichord Suite No. 5 in C Minor)

Haydn: Andante cantabile (from Quintet in F major, Op. 3, No. 5)

Not all of the arrangements are for full romantic-era orchestra. For instance, Mein Jesu is for strings alone, as are the Prelude in B minor and the Siciliano. The Bournemouth strings have no reason to be compared negatively with those of the old Philadelphia Orchestra whom Stokowski brought to such prominence. They sound fabulous.

Everyone who has seen the Alec Guinness film, 'The Ladykillers', will recognize the Boccherini. That's the piece Guinness's gang of accomplices pretended to rehearse as they planned a bank robbery. And who hasn't heard Clarke's Trumpet Prelude at a wedding or three.

The final band is a transcription of the unpretentious little C Minor Fugue from Book I of the Well-Tempered Clavier that takes on heroic Wagnerian proportions in Stokowski's hands. It certainly brought a smile to my face.

I know it's fashionable to decry these sometimes gargantuan transcriptions, particularly in these days of historically-informed performances. But for me they retain their persuasive charm. Thank you, Maestro Serebrier and your Bournemouth musicians.

Scott Morrison
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bach Stokowski, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach; Stokowski - Transcriptions Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
This is powerful music which reaches into your soul. A brilliant version of the original. One of the best of Bach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stokowski's Bach, 8 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach; Stokowski - Transcriptions Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
I am very pleased with the recording. I have always liked Stokowski's arrangements ever since seeing the film 'Fantasia'and this recording does not disappoint.The atmosphere generated is very spooky at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better HiFi than Fantasia, 14 Mar 2014
By 
R. Wilkinson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach; Stokowski - Transcriptions Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
This is the CD to get if you want a CD quality recording of Stokowski's orchestral version of JS Bach's Toccata and Fugue in D minor. It is a "modern" recording. As so, the recording is far superior to the original recording for the Fantasia film soundtrack. As is stated in the reviews of the soundtrack to the film Fantasia, the quality of the original music recordings from that film are too far gone for listenable quality. The CD also contains other organ works that have been transcribed for orchestra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lush and lovely, 28 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Bach; Stokowski - Transcriptions Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
An ideal musical wallow in over-romantic orchestrations of glorious themes. The non-Bach items are a luxuriant series of revelatory delights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, perfect, one quibble, 1 May 2009
By 
Charles Voogd (Underwaterland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bach; Stokowski - Transcriptions Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
The other reviewers do a great job being so enthousiastic about this release. I'm too so I'll keep it short.
When listening to this CD with my headphone I encountered a great deal of hiss starting with every track. I thought my system had a problem but other disc don't. So it must be the recording. With volume 1 of these seires the hiss is audible but not so as on volume 2. I regret this. That's why 4 stars. Because many tracks are not that loud, the hiss is always there. Pity.
Listened to it with AKG 601; Marantz SA-7 S1; Musical Fidelity A5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Serebrier Does it Again!, 15 Mar 2009
By 
Graham (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach; Stokowski - Transcriptions Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
Those who purchased and enjoyed Serebrier's first volume of Stokowski Bach transcriptions need not hesitate in buying this equally enjoyable second volume. It includes, "in response to popular and critical demand", the most famous of Stokowski's transcriptions: the Tocatta and Fugue in D minor. In addition to various other Bach pieces there are also a number of items by various composers such as William Byrd, Jeremiah Clark, Haydn and Boccherini.
Serebrier, who worked with Stokowski for a number of years, secures excellent playing from the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, and the recorded sound is magnificent. If you don't already own volume one, then buy both together! You will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the second Bach transcription CD by Stokowski that ..., 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach; Stokowski - Transcriptions Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
This is the second Bach transcription CD by Stokowski that I have bought.
Stokowski's orchestration is pure genius and the listening experience is just stunning.

I am sure JS would approve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I was very impressed with the service I received from ..., 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach; Stokowski - Transcriptions Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
I was very impressed with the service I received from EliteDigital and the CD was just as special as I expected it to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bach; Stokowski - Transcriptions Vol. 2
Bach; Stokowski - Transcriptions Vol. 2 by Leopold Stokowski (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews