Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True vocal artistry
I remember when this CD came out back in 2008, it was my first encounter with Kaufmann and the delight of his singing is still immense. In the meantime Kaufman gave us more pleasures and became a major opera star, and rightly so. In many ways, this is still my favourite Kaufmann's album, the excitement of his first vocal `show-off' is palpable in his singing of wide...
Published on 14 Nov 2011 by Klingsor

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review
Gramophone

Don't judge this album from the first aria - the Puccini arias are the weakest here. The French repertoire finds Kaufmann on excellent form. The most encouraging thing about him is his musical intelligence - a genuine soft high note to crown his Carmen Flower Song - and elsewhere he strives to serve the music. The voice can't quite do all he asks...
Published on 3 April 2008 by PTK


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Romantic Arias Cd Jonas Kauffmann, 28 Mar 2014
By 
Mrs. Philippa Hogan "PippaH" (Bray, Wicklow, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romantic Arias (Audio CD)
An excellent collection of romantic operatic arias. Mr. Kaufmann is a superb artist whose interpretation of these works is masterful, lyrical and proves that he is following in the footsteps of legends like Pavarotti and Domingo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant, 2 Jan 2014
By 
Dr. David Flynn (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romantic Arias (Audio CD)
Enjoyed listening to this CD for Kaufman's and regularly play it at home or in the car. A very nicely put together CD - would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romantic Arias (Audio CD)
Masterful romantic singing - some old favourites mixed in with lesser own arias. So good I bought a copy for my brother and his wife for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Romantic Arias - Jonas Kaufmann, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romantic Arias (Audio CD)
Superb voice and well recorded.Whats not to like ? Some of the arias are well known others not but interesting because of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More Than Just a Heldentenor., 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romantic Arias (Audio CD)
Jonas Kaufmann displays a fluidity in his voice that is liquid gold. this man could be a world class baritone if he so chose. His voice on this CD has a soft richness that shows he's not just a Wagnerian great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars romantic arias, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romantic Arias (Audio CD)
I chose to buy this cd as I had heard good things of Jonas Kaufmann but had never heard him before .and thought this a way of hearing his voice .Very pleasant and I was pleased to listen to him and will no doubt buy more of his recordings in the furure .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tremendous !, 19 Jun 2013
By 
M. G. Gray "cody" (edinburgh, scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romantic Arias (Audio CD)
He has a glorious voice, reaches the high range with so much ease that it looks effortless. Obviously we know that is not the case and it requres years of dedication and endless practice to attain such a high standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gorgeous!, 18 April 2013
By 
Mrs. Pa Tomlinson (Shropshire,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romantic Arias (Audio CD)
What a voice. I havn't got fourteen more words to describe it.
I.ve got find eight more words and I can only think of one. Heavenly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular!, 26 Jan 2008
By 
L. robinson "L robinson" (bedfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Romantic Arias (Audio CD)
THIS IS A VERY FINE VOICE OF SPECTACULAR QUALITY AND DRAMATIC ABILITY .kAUFFMANS VOICE REMINDS ME veryMUCH OF GIUSSEPPI giacominni.It is wonderfull to hear of a new tenor with such an incredible instrument instead of the usual trend that universal seem to indulge in of picking a performer for good looks and youth with substandard vocal abilities no names mentioned!!The A and R personel should look closer under their noses to find diamonds like Kaufmann believe me there are plenty of them all over the globe and bring back quality , and stop short changing the public. Jonas Kaufmann we will surely be seeing and hearing more of this fine exponent of his art congratulations!!! more of the same quality please universal!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romantic Arias (Audio CD)
A brilliant album from a brilliant Tenor
My favourite opera singer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Romantic Arias
Romantic Arias by Jonas Kaufmann and Marco Armiliato and Prague Philharmonic Orchestra
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews