Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True vocal artistry
I remember when this CD came out back in 2008, it was my first encounter with Kaufmann and the delight of his singing is still immense. In the meantime Kaufman gave us more pleasures and became a major opera star, and rightly so. In many ways, this is still my favourite Kaufmann's album, the excitement of his first vocal `show-off' is palpable in his singing of wide...
Published on 14 Nov 2011 by Klingsor

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review
Gramophone

Don't judge this album from the first aria - the Puccini arias are the weakest here. The French repertoire finds Kaufmann on excellent form. The most encouraging thing about him is his musical intelligence - a genuine soft high note to crown his Carmen Flower Song - and elsewhere he strives to serve the music. The voice can't quite do all he asks...
Published on 3 April 2008 by PTK


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True vocal artistry, 14 Nov 2011
By 
Klingsor (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Romantic Arias (Audio CD)
I remember when this CD came out back in 2008, it was my first encounter with Kaufmann and the delight of his singing is still immense. In the meantime Kaufman gave us more pleasures and became a major opera star, and rightly so. In many ways, this is still my favourite Kaufmann's album, the excitement of his first vocal `show-off' is palpable in his singing of wide selection of romantic opera arias, ranging from unavoidable tenor warhorses like `E lucevan e stele', over his (then recent) massive success in Bizet's `Carmen' to one of the finest accounts of Wagner's `Prize song' from `Die Meistersinger' I have ever heard.

This is not your usual romantic tenor strain-on-top-and-shout-out-loud. Kaufmann has a dark, almost baritone hue to his voice, and he manages to keep the same colour even to the highest of notes he's producing here. He is an intelligent singer in complete control of the language as much of the music. His dark vocal colour might not suit some, mainly those used to light `tenors' singing popular tunes that have highjack the market in the last few decades, but make no mistake - this is vocal artistry of a highest order. And for those who like Wagner as much as Puccini, it's a no brainer. Jonas Kaufmann is the only tenor today who can equally well deliver his lines in Italian and in German and I'm personally looking forward to him developing into a great Parsifal one fine day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Album, 12 Aug 2011
By 
Trev-R (Boston UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romantic Arias (Audio CD)
Jonas brings this selection to life with his wonderful full tenor voice. The choice of repetoire may not be everyone's cup of tea especially the heavier Germanic renditions. I am not really a fan either but I thought Jonas's renditions made me want to listen more than perhaps I normally would. His Carmen is absolutely the best I have heard from a modern tenor, I enjoyed it so much that I bought the Blu-ray of the Royal Opera House production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful singing, 30 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romantic Arias (Audio CD)
This is a real delight -- a tenor who does not do "can belto" but truly does sing Bel Canto. A beautiful, melodious voice, used with intelligence and integrity.
The voice should last for a long time, because of the depth of it - like Placido Domingo, the voice is on the low,baritone, side of tenor.Absolutely wonderful, I can't wait for pay day,to buy more! Best new tenor in ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 15 Oct 2009
By 
C. A. Stott ""opera lover"" (South Australia, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romantic Arias (Audio CD)
This is a superb album, showcasing beautifully the vocal abilities of Jonas Kaufmann, sometimes dramatic, sometimes romantic, but always with the ability to move the listener. The choice of Arias is wide ranging therefore showing the many and varied facets of his voice. This album is one I have listened to many times and never get tired of it! Buy it; it is well worth the money!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful voice and dramatic performances, 20 Feb 2012
This review is from: Romantic Arias (Audio CD)
I first came across Jonas Kaufmann in the superb production of Tosca from Covent Garden broadcast on BBC2 on Christmas Eve. I was greatly impressed both by the purity, intensity and dramatic quality of his voice and thus bought this album. I was not disappointed as the same command and feeling goes into all the songs on the album. He is without doubt one of the world's leading tenors of whom we will undoubtedly hear much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars romantic jonas, 28 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. S. C. Jones "heuchera" (Manchester England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Romantic Arias (Audio CD)
What a voice! Although most of the arias chosen are a bit predictable he does show the full range his voice . It is a very unusual tenor voice ( almost baritone in quality) - very rich and very masculine.This CD would make a great birthday (or Christmas!)gift, as a taster if Jonas is new to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review, 3 April 2008
This review is from: Romantic Arias (Audio CD)
Gramophone

Don't judge this album from the first aria - the Puccini arias are the weakest here. The French repertoire finds Kaufmann on excellent form. The most encouraging thing about him is his musical intelligence - a genuine soft high note to crown his Carmen Flower Song - and elsewhere he strives to serve the music. The voice can't quite do all he asks yet, but it's full of brooding, Vinay-like darkness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over ambitious?, 29 Jan 2008
By 
Mr.Woods (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romantic Arias (Audio CD)
Yes, it's a stupendous voice, and Kaufmann is one of the great singers currently before the public, but some of these arias just don't suit him. Where is Rodolfo's good humour, Alfredo's youthful ebullience? The "Traviata" aria must be one of the least buoyant ever recorded. He floats a lovely voix mixte top C at the end of "Salut, demeure", but where is the sense of rapture and wonder? It's all a bit frowny and charmless, and all these varied characters sound more or less like the same person. He's at his considerable best in the dramatic arias, the Don Carlo, Werther, Max in "Freischutz", Don Jose, the anguished introverts; these tracks are magnificent, but anything which requires him to SMILE is beyond him. A pity, because in the right repertoire he's a world-beater, he's just overstretched himself here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ablazed with passion!, 27 Jun 2014
This review is from: Romantic Arias (Audio CD)
I love romantic movies, books, series, stories, operas. In general everything associated with romance. So it was no wonder why I bought this CD. Before this CD, I wasn't a fan of Jonas Kaufmann's voice, but I knew that he specializes in romantic arias. So I decided to give it a shot.

I have to admit that his voice is truly perfect for this kind of arias. He is so expressive and emotional that I cried in some parts of the CD (as I am a romantic person). Every line of these arias is full of passion, especially his pianissimos.

Some of the best tracks are from Carmen, La Boheme, Tosca and Manon. But the best of them all are from Martha and Werther.

Overall, this CD is perfect for romantic souls and it's Jonas Kaufmann's best CD in my opinion. Definitely recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Romantic Arias Cd Jonas Kauffmann, 28 Mar 2014
By 
Mrs. Philippa Hogan "PippaH" (Bray, Wicklow, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romantic Arias (Audio CD)
An excellent collection of romantic operatic arias. Mr. Kaufmann is a superb artist whose interpretation of these works is masterful, lyrical and proves that he is following in the footsteps of legends like Pavarotti and Domingo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Romantic Arias
Romantic Arias by Jonas Kaufmann and Marco Armiliato and Prague Philharmonic Orchestra
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews