Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i didn't expect it to be this good
I was always a doubter of the mitchell brothers, thinking they were just a sub standard version of the streets- whom i love. having seen them live supporting nelly tho i managed to get my hands on an early copy of the album and was not disappointed. there's alll the cheeky cockney banter you'd expect as on "fuck me fuck you" and "excuse my brother" that could just as...
Published on 11 Aug 2005 by Geoffrey Kemp

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not even average :(
Routine Check is an excellent song. Very very good. As a result I had high expectations for this album, and it was just pretty lacklustre.
There were no standout lines in the album, the beats were okay, but nothing more than that, and I was very disappointed. I got the album quite cheap and it still wasn't worth the money!
Published on 30 Nov 2011 by Alan Dickson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i didn't expect it to be this good, 11 Aug 2005
I was always a doubter of the mitchell brothers, thinking they were just a sub standard version of the streets- whom i love. having seen them live supporting nelly tho i managed to get my hands on an early copy of the album and was not disappointed. there's alll the cheeky cockney banter you'd expect as on "fuck me fuck you" and "excuse my brother" that could just as easily be the streets, but also a whole new depth that just hasn't been heard with the singles... check out "She's Got it All wrong" if you loved "it's too late" this takes you right back to the first time you heard it, it's uplifting and sad all at the same time. So great to hear emotion in a london accent, rather than just macho posturing. Other great tracks are "g.o.r.g.i.e" if you've ever been on the dole you'll feel like you're there. "don't try this at home" is a classic too, full of strings and an ominous undertone- this should be in a film surely. if you like the Streets and Roots Manuva but want an album you'll keep coming back too and finnding hidden gems here is your answer. I thought the mitchells were one dimensional parodies of lad culture- this has really proved me wrong...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MIxed views, 31 Aug 2005
By A Customer
I reccomend this album for all streets fans, british hip hop fans and anyone who is open to listening to great new music. i bought this album expecting big things and on the whole i wasnt disappointed.
We've all by now heard harvey nicks and routine check, two top tunes. other highlights on the album include 'smart b*stard' (you will find yourself singing along uncontrolably to the chorus of this one after a few listens!), 'dont try this at home' and the absolutely amazing 'alone with the tv' (if you listen to one song of this album listen to this song its amazing, best thing from mike skinner since blinded by the lights and will definitly chart in the top 5 of the uk chart in the future)
However the album has a few faults. some of the mitchell brothers lyrics arent too good and some songs are terrible (what were they thinking with 'wish i did the same') but overall a decent first atempt from the mitchells.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality UK Hip-Hop, 24 Aug 2005
This is a quality album. If you are a fan of Mike Skinners beats this is an album full of them. Tony and Teddy are still abit rough around the edges but it probably makes for abetter album. It also features the ever impressive vocals of Leo The Lion, Sway, Kano (buy his album aswell) and Mike Skinner himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an album!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 11 Nov 2005
By A Customer
First of all, in answer to one of the questions above, G.O.R.G.I.E means Gorgie Giro, but I also read sumwhere that it stands for Going On Rubbish Government Inadequate Earnings!
Secondly... EVERYONE MUST BUY THIS CD!!!!!
If ur a fan of The Streets or just UK Hip-Hop on the whole, u wont be disappointed! Almost evey song iz top notch, the standout tracks in my opinion are Routine Check, Excuse My Brother and Alone With The TV but on the whole the album is a great listen and you will defo be glad u splashed out on it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Sep 2005
I think this album is great, they are highly underrated and get a lot of stick for the Mike Skinner connection. Although you can see the influence, it really just adds to the "Britishness" of it. The album has some brilliant, classic songs and lines. I would highly recommend it. British hip hop at its best ps : I reckon the album sleeve is wicked as well love the baby photos ; )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5*'s from a non chav, 23 Aug 2007
I have never worn burberry, nor have i donned a fitted cap - however having owned this album for well over a year now Im still listening to it on the way to work. it's ace - routine check and excuse my brother stand out especially for me, but when friends have listened to it they love other tunes on there too. all i can say is that whilst sway and co. will tide me over for the time being, i cant wait for the next album to come out. go on, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punk up the Volume, 6 Jan 2006
By A Customer
I love the punk. END OF. However, check this. END OF. To be fair, anyone who enjoys PROPPER music will like this album. The writing is pretty much amazing, the colaborations are RIDICULOUSLY good (watch out for Sway Dasafo). Anyone who likes 50 Cent, Eminem, Nelly.... GROW UP. That american stuff is commerical RUBBISH. Listen to the TRUTH, listen to REALITY. The MBs are BRITAIN people! This is what is happening out of your front door. I wish them all the sucess possible. This is REAL talent.
"even when i got the guinnesses, and the chicken patties"
done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Answer, 8 Nov 2005
By 
Mr. R. T. Burns "mcfcfanalways" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a brilliant and original album...not suitable for kids, but not people trying to be gangster for no reason. "Someone can't look us ine they eye" presents a gangster tune, but not to the laughable extent such as Ja Rule who is clearly a wanabe.
And to answer an earlier question, gorgie stands for Going On Rubbish Goverenment Inadequate Earnings.
Saw them as the supportact to 50 cents recent concert in manchester
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not even average :(, 30 Nov 2011
By 
Alan Dickson (Down South, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Routine Check is an excellent song. Very very good. As a result I had high expectations for this album, and it was just pretty lacklustre.
There were no standout lines in the album, the beats were okay, but nothing more than that, and I was very disappointed. I got the album quite cheap and it still wasn't worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Entirely wrong. Chav music at best., 14 Sep 2006
By 
PB (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reading the other reviews here, I cannot believe the support this album is getting. If you wear Burberry and revel in living off benefits, this might appeal to you. There's nothing clever about this album: subject matter, rhymes, beats, production - at best, any of those elements are average, but as a complete work, it's just no good at all. The Mitchell Brothers epitomise what's wrong with urban music. Totally self-absorbed and oblivious to the world at large. Although this is a very British album, it is no better than the cynical, marketing-led hip hop coming out of the USA. Legitamising and glamorourising the chav-culture of our society is neither big nor clever. If Jade Goody is your role model, you may appreciate this album. If you have more sense about you than that, you will see it for the shallow dross it is.

British music, and British urban music can be so much better than this. Sway, Akala, Ms Dynamite are infinitely better albums and have far more important things to say. I can't recommend this album at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Breath Of Fresh Attire
A Breath Of Fresh Attire by The Mitchell Brothers
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews