Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Band That Took A Chainsaw To Eighties Pop..., 27 May 2002
By 
Mr. S. Chandler "Steve Chandler" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 21 Singles (Audio CD)
Just when the eighties looked like it was going to be the decade good music forgot (with the exception of Joy Division and a couple of other bands) along came The Jesus & Mary Chain's debut single Upside Down with it's feedback laden pop hooks to save the day. Non hit followed non hit as the band consistently failed to make a serious dent in the charts (with the exception of April Skies and Reverence...both top ten hits). However, chart positions are not the most important criteria by which a bands importance should be judged. The music and it's eventual influence speaks for itself. This album is not a Best Of. If it were it would have to be a box set consisting of all the bands albums and the three collections of b-sides and rarities that were also released. I truly envy anyone who has not heard any of the songs on this album. To hear these songs for the first time and to get that electric shiver of excitement running up my spine that only the greatest music can bring on would be amazing. Buy this album and understand where Black Rebel Motorcycle Club got all their best ideas. 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to the band, 14 Jan. 2006
By 
This review is from: 21 Singles (Audio CD)
This CD was for me a grower. I bought it a few years ago, when I was 18 and hadn't listened to much 80s alternative pop/rock.
It did take a few listens for this to really take hold, but it was totally worth it.
Buy Psychocandy or Darklands if you want to hear a complete and solid JAMC record, the former remains their greatest work.
Also see My Bloody Valentine and the Pixies cover of Head On (or really, anything by the Pixies or Breeders), if you enjoyed this but don't know where to go next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best band from the eighties, 12 Sept. 2002
By 
Tk Childs "Tom C" (Oxford United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 21 Singles (Audio CD)
Listening to this was like being given a shot of nostalgia generating adrenalin. Can't believe I'd stopped listening to them years ago. Psychocandy was an amazing aural experience, Darklands a more mature and reflective work, Automatic and Honey's Dead choc-a-bloc with top rock and roll songs. My personal favourites have to be "April Skies" (sublime) and "Head On" (awesome). This timely compilation is recommended to anyone who loved JAMC and needs to be reminded of what they achieved. And for anyone who hasn't heard them and needs to be reminded of what great rock and roll can sound like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The natural successor to Joy Division and the Bunnymen, 22 Jan. 2010
This review is from: 21 Singles (Audio CD)
This is the first best-of compilation for the brothers Reid and it really is about as simple as the title indicates. The 21 singles they released between 1984 and 1998, sequenced in the order of their release. And it works like a treat, it's fantastic stuff. If you never bought another JAMC album, you'd still have an excellent overview of the band's career just from this disc.
The Jesus & Mary Chain came screaming out of East Kilbride, Scotland, in 1984, comprised then of William & Jim Reid, Douglas Hart and Bobby Gillespie. The last-named soon buggered off to focus on his then nascent side-project Primal Scream.
Their early live performance were notable short 30 mins and played with backs turned to the audience, and were accredited as being the shortest, most violent rock gigs ever, and provided a suitably primitive back beat to the hellish sounds and images conjured out of their guitars..Copyiest of the time like Birdland (From the USA) paled into insignificance and were easily forgotten.
After the fairly full-bore assault, they lowered the feedback to less brain-destroying levels and revealed a sort of pop sensibility buried beneath the noise and distortion and was perfected in 1987.with the album. A sort of Phil Sector Wall of Sound meets Bunnymen/ Velvet Underground with a small touch of Californian surf mixed in for good measure. The quality of these sounds is unmistakable and can reduce a grown man to tears
21 Singles puts conveniently displays the bitter sweetness almost beautiful sounds of one of the finest bands to come out of the UK.
Sadly the band may be no more, but meanwhile we're left with bands like Black Rebel Motorcycle Club and the Ravonettes doing an admittedly not bad impression of them..
We can even hear glimpses of inspiration plagiarised from JAMC in the over rated Glasvagas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ablast from the past, 30 Jun. 2009
This review is from: 21 Singles (Audio CD)
I really like this cd. Ok there are some duff singles on it from later in their career but on the whole this is a good record of when noise was fun.
If you've seen them live recently and are thinking in investing in their records then start here. It's a good way to dip into the band and work out which albums you might want to buy. I've the singles from first time round (remember when they came in gatefold sleeves?) but but that's an expensive hobby.
It's certainly not perfect and won't be to everyone's taste but that was the beauty of the arrogant young band mambers in the 1980s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 18 out of 21, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 21 Singles (Audio CD)
I am now sixty-eight years old and, apart from hearing of the Jesus and Mary Chain, I their existence passed me by at the time. The first three tracks of the album are complete nonsense. They are played through an accompaniment of white noise and are totally formless. This is typical of the kind of indulgent pretentiousness that young groups produce from time to time. However, the other eighteen tracks are excellent and typical of the driving pop music that I enjoy. Basically it is typical, old rock and roll and jive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Understood, 20 Dec. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: 21 Singles (Audio CD)
In 1985 England, The Jesus and Mary Chain were considered the most "trendy" new band in the country. Their brilliant debut album gave them almost God-like status, although it failed to spawn any top-40 hit singles.
So much was expected of them, and it was a challenge that no band could be expected to meet.
"Some Candy Talking" was their first top-20 hit, followed by the brilliant top-10 "April Skies".
After this short spell of chart success, their "trendy" credentials quickly vanished and they were never given the chance to prove themselves that they deserved.
Like many others, I virtually wrote off JAMC when they released their second album, "Darklands", and only re-discovered them recently.
They never recaptured the excitement of their first album, but this history of singles shows that they remained a top quality band, deserving a lot more chart success than they actually received.
I believe the best tracks on the album are the last three singles, closely followed by the brilliant "Blues From A Gun" (which I did buy when originally released), and the successful "April Skies".
Buy this album because it is a very important piece of rock/pop history.
This collection has convinced me that I need to buy the other JAMC albums, and probably try to get hold of their b-sides too. "Kill Surf City" (I think it was the b-side to "April Skies" is one of the best b-side tracks I have ever heard).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny how wot attracted me to the chain i find ..., 6 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 21 Singles (Audio CD)
funny how wot attracted me to the chain i find unlisetenable now.they evolved from psychocandy and at the time i did not appreciate it.
now older and wiser i understand.the reid brothers created pop with an edge .the first 3 tracks show how they started ,the rest wot they became.im glad i rediscovered them.a superb album if ur not sure where to begin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 27 Sept. 2011
This review is from: 21 Singles (MP3 Download)
I have liked the Jesus and Mary Chain just forever! I'm an aging Indy chick and had all their albums on tape once upon a time, so now I have all their best bits in MP3 format. Superb collection, still gives me goosebumps listening to 'Sidewalking'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love en or hate 'em you cn't ignore 'en, 14 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 21 Singles (Audio CD)
This is the Jesus and Mary Chain album for me. Love en or hate 'em you cn't ignore 'en. I saw them twice and they were as good live as on the record. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

21 Singles
21 Singles by Jesus And Mary Chain
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews