Customer Reviews


311 Reviews
5 star:
 (165)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (37)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From genius to B-movie madness, loved it.
Some people complain about the packaging, I liked it, there's a bit of thought gone into making a fold out Empire State Building case to hold these 4 discs. It's not particularly sturdy but it's not designed to be left open.
There's enough been written about the original movie over the years, it's been one of my favourite movies for ages, I still love the stop-motion...
Published on 7 Mar 2011 by I. R. Kerr

versus
46 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gypped by the Gorilla
I can't help shake the feeling we're getting the raw end of the deal this side of the Atlantic when it comes to King Kong. Over in the US the original King Kong has been finally released to DVD with a multitude of brand new extras, documentaries, recreated lost sequences - plus it's original sequel (Son of Kong) and belated follow-up from the same...
Published on 2 Dec 2005 by Leealike


‹ Previous | 129 30 31 32 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 3 Hours Of Running, 13 April 2006
By 
Tom432 (Worcester UK) - See all my reviews
This film is a spectacle for those that love to see people gawp in awe or run away from things. I loved LOTR and hoped the same humanity would be in this film, it came much too late, and could not redeem the film.

Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King of the monsters, still, at 73, 1 July 2006
By 
M. Allen "m214463" (Exeter, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was afraid that all the hype would be just that: could anything equal LOTR? Yes, but you need patience.

It is full of injokes, at one point they are trying to cast the lady love interest, and they mention Fay, as being busy working for RKO at the time!

This is not a re-make in the classic sense of the word, but more a return to the original idea, as put to paper. Part of the charm of the original was that the producers believed that Skull Island might exist out there somewhere. We know it doesn't, but the actors capture that feel.

An interesting side light, watch the crew on the boat. There is a rather pudgy, cigar smoking sailor, who looks and sounds vaguely familiar. If you have seen the fim Deathwatch, he is very recognisable as Andy Sirkis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding, 23 Feb 2006
By 
D. Robinson "darthvader10" (sunderland uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this film is fantastic the special affects are amazing and once again peter jackson has made an awesome movie.the cast were also great especialy jack black who played a great part in the movie.so if you havnt seen it i recommmend you buy this dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 year old daughter loves it., 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We bought this for our 2 year old daughter as she seen part of it on TV, and loved it. Since buying this film she's watched it about 80-100 times... money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible film, 21 April 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I repeat HORRIBLE film.

The first hour was boring and the second hour horrible and ridiculous by turns. I haven't watched the rest, I'm giving the DVD away. 

Peter Jackson has wonderfully slimmed himself down. He must have gone on a strict diet - I wonder if that's why he made such a horrible film. He seems to be revisitng his Braindead period. I'm surprised King Kong only got a 12 rating. 
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too long and too graphic, 12 April 2006
By A Customer
I found King Kong to be way too long as it took over an hour, just for the film to really get started. Also i found the scene with the bugs to be a waste of time and had no point. The worse part was how graphic the scenes were at the end of the film, they dragged on too long and was distasteful.
I would never watch this film again and is a real disappointment after Peter Jackson's previous films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Human, 5 Jun 2006
yes its a remake of the 1953 classic and yes its Peter jackson back in New Zealand,but like its predoccessor its humanity and soul not the effects make it the classic.

So many films today get touted as emotional, romantic or tear -jerking when they actually are pretty vacuos, .King Kong is a noble tale of love loss and sacrifice, and far more so then people give it credit it for. Naomi Watts is fabulous, but once again it is the sublime expressionism of Andy Circus as Kong that steals the show.

Anybody who falls asleep or thinks it's just a film about a big monkey is either clueless or souless

Cinema history should rate this a effects laiden soup up of the original as one of the bencmarks for charting man;s inhumanity to man and its selfish and unquenchable reckless greed

A soulful and poignant depiction of how tuly evil man is.

Exceptional
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Long and dull, 18 April 2006
By 
I. D. Fischer (Gerrards Cross, Bucks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a disappointment - a truly awful film which could have run for half the time it did. Peter Jackson used the same techniques he used when making the Lord of The Rings:- Long, repetive drawn out battles, followed by more of the same and lots of special effects that aren't even that good. if you are considering buying this film, please don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Emasculated!, 12 Feb 2006
This is a review of the content of the movie from the perspective of a 55 year old man who grew up with the old, 1933 version. I fully respect the fans of the new version and harbor no ill will towards any off the very talented people - thousands of them - who made the film possible as an amazing technical achievement.... I take issue with the feminization of the script; the stron male leads and subsidiary characters are emasculated. Were Mssrs Cooper and Schoedsack around today, they wouldn't recognize their movie's men.
There are no 'real men' in it! Poor little Jack Black is totally miscast as the man based on Merian C. Cooper but, thanks to major script changes putting him more into his typecast mold: a deceitful, manipulative, profane, shrewd megalomaniac - a far cry from the manly man portrayed by Robert Armstrong. I heartily recommend reading Mark Cotta Vaz' book, "Living Dangerously" and Orville Goldner and Geo. E. Turner's "The Making of 'King Kong'" to bear out whjat I am saying. Denham and Driscoll are Cooper and Schoedsack! So where does that leave the rest of the men? Where indeed are the manly natives of Skull Island? No nobler chief lives on the silver screen than Noble Johnson's. The part was cut and the remaining Skull Island natives become props from a zombie movie who are led, not by a chief and witch doctor but an old crone.... and the skull crushers? shot by CPT Englehorn, who finally has the sense to bring a weapon to the island. But does he scare the natives? he stops a hasty 'ritual(?) killing by shooting the alpha male to death. Then ALL the natives disappear after Ann Darrow's 'wedding' - never to be 'scene' again (maybe on the DVD)? Too, the sailors and movie crew didn't need more lines than they had originally; the characters don't drive the story; the plot does in a movie like this.... the sailors and natives even die more gently. No startling, pre-Hays Code shots of guys getting gound into goo by monster feet or getting gulped down by Kong - which brings us to the monster - the king of Skull Island, who is more a mere human interpretation of a lowland gorilla than the creation of a man whose life of sorrow, woe, violence and tragedy is so clearly shown in the pathos of the old stop motion Kong; Willis O'Brien's sad story by Don Shaycan be read in a back issue (7) of CINEFEX. O'Bie, as he was affectionately known, was a man who brought much skill to his pioneering stop-motion work - along with much heavy baggage. The result of course is a Hollywood icon unparalleled: truly the 8th Wonder of the World. The guy who channeled Gollum, Andy Serkis, is a craftsman but his KONG is too cutesy and too treacly in the slow spots - too many in a movie too long by a third - to save the character. His Kong is more a captive to ANN than the '33 monster is, and he doesn't get to strip her clothes off! . . . . Interspecies bonding? . . . . There's no rough, tough Jack Driscoll in the new movie; a new top deckhand - with a little 'Huck Finn' buddy - gets killed - probably for recommending the racist, nihilistic "Heart of Darkness" to the poor kid (has Peter Jackson READ the Conrad?).... Any of the surviving sailors at the NYC premiere as 'millionaires'? I saw none; away with them, character development begone!....A new character, the 'leading man' of the movie Denham wants to make is portrayed by the captain in "Mulholland Falls": Kyle Chandler His Bruce Baxter is severely compromised as he plays the buffoon on the Kong stage in NYC. His 'rescue' of the sailors and Driscoll is based on nothing in the character's development up to that point. So again, I ask (rhetorically?): Where are the real manly men in King Kong 2005?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh No!, 17 Feb 2006
By 
To remake a classic like 'King Kong' you have to be one hell of a director. Two have tried since the original 1933 version with Fay Wray in the starring role, and, I might add, have failed.
Peter Jackson's effort relies heavily on sometimes dodgy CGI graphics, and throughout the film he doesn't quite get the size right. One minute Ann fills his hand, the other minute she is slightly bigger. Take into consideration the continuity errors, such as music that in the year wasn't actually released, in this three hour rather boring 'effects' film, and by the time you watch the DVD for the second time you will be watching it a 2X speed just so it lasts half the time, which it should have been in the first place.
You had your day Mr Jackson with the Lord of the rings. Quit while the going is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 129 30 31 32 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

King Kong [Blu-ray][Region Free]
King Kong [Blu-ray][Region Free] by Peter Jackson (Blu-ray - 2009)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews