Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars48
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 March 2011
Have used the Smart Log Holder and I have to say its great - definatley a hugh asset for anyone who has the need
to use a chainsaw frequently to produce logs. It simply saves time and effort, once the tree trunk is in place
you go along with the chainsaw and reduce it to manageable logs without any bother at all.
10 out of 10
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2011
If you are logging wood on your own then it is tedious to move the wood along the saw horse. This brilliant device allows you to cut the whole length of timber into logs without having to move it once saving lots of time and repetitive saw putting-down. Like all the best inventions it is very simple and works a treat, I wish I had invented it myself. The Smart Holder is well constructed and handles timber in a variety of shapes and sizes.
If your partner gets you to hold the logs while he/she saws then buy him/her one of these and you can spend your time in front of the log fire without having to go outside.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2011
To look at it, it seems expensive for what you get - just a steel frame with a simple hinge system and a few metal teeth on it, but on using it, it is immediately worth every penny.
It allows me to cut logs at twice, even three times the pace I used to work at, and more importantly, it drastically reduces my back aches. It's also much safer, as I am no longer having to cut logs that are rolling around on the ground!

Highly recommended.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2011
Every home where firewood is cut by hand or chainsaw should have one. Every narrowboat owner should have one too.

Its easy to use, safer than balancing wood on benches etc.It it will hold any length of wood form 18" long and upwards. Any thickness of log or board from 1" to about 10". It easily collapses into a rectangle some 4'6" x 10" x 2" thick.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2011
This piece of kit [how simple] saves so much aggravation in manhandling logs into position prior to cutting [which is a two man operation using a work mate!] The S H is easy to set up and holds the logs and other shapes of wood firmly whilst they are cut to size. The vice folds flat and is easily sowed away when not in use. Anyone who has a log burning stove and is using freshly sawn timber should have one. Superb!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2011
Highly recommend this product. It grips the wood firmly, is very easy to assemble and use, and is robust. Even small details have been thought of - eg the adjustable top holder slides on to 2 short arms, one of which is slightly longer than the other so as to make it very easy to line up. It arrived earlier this week, and I used it to cut a quarter of our winter firewood today - very efficient.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2012
What a truly great piece of equipment. I pondered getting this luxury but wish I had it years ago . It folds flat when not being used, Opens in seconds and does exactly what it claims - it holds any log/ plank firmly in its teeth letting you use both hands to chainsaw it. No more continually moving a log along the bench/ horse. Also it is a decent heavy piece of metal, good quality.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2011
Smart holder? smart design - wish I'd thought of it. Simple but effective physics. An efficient way to secure logs before wielding a chainsaw without the need for an A&E team on standby.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2011
Excellent piece of kit, well designed, easy to use, easy to fold up for storage and transport.
Allows you to safely cut tree limbs up to about 12" in diameter.
A recommended investment for anyone who regularly uses a chain saw for cutting fire wood.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2012
It's always been a struggle holding logs in order to cut them up. This product solves all of that. It does everything it says on the box. I can't imagine working without one. Absolutely fantastic.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)