Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good if using more than one
Works fine if you have more than one bulb on each circuit and if you have a dimmer switch that's rated for lower wattage (min 40W, max 250W seems to be the common low wattage setting). Otherwise they tend to flicker a lot lower down.

I've found these work very well when replacing a 3x bulb cluster in my lounge's main light fitting.
I've found these work...
Published on 20 Nov 2009 by Mr. C. Bartlett

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Semi Dimmable
Although these are supposed to be dimmable lamps, I am finding them less than satisfactory at doing this.

True I have them in a ceilign fan light combo from B&Q, but what I find is that instead of coming on properly they start flashing, until i press the dimmer button, then they dim up and down, but go to low and they start flashing again.

i'm sure...
Published on 24 Jan 2010 by Mr. G Maio


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good if using more than one, 20 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. C. Bartlett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Megaman GSU111d Dimmerable GLS ES Bulb 11W ES Warm White (Kitchen & Home)
Works fine if you have more than one bulb on each circuit and if you have a dimmer switch that's rated for lower wattage (min 40W, max 250W seems to be the common low wattage setting). Otherwise they tend to flicker a lot lower down.

I've found these work very well when replacing a 3x bulb cluster in my lounge's main light fitting.
I've found these work ok when replacing a 2x bulb fitting in my kitchen, but there's a bit of flicker lower down.
I've tried them in a bedroom on a 1x bulb circuit and you can only really dim from full-light to half-light, you can't get down to night-light level without flicker and a worrying buzz from the dimmer switch.

I've also had a nightmare finding low wattage dimmer switches, particulary when looking for anything other than white plastic finish. Most of the sales people get confused with low voltage so if you're not confident about what you're looking for you're likely to get fobbed off - there's a niche in the market here for the likes of Megaman to sell compatible switches.

So, all in all, my experience has shown me that a DorS dimming bulb and a standard switch is better for single bulb applications. Whereas these Megaman Smooth dimming bulbs work well in 3+ applications, and they work ok in a pair.

PS. Forgot to mention that they take a while to warm up as well - they're very dim when they first come on (much dimmer than modern CFLs, much more like the very early CFLs), but once they've warmed up they're fine. For me the energy saving justifies that minor inconvenience but just be prepared for that compromise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Semi Dimmable, 24 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Megaman GSU111d Dimmerable GLS ES Bulb 11W ES Warm White (Kitchen & Home)
Although these are supposed to be dimmable lamps, I am finding them less than satisfactory at doing this.

True I have them in a ceilign fan light combo from B&Q, but what I find is that instead of coming on properly they start flashing, until i press the dimmer button, then they dim up and down, but go to low and they start flashing again.

i'm sure with a proper wall dimmer they will work fine, but I would suggest tryign 1 before buying for your whole home or business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, 17 Mar 2010
By 
E. Abrahams (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Megaman GSU111d Dimmerable GLS ES Bulb 11W ES Warm White (Kitchen & Home)
Good warm white colour rendered. Flickers when dimmed on cold start, but dims smoothly when lamp warms up. A bit costly, but will hopefully save on lighting cost in long run if lamp lasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Megaman dimmerable bulb, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Megaman GSU111d Dimmerable GLS ES Bulb 11W ES Warm White (Kitchen & Home)
Three bulbs were purchased to work together above a kitchen island, but they will not work as a set. According to the information provided with the bulbs, the total wattage, of the set, should be between 1/5 of the maximum rating of the dimmer switch and 1/6 of its minimum. The dimmer switch is rated 40-210 Watts therefore the bulb set should be between 6.6 Watts and 42 Watts. These three bulbs together are 33 Watts, so should work ok. But they will not light. Any two bulbs work fine, so bulbs and fittings are ok.
Further investigation suggests a different calculation, not in accordance with Megaman recommendations. Each flourescent reduces the capacity of the dimmer by half. That is; 220w to 110w for the first, 110 to 55W for the second, and 55 to 27.5W for the third. Therfore three at 11w won't work. A different dimmer may work, and may cost £25 but will not match the others in the set.
£55 wasted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars After 5 years still not happy...., 4 Nov 2013
By 
S. Riches - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Megaman GSU111d Dimmerable GLS ES Bulb 11W ES Warm White (Kitchen & Home)
I bought a set of 5 over 5 years ago. It took several returns before I got a combination that did not make a buzzing noise. They don't really dim to any extent but as I was stuck with the set so I carried on and to be fair, the first one has just given up the ghost, so longevity is not the issue, HOWEVER, given their terribly inflated cost and inability to dim to any proper extent, you may as well just get a set of very cheap low energy bulbs and be done with it and manage without dimming. Financially they have been a disaster. Steve Riches, Northanmpton, UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Does not actually dim. Read instructions upon purchase., 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Megaman GSU111d Dimmerable GLS ES Bulb 11W ES Warm White (Kitchen & Home)
This bulb cannot be dimmed in the traditional sense. It can be used with a dimmer light switch, but must be SET to a preferred setting. Otherwise it will flicker or the light will continuously go from very bright to very dim. Should not be sold as a dimmable light. Very deceptive. Please read instructions upon purchase if you are unsure (please see other reviews - they mention similar situations although they have been kind enough to award it 3 stars - again I think it's very deceptive).
I have kept mine but have not been able to use it the way I intended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Light Bulb malfunctioned within a week, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Megaman GSU111d Dimmerable GLS ES Bulb 11W ES Warm White (Kitchen & Home)
We have been emailed The Lightbulb Company through your web site but so far had no return contact.
This seems to be one defective bulb out of 5 which are stated to have a 10,000 hr working lifespan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy, 16 Jan 2012
By 
Agustin Gomez Vega (New York, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Megaman GSU111d Dimmerable GLS ES Bulb 11W ES Warm White (Kitchen & Home)
Hard to find these items are in these latitudes. I bought them from Argentina and they do the trick! Can not see the difference between incandescente and these ones. Great buy, great savings. Just one drawback that does not have to do with the product but with the shipping. One of both lamps I ordered got cracked during the delivery, anyway it works the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Megaman GSU111d Dimmerable GLS ES Bulb 11W ES Warm White
Used & New from: £29.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews