Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ZZ Top do a half live, half studio album!
This is the follow to ZZ Top's Tres Hobmres and is a strange affair. The first side is a live recording in New Orleans whilst the second side is a normal studio recording. The live side could have been a little better but the studio side is smoking. Heard It On The X, Blue Jean Blues, Balinese and Tush make this play like a Greatest Hits package as the standard is so...
Published on 12 Mar. 2006 by Mr. Andrew Johnson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Z Z Top
I have several ZZ top albums and decided to add this one to the collection. I found it a bit disappointing.
Published 17 months ago by lloyds tsb


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ZZ Top do a half live, half studio album!, 12 Mar. 2006
By 
Mr. Andrew Johnson "bigjohnny7" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the follow to ZZ Top's Tres Hobmres and is a strange affair. The first side is a live recording in New Orleans whilst the second side is a normal studio recording. The live side could have been a little better but the studio side is smoking. Heard It On The X, Blue Jean Blues, Balinese and Tush make this play like a Greatest Hits package as the standard is so high. Don't worry - the remastered sound doesn't have that lame 80's drum sound that ruined this album from the 6-pack release onwards, it sounds exactly as it should. Ignore the bonus tracks (muddy production) and enjoy this great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of their best, now bigger and better, 19 Dec. 2006
By 
freewheeling frankie (north London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fandango! is notable among ZZ Top's albums for being their first (and by far the best) release including live material - the original LP had one live side and one studio side. The live side is fab, especially the two short songs that open it, Thunderbird and a scorching Jailhouse Rock, while Backdoor Medley is good but its length probably seemed more justified at the actual concert.

The studio material is typical of 70s ZZ Top and with the sole exception of the rather lame Mexican Blackbird it's all very good (delicate slow blues Bluejean Blues, funky rockers Balinese and Nasty Dogs & Funky Kings) to great (awesome boogie on Tush, more funky rock on Heard It On The X).

The remastering has greatly improved the sound (and removed the annoying reverb added to earlier CD issues) and it would be worth buying to replace the old CD just for that (let alone if you don't have Fandango! already) but they've also added 3 live tracks like they did with Tres Hombres. These sound like they're from the same concert as the Tres Hombres bonus tracks, and the only downers here are that a) there's no information about where and when these bonus tracks were recorded and b) from what I can gather elsewhere they actually date from 4 or 5 years after the rest of Fandango! when ideally they'd have used some more tracks from the New Orleans concert featured on the first half of the album - they must have the tapes somewhere. But given the general dearth of live material from such a great live band, beggars can't be choosers and all three are very good, even if the sound is a bit muddy (read: it's a proper live recording, not some manicured, touched up in the studio "live" album.) And they're all sufficiently different from the versions originally featured on the album to make them worth hearing, even if ideally they should be on another CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just add beer and women, 10 July 2009
By 
Mr. C. Todd "partsocaster80" (Ballyclare, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Brilliant album whether you just need to get up, are partying or driving. Not a bad moment on Fandango! and with three bonus tracks nowadays to boot!! Really glad I bought this to replace a copy stolen some years ago. Whether your taste is split between Rock or Blues, you should have this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANDANGOOO!!!, 2 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just brilliant! I love Eliminator but I've never quite heard it the same since buying this white hot number. The live tracks are all brilliant, at 9.50 mins Backdoor Medley had me hooked all the way. Thunderbird is the perfect opening track but what puts the brilliant live tracks in the shade, is the way the studio tracks still carry that live feel

I've read alot about the poorly remastered older production but not only does this sound real, it sounds so raw and un-polished they could be in the room with you! And it is that unpolished down an dirty feel to the album that really steals my heart. It'll bring you to tears with Blue Jeans and make you feel as though you can run through walls with Heard it on the X!

And I've still not mentioned the best track. The Rompin' Stompin' Tush!
Add to this 3 superb (but without perfect sound quality) live performances and you'll be hard pressed to find ANY better Rock album...although I haven't heard Tres Hombres yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the three great ZZTop albums, sounding fine!, 25 Aug. 2014
The latest round of zztop vinyl remasters are excellent. They have never sounded so good. The sound is punchy and the instrumentation sounds clear and well separated. The outer sleeve is nice thick card and the inner has a nice poly lining to keep the vinyl protected from paper-scuffs.
The album itself is a classic. I have owned it a few times, both on vinyl and CD. It is, in my opinion one of the three great ZZ Top albums, along with Deguello and Tres Hombres.
I have never really bothered too much with the live side. Thunderbird is not bad but that's about it. The album really shines on the studio side. From Nasty Dogs And Funky Kings through to Tush, this is the band at the peak of their powers, the finest blues-rock trio there ever was for a brief moment in history. Vinyl fiends could do worse than to arm yourselves with this and the other two albums mentioned here. They do not disappoint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fandango (Expanded & Remastered), 10 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent album and a must for anyone who likes Texas Rock Blues.

The CD arrived on time and was well packed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its ZZ Top!!, 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Does exactly what it says on the tin....you know what your going to get from the boys and they deliver in spades
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Z Z Top, 6 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have several ZZ top albums and decided to add this one to the collection. I found it a bit disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good delivery nice product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Studio tracks are worth it., 15 Mar. 2010
I already own Fandango on CD and haven't listened to it alot. I only give this 4 stars because, although the idea of releasing a half live half studio album may have been interesting the live tracks have to be good. For me the sound quality isn't good enough. There are some parts that sound ok but..

The studio tracks are great though and I'm glad I bought this remastered release. Like Tres Hombres the sound is so much better and I am now appreciating the little gems that have been hiding in my CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews