Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful check on fridge temperatures
I had been using a thermometer that you hang from a shelf but this meant opening the fridge to check the temperature and often it was obscured by food or dropped off into something. I finally noticed that it was always reading the same temp and one that was obviously wrong and so time for a new one. The appeal here is that you can see the temps from outside. Now heaven...
Published 19 months ago by Andy B

versus
24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Works fine but not for a busy family home
The bottom line is that this is a relatively cheap and simple device that does what it says but in a rather inconvenient way, especially if you need it for an integrated fridge or freezer. This device is ok for stand alone fridge/freezers that are used occasionally, but not for family units used by children. Having had this experience the only way to go for me is with a...
Published on 6 May 2010 by Dean Marshall


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Works fine but not for a busy family home, 6 May 2010
By 
Dean Marshall "DJM" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fridge and Freezer alarm thermometer with dual sensors - displays temperature of 2 appliances (Kitchen & Home)
The bottom line is that this is a relatively cheap and simple device that does what it says but in a rather inconvenient way, especially if you need it for an integrated fridge or freezer. This device is ok for stand alone fridge/freezers that are used occasionally, but not for family units used by children. Having had this experience the only way to go for me is with a more expensive wireless solution. Reserved recommendation.

Pros
Cheap..ish
Easy to read and it works fine.
Can set maximum and minimum temperatures for the alarm function

Cons
The button sequences to change settings or reset reading are not obvious.
The suction cups are useless and do not attach the sensors to the fridge or freezer panels. You have to leave the sensor lying in the in the fridge or freezer and this makes them easy to get in the way.
As the sensors are connected by wires it is not a convenient device to use on integrated fridge/freezers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful check on fridge temperatures, 22 Mar 2013
By 
Andy B (Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fridge and Freezer alarm thermometer with dual sensors - displays temperature of 2 appliances (Kitchen & Home)
I had been using a thermometer that you hang from a shelf but this meant opening the fridge to check the temperature and often it was obscured by food or dropped off into something. I finally noticed that it was always reading the same temp and one that was obviously wrong and so time for a new one. The appeal here is that you can see the temps from outside. Now heaven only knows why some of the reviews say the product is fiddly to setup. True, you are unlikely to get the freezer sucker to attach to the wall unless you have just defrosted the freezer and the wall is clean and dry. But really beyond that then the only challenge is siting the thermometer such that the sensor cables don't get in the way of opening the door. I found the best solution was to locate the display part (which is magnetic) on the side of the fridge nearest the hinge edge and then routing the cables on the hinge side. That way the door opening can not snag the cables. The cables have no impact on the effectiveness of the door seal.

Note that the two sensors are marked for their purpose (i.e. fridge vs freezer) and so best to place them correctly but at the end of the day it does not really matter as you will see two temps and it is pretty obvious which is the freezer one and which is the fridge. In fact the display expects the left hand one to show the fridge temp and the right hand one the freezer.

Now the only challenge is not to get too concerned by fluctuations in the temperature as it is now instantly obvious at all times what temps your frdige and freezer are operating to. But it will be really useful in the summer when the fridge gets very full to know that I am keeping the temp below 6C.Really don't know why something like this is not built into all but the very cheap and cheerful fridges. It clearly does not cost much to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small price for reassurance that fridge / freezer working, 11 Oct 2009
By 
C. ROBERTS - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fridge and Freezer alarm thermometer with dual sensors - displays temperature of 2 appliances (Kitchen & Home)
Bought this for my parents for their new fridge freezer. Their previous fridge/freezer failed at 3 years old - and they were keen to have some reassurance that the new one wasn't going wrong.

This now stuck on the fridge door with wires stretching into the insides of the fridge and freezer to probes on suction pads. You need some tape to keep wires in suitable places.

Slightly fiddly to set up - reflecting the fact that it's quite a complex device - but accompanying instructions reasonable.

However once configured, it just does its job. Has been in use for 6 months now without problem or need to change batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value but cables are short, 18 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fridge and Freezer alarm thermometer with dual sensors - displays temperature of 2 appliances (Kitchen & Home)
Great value. Two independent temperature monitors.
Easy to install. Magnetic so don't need to use tape or velcro.
Only downside is that cables are short (1m, not 3m as advertised).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good product, 12 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fridge and Freezer alarm thermometer with dual sensors - displays temperature of 2 appliances (Kitchen & Home)
I have bought this thermometer for my new fridge.
I had thermometer connected as soon as I switch on the new fridge, and it made it really easy to identify when new fridge/freezer reached normal working temperatures.
Couple of tricky moments:
- to make sensor suction clip to remain on the fridge/freezer wall
- wiring fixing is bit fiddly and i have ended up with white duck tape fixing method...not exactly ideal...but the product price says it all.
Couple of good moments:
- magnet for termometer display is ideal
- continuously refreshing temperature data
I was worried that wires passing between door and the fridge body would leave gaps resulting in fridge working more frequently due to heat gain from the room ambient air, i was relieved when i discovered that sensor wiring was of a small size.
The thermometer also allowed me to regulate my new fridge to desired temperature.
Before i had this product i didn't realise that it is so important to know your food storage temperatures, couple of times my old freezer frozen food smelled somewhat dodgy...and i'm sure that is because old appliance could not keep the temperature low enough...and i have been still storing the spoiled products...thinking the food is of acceptable condition.
Recommend this product for standalone fridge/freezer appliances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice device, 14 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fridge and Freezer alarm thermometer with dual sensors - displays temperature of 2 appliances (Kitchen & Home)
Good low cost device. Delivery was quick. Only 4 stars because: suckers don't work well in the freezer, but you can hang the sensor somewhere, so not a major issue. Setting it is a test of button pushing skills and the "manual" doesn't really help. But if you press enough buttons enough times, you'll get there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best thermometer out there for the price, 12 April 2010
This review is from: Fridge and Freezer alarm thermometer with dual sensors - displays temperature of 2 appliances (Kitchen & Home)
This product is brilliant and perfect for our needs.

We're going travelling this year with medication that needs to be kept cool at all times. Now we can track temperature with 2 sensors without opening the cooler we have which is great.

Product is fully customisable:
- You can see what the min & max temp that the sensors have recorded is (each sensor shown & resets independently)
- You can set min & max temp for each sensor and if temp falls outside the range it will record when it happened and what that temp was.
- You can set alarms (flashing light and/or loud audible alarm) to go off when temp falls outside desired range
- All temps adjustable by 1 degree increments
- Main unit has a stand & magnets to attach to fridge etc
- Sensors come with sucker pads for easy adhesion to surfaces
- You can switch between Fahrenheit & Celcius

Basically they have thought of everything!! If you need something calibrated to better accuracy than +/- 1 degree then this probably isn't for you but if not then this product is perfect.

And the price for all this is exceptional based on the research I did pre-purchase.

I love it cos it means I get to go travelling for 8mths worry free! Whoop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well built and effective product, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fridge and Freezer alarm thermometer with dual sensors - displays temperature of 2 appliances (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this because I found I would have to pay much more for a new fridge which had the temperature display that I had found useful on the one I was replacing.

This is a well built and effective product, it is certified as calibrated and I think intended for use in professional kitchens though it works just as well at home.

I like things to look neat and so fitted the display (using the built in magnetic fastenings) level with the top of the freezer door and the bottom of the fridge door, close to the hinge on the side of the fridge. The cables just make the short loop round and into the compartments with most of the cables still coiled and "stored" inside near the sensors. The cable is thin and does not interfere significantly with the magnetic door seal.

I agree with the comments about the rubber suckers being ineffective but solved this by placing the fridge sensor to the side and on the floor of a shelf and moistening the sucker that went in the freezer so that it froze to the inside wall!

I have found it very easy to use, there is one button which cycles the display through current temperatures, max/min fridge, max/min freezer and a second that zeros the max/min for either compartment. There is also an over temp. alarm function but I have not bothered to set that.

I am very happy with this unit and it is reassuring to know that that my new fridge/freezer is working as it should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fridge and Freezer alarm thermometer with dual sensors - displays temperature of 2 appliances (Kitchen & Home)
Its very good worth 5 stars
Very easy to set up nd easy stick on the fridge, freezer
I will be recomme to friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good value, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fridge and Freezer alarm thermometer with dual sensors - displays temperature of 2 appliances (Kitchen & Home)
I have been having problems with my fridge freezer for several years (from new in fact). Every few months the fridge would get warm and by the time we noticed, food was spoiled. It was also hit and miss when adjusting the controls. This dual thermometer was very easy to fit as it is all pre-wired and allowed me to setup the controls easily. We do not use the alarm as it would be going off every time the door was opened.
The original problem with the freezer was fixed after some internet research. Stripped about 30 cms of copper wire from some old mains cable. Wrapped one end round the de-frost heater and poked the other end down the drain hole. This prevents the drain from becoming blocked with ice. This tip saved me several hundred pounds for a new fridge/freezer. The thermometer continues to give re-assurance that all is now well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews