Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Selection of SEAL's work
Great album. I have enjoyed SEAL's music since the early 90's but anybody looking for an introduction to his work has found the perfect compilation. As a fan of SEAL I was disappointed that this collection did not include 'Newborn Friend' from his SEAL II album but all the other main ones are here really....
Interestingly I play the bonus acoustic collection cd more...
Published on 21 Feb. 2005 by Joanne Nickerson

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Diverse
An interesting greatest hits work. The album spans from the early tracks such as 'Killer' to his less commercial recent work. The album opens with the hit 'Crazy', a downbeat dance track with its familiar beat and Seals empowering vocals. It is not until you hear the distinct sound of his frosty voice that you remember just how good a singer he is. He flows gracefully...
Published on 25 Jan. 2005 by brad_stone


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Seal, 12 April 2010
By 
L. Devlin "PLD" (County Durham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Thank you for sending this promptly, the plastic case had cracked in the mail, though not your fault as it was properly wrapped - bummer to Royal Mail though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just perfect, 15 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wondrous acoustic experience, Seal is just perfect for relaxing after a hard day working. A totally perfect album for those loose yourself moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best....., 28 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has to be in my all time top 10 albums. Absolutely fantastic, poignant lyrics and memorable tunes. awesome and amazing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I would give it 5 if it had all the singles...., 4 Feb. 2005
By 
Mr. John Mulrine "comatised2" (darlington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
OK SEAL is fantatic no denying that at all. I decided to give this offering 4 stars for two reasons that constantly dog a greatest hits/best of collection. A) it is missing vital songs B) it isn't really aimed at the fans who have supported him for near 15 years.
So what is missing in terms of singles - well from the first album the upbeat "The Beginning" that would certainly offer an uplift like "Crazy" also "Violet" is not included basically because it is too long I guess.
From the second album somehow "Newborn Friend" has been dropped it is by far the most listner friendly song of SEAL II.
From his third well I would include "Lost My Faith" an astounding piece and included in the film Entrapment and released in Europe as a single.
Thankfully all the singles from SEAL IV have made it.
I don't think these songs are the most representative anyway. Others that are his "best"
Deep Water; Fast Changes; Heavenly...(Good Feeling); Whirlpool
But all in all I can't fault Seal he is just a good singer who has been slow burning to a fine performer these last 10-15 years and although there are only 4 albums to pick from I'd rather those 4 than 8 rubbishy ones.
Just buy all his albums but if you don't believe me start with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seal, 28 Oct. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant! I like all the songs especially Killer,and Crazy but thier all very good! But Don't cry is the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 23 Jan. 2013
By 
R. Gillett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seal is absolutely amazing but the acoustic disc is very special in it's own right. You've got to hear it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Top UK Soul Artists, 16 Sept. 2006
As i said while reviewing Massive Attacks greatest hits i very rarely buy them because most of the time they leave too many good songs off and either include rubbish ones or remixes when you just want to hear the originals!.Since 1991 Seal has been wowing audiences around the world with his silky smooth soulful voice although this was released two years ago i've only just purchasing it after being given his muchly underrated album "Human Being".

1.Crazy - A fantastic song which broke him into the mainstream being a hit all around the world (peaking at #2 in the UK).One of his most beloved songs and one of my personal favourites he sounds excellent and even though it was released in 1991 it still sounds fresh 10/10

2.Kiss From A Rose - When this was released it was played to death! it was the theme to the Batman Forever movie it can actually listen to it now it's been a few years!.This song also scored him his first #1 in the US and won a grammy,I love the words to this song so sweet! 10/10

3.Killer - I'm glad this isnt the Adamski one (which was a #1 here in the UK)It's not a bad version but i prefer this one much more it's less electronic therefor making it sound less dated.Has a great edge to it.I think the chorus is so good lol he sounds absolutly fantastic if you've never liked this song then your so strange lol one of the best singles ever! 10/10

4.Prayer For The Dying - This is my favourite Seal song it has such a great message if i'm not mistaken he wrote this after being in a motorbike accident so it was released at the right time for him even though this wasn't as big as his other songs i feel this is his strongest 10/10

5.Waiting For You - This song steps up the tempo and was released from his 4th album "Seal IV" Has a great jazz feel to it like a throwback from the 70's he still sounds as good as he did back in the day lol,Too bad this song didn't do very well 'coz its really great and funky 10/10

6.Don't Cry - Is one of his more depressing songs it's still very good though it starts off with a great acapella if you didn't know how good he sounds! But it gained him alot of attention after he won grammys as this song was nominated for a VMA award and reached #8 in the US 8/10

7.My Vision (Featuring Jakatta) - This put Seal back into the mainstream which peaked at #6 in the UK it's a great dance song and Seal later re-recorded it for his Seal IV album very good feel good song although it does seem a bit out of place but great song 9/10

8.Love's Divine - This is one of the highlights of his acclaimed Seal IV album such a sweet song could be dedicated to his wife Heidi Klum? this is a favourite of mine from this album 10/10

9.Walk On By - His version of the muchly covered classic by Dionne Warwick.It's produced by mega producers Soulshock&Karlin (702,Christina Milian,Mary J Blige,Monica)It's a very good cover which earned him a grammy nomination i'm actually not a big fan of this song in general but his along with Gabrielle's version make it enjoyable for me 10/10

10.Get It Together - This was a massive hit on the dance/club scene it's a funky song,It sounds like hes singing in bar and i like that makes it sound live,I love the band really good song reminded me kinda of Earth,Wind & Fire 10/10

11.Fly Like An Eagle - Is a remake which it's gotta be said makes the original sound like a cheesy cover.I love sing song one of his best songs it was one of the theme's for the movie Space Jam. 10/10

12.Lips Like Sugar - Such an odd cover but it's really cute it was from the movie 50 First Dates giving the Echo and the bunnymen classic a slight reggae vibe.Not really a massive fan of it but its listenable 8/10

13.Human Beings - Very dark song that was lifted from his highly underrated masterpiece "Human Being",He said that the inspiration of this song was the passing of Notorious B.I.G and Tupac.I love this song it is one of my favourite the production is so good 10/10

14.Future Love Paradise - I felt it could have been left off it's not really a favourite of mine and i rarely listen to it, That doesn't make it a bad song i just get so into 'Human Beings' i just play it alot 7/10

The second CD is acoustic versions of the previous songs (with inclusions of Just Like You Said,Touch,Colour & Bring It On)which i felt was really good "Prayer For The Dying"

is one of the best as is Killer,Colour,Crazy and Love's Devine.

Top 5

1.Prayer For The Dying

2.Crazy

3.Human Beings

4.Fly Like An Eagle

5.Walk On By

Seal is one of our best soul musicians sometimes greatly over looked but he can blow you away with his voice. Get This Now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this album, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this album. Never tire of it Lost the first one I had so eventually got round to replacing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GLAD TO HAVE IT BACK ON THE SHELF, 7 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
LOST OLD C.D. GLAD TO HAVE IT BACK ON THE SHELF
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All the great Seal tracks are here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews