Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning Messiah
I have collected several versions of Haendel's Messiah over the years, and this one is by far the best. Brilliant choral and solo singing, fast-paced but never rushed, superb solos, a really exciting version of this great classic.
Published on 13 Jan 2011 by Alan Bennett

versus
14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so
Bought this disc on the back of a rave review from one of the Sunday papers (Times, I think) but have been rather disappointed. the soloists are fine but the choral and orchestral parts sound thin and anaemic to me. I'm going to look for a more 'traditional' version like the Colin Davis perhaps. I'm untutored in music but this version seems to lack conviction, which is...
Published on 20 Sep 2008 by E. Snelling


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning Messiah, 13 Jan 2011
By 
Alan Bennett (Dordogne, FRANCE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Handel: Messiah (Audio CD)
I have collected several versions of Haendel's Messiah over the years, and this one is by far the best. Brilliant choral and solo singing, fast-paced but never rushed, superb solos, a really exciting version of this great classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Messiah Recording, 12 Jan 2012
This review is from: Handel: Messiah (Audio CD)
This is a fine recording by Harry Christophers and the Sixteen Choir and Orchestra,
with an excellent line-up of soloists. With relatively small forces the balance of the choir sections, the clarity of pronunciation and feeling for the words are very noticable. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great - Perfect for Christmas, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handel: Messiah (MP3 Download)
A really good recording with excellent musicianship. Would recommend it to others and will probably choose recordings by this group as a preference
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly beautiful, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handel: Messiah (MP3 Download)
Harry Christophers is just fantastic. This recording is stunningly beautiful, as you would expect from The Sixteen. I love Handel's Messiah and wanted something special - and this is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !, 21 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handel: Messiah (MP3 Download)
This recording is chrystal clear and the perfect diction of the singers makes it possible to enjoy the text of this great mucic. Very different from the huge choirs we are used to hearing, but note perfect - Brilliant !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A delight ..., 21 Aug 2014
By 
Starwalker (Old Warden, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handel: Messiah (MP3 Download)
I love 'The Messiah', and this is one of my favourite renditions of it. 'The Sixteen' as a choir have a purity of sound and clarity of diction, without being clipped or cold. Exquisite musicianship, fine feeling, sensitive interpretation of the meaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so, 20 Sep 2008
By 
E. Snelling (Portrush, Antrim United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handel: Messiah (Audio CD)
Bought this disc on the back of a rave review from one of the Sunday papers (Times, I think) but have been rather disappointed. the soloists are fine but the choral and orchestral parts sound thin and anaemic to me. I'm going to look for a more 'traditional' version like the Colin Davis perhaps. I'm untutored in music but this version seems to lack conviction, which is what I think Messiah needs. Maybe a more knowledgeable person would like this but it doesn't stir me (or it appears, the performers)the way I think The Messiah should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handel Messiah - The Sixteen, 13 April 2011
This review is from: Handel: Messiah (Audio CD)
A superb recording showing the true vituosity of the choir. It is interesting to note that there are no female altos. All these parts are taken by men. This adds a new dimension to Handels Messiah. One which recommends it to anybody in hearing a near authentic version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Handel: Messiah
Handel: Messiah by The Sixteen
Buy MP3 Album6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews