Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just beautiful
I have several recordings of Messiah, but this one is really special. Obviously the singing is just as one would expect from The Sixteen and Harry Christophers - fantastic quality - but the music sounds so fresh and exciting as well. Another hit for me.
Published on 5 Feb. 2011 by Mrs. P. A. DAVIS-JAMES

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
This version of Messiah is really good. But the tagging of the tracks is horrible specially the 3.rd disc. If you don't know your Handel you can think you got the wrong CD in the box.
Published on 13 Jan. 2013 by anders gylling


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just beautiful, 5 Feb. 2011
By 
I have several recordings of Messiah, but this one is really special. Obviously the singing is just as one would expect from The Sixteen and Harry Christophers - fantastic quality - but the music sounds so fresh and exciting as well. Another hit for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sixteen pull it off!, 9 July 2010
By 
Mr. T. Marshall (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a wonderful recording with a smaller than usual group. This enhances the clarity of the work and gives a very different listening experience to some of the pieces that we are used to hearing from a larger ensemble. The soloists are clear and accurate. Overall, this is the best version of the Messiah that I have ever heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utter brilliance, 28 April 2009
By 
FMSawyer (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Perfection! Unbelievable playing, immaculate choral singing and superb soloists. You need no other version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great - Perfect for Christmas, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handel: Messiah (MP3 Download)
A really good recording with excellent musicianship. Would recommend it to others and will probably choose recordings by this group as a preference
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly beautiful, 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handel: Messiah (MP3 Download)
Harry Christophers is just fantastic. This recording is stunningly beautiful, as you would expect from The Sixteen. I love Handel's Messiah and wanted something special - and this is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !, 21 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handel: Messiah (MP3 Download)
This recording is chrystal clear and the perfect diction of the singers makes it possible to enjoy the text of this great mucic. Very different from the huge choirs we are used to hearing, but note perfect - Brilliant !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A delight ..., 21 Aug. 2014
By 
Starwalker (Old Warden, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handel: Messiah (MP3 Download)
I love 'The Messiah', and this is one of my favourite renditions of it. 'The Sixteen' as a choir have a purity of sound and clarity of diction, without being clipped or cold. Exquisite musicianship, fine feeling, sensitive interpretation of the meaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best..., 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best recording I've heard. Harry Christophers and the Sixteen make
sublime authentic music....second to none
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely perfect, 5 July 2014
Absolutely perfect in every way, especially as our choir is starting rehearsals for the Messiah in September.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sublime recording
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Handel: Messiah
Handel: Messiah by The Sixteen
Buy MP3 Album£10.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews