Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's that, then...
Good grief, they'll be missed.

What will we do on Tuesdays without Oz and James bickering their way around the UK in a pretty old Rolls Royce Corniche with a rusty old caravan in tow? Series 3 puts much more focus on their relationship - series 1 and 2 put more focus on them as their chemistry became apparent, but Drink to Britian is almost more about them than...
Published on 24 Feb. 2009 by Anna

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good brew
Very watchable and the duo deliver on wit and content. The outome of the country's best drink in the last episode is a real cop out though. Was it added so as not to upset any of the brewers...?
Published 3 months ago by Ms. Deborah M. King


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's that, then..., 24 Feb. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oz and James's Drink to Britain [DVD] (DVD)
Good grief, they'll be missed.

What will we do on Tuesdays without Oz and James bickering their way around the UK in a pretty old Rolls Royce Corniche with a rusty old caravan in tow? Series 3 puts much more focus on their relationship - series 1 and 2 put more focus on them as their chemistry became apparent, but Drink to Britian is almost more about them than the plonk, and it. is. awesome.

There are 8 episodes: they travel to all corners of the UK... except negligible attention is paid to Wales, so Welsh viewers may feel a little jipped. They imbibe lashings of beer, buckets of ale, barrels of whiskey, orchards of cider and tanks of English wine (did you even know we have vineyards?)... then they wobble back to the caravan where they talk drunken gubbins into the night.

Oz continues to become increasingly James-like, and James carries on grumbling about wine with bubbles in it and laughing til he coughs up a lung; they meander and weave their way from pub to brewery to whiskey dungeon, all the while cementing their extraordinarily precious friendship.

In the final episode, ensconced in rain slickers and blankets, they sit under the awning outside their caravan on a Dover cliff, surrounded - truly, surrounded - by upwards of a hundred bottles trying to finally decide which drink speaks for Britain. And they choose... well, you'll just need to buy the DVD to find out.

Between all of that and the staggeringly beautiful shots of driving along endless, winding, tree-canopied English country lanes, this is just unmissable tv.

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful sunshine-dappled heaven and they will be missed dreadfully until they return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Oz and James Winner, 13 Jun. 2009
By 
M. D. Larsen "Forestcat" (Maine, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oz and James's Drink to Britain [DVD] (DVD)
Oz and James set off for another drinking holiday. This one is a bit different from their previous adventures (if you're familiar w/the wine holidays). This time they are in search of the drink that speaks for modern Britain.

Although an American, I can easily say this has to be the most entertaining and informative documentary I've seen for quite some time. James is articulate and poetic. Oz is informative if not a bit annoying. But that only leads to more fun between James and Oz.

They visit many places all over England as well as going to Scotland, Ireland and a brief stint in Wales. The whiskey cask caretaker in Scotland is phenomenal. Their visit with him makes that whole episode a special treat.

Oz and James even try their hand at making their own beers which are judged by a panel of experts. I won't say who wins, but the judges were a bit disappointing. They mumbled a bit about each of the beers, but it wasn't clear which one they were trying and what their actual thoughts were.

James does manage to get a hint of Top Gear into the program as well with a radical racer running on whiskey!

All in all, Oz and James were delightful, witty and totally right about their choice of the drink that speaks for modern Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Men Behaving Badly, 25 Feb. 2009
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Oz and James's Drink to Britain [DVD] (DVD)
They've tried the wines of France, they've tried the wines of California. Now their mission is to drink Britain dry. Oz and James, one of the least likely double acts are on tour again. Travelling through Britain and Ireland, where they drink Guinness the intrepid duo are looking for the drink that speaks for Britain. I think we all know what the national drink is, but it is still fun to see these two lovable twits on their quest. Travelling in a Rolls-Royce with a caravan hitched you know that plenty will go wrong. If you have ever seen the episode of One Foot in the Grave, where Victor buys a caravan you will have some idea how this one looks. Problems do indeed occur with this caravan from Hell.

Our old men try wines form this country along with ales and bitter, spurning that girls' drink lager. In scotland they try whiskies and in Ireland they drink Guinness, but because the BBC does not show adverts they decide that they cannot call it by its brand name. On the menu is also perry, vodka and cider; they also try to each brew their own beer.

With a train-ride cum pub crawl, of course these two once again get rather more than merry on numerous occasions. If you want a good laugh, and are interested where drinks are made, how they are made etc. you will enjoy this. Included on this dvd I believe will be some extra scenes that weren't initally shown on the tv series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 18 May 2009
By 
C. B. Curtis (Indiana, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oz and James's Drink to Britain [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this dvd. Oz Clark and James May are well teamed and provide hours of information in an entertaining and enjoyable way. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oz and James Drink to Britain, 12 May 2009
By 
J. Kennedy "Jaffa" (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oz and James's Drink to Britain [DVD] (DVD)
In a world full of doom and gloom, what a welcome departure this TV series is. Interesting and entertaining, would highly recommend to anyone. And who would have thought, sparkling white wine grown in England - we will be over for a tasting session.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff from TV's Odd Couple, 9 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Oz and James's Drink to Britain [DVD] (DVD)
I have just started watching the new series of Oz and James on BBC and can't wait for the DVD. This series just gets better and better especially as it moves away from focussing mainly on wine Oz and James's Big Wine Adventure: Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 Box Set [2006]and concentrates more on the, often hilarious, relationship between Oz Clarke and James May. They seem as suited as the Rolls Royce and caravan that they are travelling around in however somehow they have real chemistry. It is just great to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Almost a classic!!!, 23 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oz and James's Drink to Britain [DVD] (DVD)
As a fan of Oz and James series trough the years I was delighted to buy the last, so far, series of episodes.
The series is based on the British Isles and, obviusly, speak of the definitive drink that could define Britain.
Trough UK, Scotland, Ireland and Wales Oz and James will discover beers, whiskies, perries, ciders and wines but they ultimately come to a shocking conclusion about Britons tastes.
Oz and James chemistry is obviously great and we have moments of great fun troughout the episodes.
If you're a fan of Oz and James this a must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining viewing, 8 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oz and James's Drink to Britain [DVD] (DVD)
Great, gentle viewing. Oz and James are a great together and their humour rubs off onto one another. Ideal viewing at the end of the day with a glass of something!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh? I nearly spilled my beer!, 12 Mar. 2010
By 
M. Oxby "victheviking" (Messingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oz and James's Drink to Britain [DVD] (DVD)
I never really got into Oz & James' Big Wine Adventure, but I thought I'd give Drink to Britain a try when it was on TV. I immediately became hooked, not least because I don't think I've ever laughed so much at a "factual" programme. I had to have the DVD so I could watch it all over again. My husband watched it with me the second time around and we were in stitches together. Typically "British" in the best possible way. I'll be watching it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic humor!, 20 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Oz and James's Drink to Britain [DVD] (DVD)
James and Oz's beer quest in England as as jolly good as the episodes in America and France. Although wine is closer to my heart than beer, it's an absolute priviledge to watch these two on their journey throughout the UK.

Highly recommendable for everyone that loves a good laugh and also want's to pick up on the beer facts that occationally appears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oz and James's Drink to Britain [DVD]
Oz and James's Drink to Britain [DVD] by Oz Clarke (DVD - 2009)
Used & New from: £12.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews