Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, slightly flawed by low volume level
Series 3 is a worthy follow-up to the two previous ones. The plots are complex, acting as well as character development believable, and the "new" car an added bonus (in fact, I would very much have liked to see the good old Bristol featured more extensively).
A slight let-down is the rather low volume level that needs adjusting. The picture resolution seems to be...
Published on 21 Aug 2009 by Volker Knopp

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Low sound level
Disc 1 (of 2) was loose in the box and looked used as it had multiple sliding scratches on it. This did not affect the playing however, and the box was sealed upon arrival. The sound level was extremely low, requiring me to turn up the level on my Yamaha receiver to the previously set maximum level.

The two episodes were up to the usual Lynley standard.
Published 18 months ago by John M. Ness


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, slightly flawed by low volume level, 21 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Lynley Mysteries - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Series 3 is a worthy follow-up to the two previous ones. The plots are complex, acting as well as character development believable, and the "new" car an added bonus (in fact, I would very much have liked to see the good old Bristol featured more extensively).
A slight let-down is the rather low volume level that needs adjusting. The picture resolution seems to be slightly coarser than before, too. But, all in all, żet another highly enjoyable series.
I have been commenting on the Dutch version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspector Lynley Mysteries, Series 3, 24 Nov 2010
By 
Dr. H. A. Jones "Howard Jones" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Lynley Mysteries - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
These four episodes, and indeed those of the whole series, are based on the novels of Elizabeth George. The characters are convincingly played by Nathaniel Parker (as Lynley, also 8th Earl of Asherton) and Sharon Small as his sergeant. The contrast between their backgrounds is always featured but not overplayed. There is rather too much emphasis for my taste on the angst of Lynley's now-pregnant wife. Helen. For a psychiatrist she seems almost constantly depressed. But the stories are good; there's no sex, swearing or bloodstained violence. A thoroughly entertaining series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Low sound level, 14 Jun 2013
By 
John M. Ness "The Elegant Mess" (Sydney NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Lynley Mysteries - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Disc 1 (of 2) was loose in the box and looked used as it had multiple sliding scratches on it. This did not affect the playing however, and the box was sealed upon arrival. The sound level was extremely low, requiring me to turn up the level on my Yamaha receiver to the previously set maximum level.

The two episodes were up to the usual Lynley standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great stories, 10 July 2013
By 
ray norman (alfriston east sussex uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Lynley Mysteries - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
as usual great story lines and wonderful acting.for the person who likes there mystries not easlly fathomed out straight away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 April 2011
This review is from: Inspector Lynley Mysteries - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
As always the TV versions of Elizabeth George provide an absorbing and interesting way to relax on an evening. Most TV and films I find to be extremely boring and predictable so am very appreciative of writers such as Elizabeth George. I equally enjoy the books for the same reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Inspector Lynley Mysteries Series 3, 7 Mar 2010
By 
R. Balmer "Batman" (Queensland, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Lynley Mysteries - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Inspector Lynley Mysteries - Series 3 [DVD] [2004]
The TV Series "Inspector Lynley Mysteries" are thoroughly enjoyable to me as I love murder mysteries and I appreciate British productions far more than American rubbish. The plots are a bit different to Elizabeth George's novels but are true to her style of writing. I'm talking about the rather dark, depressing private lives of the main characters, who seem to suffer more than the average person. Her stories (and the series) would be much more enjoyable to me without all this depression in the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but only 2 stories, 29 April 2014
By 
John Atkin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Lynley Mysteries - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Don't know why this series stopped after two episodes but both stories are up to standard & it is a pity more weren't produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this Series!, 24 May 2013
By 
P. James (Malton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Lynley Mysteries - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I was sorry when this series was cancelled by the BBC as the unusual partnership between Lynley and Havers made interesting and unique viewing and was well acted. I'm pleased the series is available on DVD and was happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars INSPECTOR LYNLEY MYSTERIES SERIES 3 DVD, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Lynley Mysteries - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
As usual avery good series of stories starring Nathaniel Parker, good acting by star and co star with plenty of action and mystery incorporated in them,I have always enjoyed this series and cannot understand why the B BC DID NOT CONTINUE WITH THE SERIES. I always would say buy them and like me you can enjoy them all through the series. D Bowen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great British crime series, 8 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Inspector Lynley Mysteries - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of my favourite British Crime Series. Nathaniel Parker is excellent as Lynley and Sharon Small perfect as his partner, Barbara Havers. The stories are really good and the acting natural. I have enjoyed all of them. I would recommend Inspector Lynley to anyone who likes crime thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inspector Lynley Mysteries - Series 3 [DVD]
Inspector Lynley Mysteries - Series 3 [DVD] by Nathaniel Parker (DVD - 2009)
£13.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews