Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars56
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 29 January 2000
Superb. Similar in feel to (but much better than) mercury rev, this is also the lips most accesible album. It features optomistic meditations on science and death all sung in Coyne's distinctive, emotive voice. It is a perfect instrument for getting the music and the albums many ideas across to the listener. Highlights for me are 'Waitin for a superman' and 'Slow motion' but there are no poor songs and definately no ordinary ones! This is one of the most upbeat albums ever and deserves a place in your record collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 29 August 2006
This has got to be one of the best albums of the ninties, top three for sure. 'Feeling Yourself Disintergrate' is one of the most life affirming songs about death ever. No excuse not to pick this up with Clouds Taste Metallic as both are pretty cheap to get nowadays.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
on 28 March 2003
A view common to most Flaming Lips fans is that The Soft Bulletin represents their crowning achievement, one which I'm afraid I don't share. I first bought their 'Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots' album and within a matter of days it was decided as the best album I'd ever heard. Yet after repeatedly reading that it wasn't as good as the album at hand I decided to buy it.
First things first, there were no surprizes in that this album is sheer brilliance on a disc. The opening track "race for the prize" questions the need for dedication and faith in science. It combines amazing musicality with brilliantly insightful vocal melodies and some of the best lyrics around. The rest of the album explores the possibility that Science and Life derived from the same uncontainable love that everybody feels at some point in their lives. The album also (with scientific logic in my view) explores the hows and whys of the creation and need for this love.
The production of the album can't be faulted either, Dave Friddmann doing a typically superb job, with every nuance of musical detail on the disc. And Wayne Coyne's voice is simply magnificent, highlighted on the track "a spoonful weighs a ton".
But (and there had to be one), for all that I can't help but question this belief that it isn't surpassed by Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots. There's a sense of maturity in the latter that just isn't quite present on The Soft Bulletin. And something about the way the songs on Yoshimi flow into eachother makes the album as a whole more tangible and enjoyable, and makes it feel more complete in its interpretation. If you're new to the lips I'd definitely recomment you first buy the Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots album, if you like what you hear give this one a try.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 12 June 2008
The crazed genius of the Lips comes to full flower on the sonically massive and majestic 'The Soft Bulletin'. The major reason that "The Soft Bulletin" is such an amazing album is because at the time that it came out no-one really excepted that the Flaming Lips could record an album like it. Whilst they constantly released brilliant albums, they were very much a cult college band.

With this album they were free to create without the pressure of having to come up with a hit album. That freedom led to one of the greatest albums of the decade, in my humble gypsy opinion. This classic album was a radical departure from the punk sound that had dominated releases like "Transmissions From The Satellite Heart (which is a very good album by the way).

On this album that sound was replaced with lush orchestral arrangements, and dense sonic landscapes dominated by heartfelt lyrics. But the ace in the hole for this is that the Lips pull it off with out any hint of pretension. This is an album that can't help but cheer you up on a bad day. Even when the rain is pouring down out of the heavens, put this record and it will make the rain seem like a gift from God; I think my friend described the experience of listening to the soft bulletin the best when he said it was like listing to a ray of sunshine. What makes this album all the more special is that this is their 10th album, and it sounds like their first there are not too many bands around that can still come up with fresh ideas by album 9.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 20 January 2003
After reading all of the hype surrounding the Flaming Lips, I decided to check this album out. The hype was, for a change, totally justified, as this is one of the finest albums I have listened to in a long time. From the very, a distinct style, and air of subtle class is present, be it in the idiosyncratic voice of the Lips' frontman, or the wonderfully unique musical style that accompanies him, it is so refreshing to hear, that it sends chills down even the most cynical of spines, and leaves you feeking all warm and fuzzy inside....... or something like that!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 7 January 2001
I thought I'd heard it all before - at least I never expected to this surprised and blown away by a new album. It sounds so refreshing and different - and yet strangely familiar. And you should see these guys live if ever you get the chance - takes 'live' to a new level, easily the best, most involving gig I've ever been to. I can't wait to see what they come up with next - hopefully it will be as good because it couldn't get any better... could it?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 24 May 2004
Before Cat Deeley and that blond girl that was on celebrity fame academy started to Confess to a love of Yoshimi Battles the Pink robots the Flaming lips were equaly fantastic, possibly more so. The Soft Bulletin sounds like it's from another planet, the band sound as if they're soundtracking a film concieved by an alien lifeform of incomprehensible intelegence manifesting itself as a buble of pure thought. No other band could make this album, even if they wrote a tune as good as Race for the prize or Waiting for Superman, They wouldn't know what to do with it. What lyrics do you put with songs like that? What do you want the drums to do? Thier normal human heads would explode.
The best thing about the Soft Bulletin is that it dosen't get lost in it's own wierdness and forget about making good songs. Feeling yourself disintegrate is one of the most beautiful songs ever written yet they still manage to make it one of the most original pieces of music you'll ever hear and the Gash is mindblowing but at the same time, very moving. (Don't ever pass up the oportunity to see them live By the way)The only possible fault with the album is that singles Race for the prize and waiting for Superman are on twice, I advise you to skip the first versions of each song if you only want to listen to them once at a time.
Other than that, buy it...twice and keep one copy to shove in old peoples faces when they say that everything's been done before. And if you need more Yoshimi Battles the pink Robots is just as good and a bit more radio friendly (By comparison)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 7 November 2000
This is an amazing array of sounds produced by one of the greatest bands of our time. I saw them live in Oxford, England. Blur, Offspring, and Mercury Rev have nothing on their performance or this CD. Well worth a buy. Should be in everyones collection!!!!! 10 stars from 5
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 16 November 1999
Brilliant album,having just seen them live as well I think they are one of,if not the best bands around at the moment.The album offers such beautiful melodies whilst not being afraid to challenge the "songwriting structure" and production guidelines that seem so staid theses days.Britain should embrace this type of experimentation instead of just accepting what we get shown (see Travis,OCS and Stereophonics). This band are truly special,the album is mostly mid-tempo sonic,keyboard based music.Their outlook is fresh "Feeling Youself Disintegrate" and "Waiting for a Superman" are near perfection.Buy it!!!Give someone you hate Stereophonics for Xmas
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 17 June 2002
I bought this after hearing it in a bookshop - the only time I've ever been compelled to ask the assistant what music he was playing in the shop!
Since then I've played it back to back so many times, I just can't get enough. The lyrical content is truly inspired - songs about a struggling superman, putting away the vegetables, and bugs splattering over your windscreen! And the melodic material is simply beautiful. The harmonies on "Buzzin'", "Waitin' for a superman" are fantastic.
There are also plenty of groove based songs, "What is the Light?" "The Spark That Bled" and "Buzzin'" standing out in particular. Coupled with jangly guitars (never overdone) and lush string and keyboard arrangements, this album should definitely be in your collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

The Terror
The Terror by The Flaming Lips

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.