Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing stuff!
Having read some of the bad reviews her, I thought I had to add a comment.

The Soft Bulletin, quite simply is a superb collection of songs and music. If it's not your 'cup of tea' then by all means say so, but that does not make it bad.

This album is absolutely full of emotion, and every song is honest. It's not 'bubblegum' it's genuine. I have heard...
Published on 1 Dec 2006 by S. Parker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great album, bad re-issue.
I love this album, and was really looking forward to getting it on vinyl. First off, the records don't fit in to the original sleeves, because they are too small, so there are plain white sleeves with it. I found that pretty annoying. Also, I don't think it sounds great, seems a bit tinny.

Great album though.
Published 6 months ago by cruzley


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing stuff!, 1 Dec 2006
By 
S. Parker (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Soft Bulletin (Audio CD)
Having read some of the bad reviews her, I thought I had to add a comment.

The Soft Bulletin, quite simply is a superb collection of songs and music. If it's not your 'cup of tea' then by all means say so, but that does not make it bad.

This album is absolutely full of emotion, and every song is honest. It's not 'bubblegum' it's genuine. I have heard peopl compare this to the Beach Boys 'Pet Sounds', and yes this is pushing a 3 piece to the limit, and often beyond. But thankfully the Flaming lips regard the album as the priority and not if you can play it live. Their live shows are amazing but the albums are even better!

This album is for me the closest I have found to perfection. I can listen to it over and over again. 'Feeling yourself disintergrate' is simply amazing, whilst 'The Gash' made the hairs on my neck stand on end.

Fully reccomended, but give it a few listens!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LAST GREAT ALBUM OF THE 20th CENTURY, 26 Oct 2003
By 
D. Hale - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Soft Bulletin (Audio CD)
Beautiful, fantastic, playful, like nothing on Earth. I Love The Flaming Lips, these Oklohoman oddballs have entered my heart like an everlasting love kissing me with their crazy, space music contemplating love, death, boredom, war, loss, sadness, beauty and most other things like a Dark Side Of The Moon for the generation of the microscooter, Hello Kitty backpacks and grunge, but no jazzy progisms just beautiful chiming guitars, weird time changes, buzzing noise and the weirdly wonderful words of my king WAYNE COYNE! It would sound eccentric (which I am) to explain but if you like Welsh crazymen Super Furry Animals buy in faith but still nothing sounds like this. I saw them on the 24th October, it was the best 1hr 30mins of my life- like the coming of the year 2000 but you were intoxicated by the beautiful sound, all the Soft Bulletin's symphonic swells, piano bursts, great guitars frying space sound great. THIS LP IS LIFE CHANGING! Also Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots is similarly fantastic, this is a message beamed from a planet of geometric clouds, bees kissing and hymns for mathematicans and if you're smart you'll buy a rocket and blast off now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album that'll take your mind to another dimension, 13 Mar 2001
By 
Paul Bovey (Torquay, Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Soft Bulletin (Audio CD)
As a witness to their 2000 Glastonbury performance - complete with fake blood, hand puppets and video projections of the Teletubbies - I can pay testimony to how great the Flaming Lips are. But unlike many choreographed boy-band facsimiles, their live performance doesn't belie poor music. In fact, The Soft Bulletin is a psychedelic marvel, blending together the best bits of Captain Beefheart and the Beach Boys. It's an album that works on its own internal logic, as demonstrated on the epic opener Race For The Prize, which places two scientists' raison d'etres' as "theirs is to win, if it kills them". Other highlights include the tender Waitin' For A Superman, What Is The Light?, and the cosmic A Spoonful Weighs A Ton, a song only improved upon when heard in sync with Tinky-Winky, Dipsy, La-La and Po. Lead singer Wayne Coyne isn't the greatest vocalist in the world, but his high-pitched warble somehow works, just as the use of theramin and dinner gongs work in their live shows. Buy this album now: it'll take your mind to another dimension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watch these Lips, 21 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Soft Bulletin (Audio CD)
The spirit of prog rock lives on with The Flaming Lips. From unwieldy titles ('Psychiatric Explorations of the Fetus with Needles' from 'Clouds Taste Metallic')to their four CD set, 'Zaireeka', which was intended to be played simultaneously on four stereos, their ideas have been grand or over-indulgent. Fortunately, 'The Soft Bulletin' lacks 20 minute guitar solos (in fact, guitars have a low key role) but it is a concept album of sorts.Ostensibly the songs are about science, maths and space but on another level it continues Wayne Coyne's focus on the big themes: life, love and death.
Coyne's voice could easily be dismissed as whining, nasal and irritating but it has a teetering-on-the-edge quality matched only by Daniel Johnston; it is significant that the two instrumentals ('The Observer' and 'Sleeping on the Roof') are the driest and least satisfying tracks on 'The Soft Bulletin'. While it lacks the continual full-blast pop dynamics of 'Clouds Taste Metallic', Dave Fridmann's organised production provides compensations. The break for a solitary guitar and restrained orchestral sounds in 'Suddenly Everything Has Changed' and the abrupt shift during 'The Spark That Bled' heighten the impact of these songs. In contrast, 'The Gash', with choral effects on the vocals and thundering piano, falls prey to bombast.
'Feeling Yourself Disintegrate' survives a marching rhythm to convey the title's emotional state. 'Race for the Prize', about scientists searching for a cure but with an emphasis on their ordinary human qualities, and 'Waitin' for a Superman' are amongst their most immediate pop songs. While The Flaming Lips have not discovered a cure for cancer or communicated with aliens, they are producing music beyond the aspirations of ordinary mortals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect blend of experimentation and pop, 11 May 2002
This review is from: The Soft Bulletin (Audio CD)
Music really doesn't get better than this - I bought this album when it was released in 1999,and writing here in May 2002, it's never been off my play list.
This album is full of beautiful paradox: The Soft Bulletin sounds so utterly unique and 'on the edge' - real experimentation - whilst at the same time being so accessible and popular; the lyrics are both simplistic and deep.
The overall feeling is just very uplifting, which is much harder to do than downbeat, without being sickly and vacuous.

The joyful confusion of life, being alive, has never been more apparent and enjoyable. Watch out for the next album and tour during 2002.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just amazing..................., 29 Aug 2006
This review is from: The Soft Bulletin (Audio CD)
This has got to be one of the best albums of the ninties, top three for sure. 'Feeling Yourself Disintergrate' is one of the most life affirming songs about death ever. No excuse not to pick this up with Clouds Taste Metallic as both are pretty cheap to get nowadays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COSMIC GENIUS!, 20 Aug 2006
By 
Samedi "Ray Favourite" (Ayr, Ayrshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Soft Bulletin (Audio CD)
What a great Kaliedoscope of sound this is! We expect this from these guys anyway but for me, this record really goes above and beyond the call of duty. With the Flaming Lips, I actually begin by more or less disliking each record; they are not the most instant of bands (unless you happen to be seeing them live in which case you will already be converted!) but persistence really pays of and, much like their friends Mercury Rev, they make albums with great longevity. This is an album you can make friends with!

If you are interested in listening to something a little further out into space than traditional guitar/bass/drums then give these guys a go: the quality of ideas here is most impressive. However, it is the bravery of emotion that will zero in on your heart and take it over. What a great album, what a GREAT band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the Year- by Far!!!!!!!!!, 26 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Soft Bulletin (Audio CD)
From the moment you put the CD into a CD player and the first few bars of Race for the Prize belt out you know you're listening to a very special record. The guitars, drums and absolutely everything is perfectly pitched, even Coyne's falsetto vocals. The depth in the lyrics puts many of todays commercial bands to shame. The stand out tracks What is the Light and the sombre Feeling Yourself Disintigrate show a band at the height of their powers. No album this year will reach the heights of this piece of musical genius( Beck can't even do so with his latest.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE album of 99, 29 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Soft Bulletin (Audio CD)
Superb. Similar in feel to (but much better than) mercury rev, this is also the lips most accesible album. It features optomistic meditations on science and death all sung in Coyne's distinctive, emotive voice. It is a perfect instrument for getting the music and the albums many ideas across to the listener. Highlights for me are 'Waitin for a superman' and 'Slow motion' but there are no poor songs and definately no ordinary ones! This is one of the most upbeat albums ever and deserves a place in your record collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but Yoshimi is even better, 28 Mar 2003
This review is from: The Soft Bulletin (Audio CD)
A view common to most Flaming Lips fans is that The Soft Bulletin represents their crowning achievement, one which I'm afraid I don't share. I first bought their 'Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots' album and within a matter of days it was decided as the best album I'd ever heard. Yet after repeatedly reading that it wasn't as good as the album at hand I decided to buy it.
First things first, there were no surprizes in that this album is sheer brilliance on a disc. The opening track "race for the prize" questions the need for dedication and faith in science. It combines amazing musicality with brilliantly insightful vocal melodies and some of the best lyrics around. The rest of the album explores the possibility that Science and Life derived from the same uncontainable love that everybody feels at some point in their lives. The album also (with scientific logic in my view) explores the hows and whys of the creation and need for this love.
The production of the album can't be faulted either, Dave Friddmann doing a typically superb job, with every nuance of musical detail on the disc. And Wayne Coyne's voice is simply magnificent, highlighted on the track "a spoonful weighs a ton".
But (and there had to be one), for all that I can't help but question this belief that it isn't surpassed by Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots. There's a sense of maturity in the latter that just isn't quite present on The Soft Bulletin. And something about the way the songs on Yoshimi flow into eachother makes the album as a whole more tangible and enjoyable, and makes it feel more complete in its interpretation. If you're new to the lips I'd definitely recomment you first buy the Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots album, if you like what you hear give this one a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Soft Bulletin (U.S. Release)
Buy MP3 Album3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews