Customer Reviews

53
4.3 out of 5 stars
UFC 2009: Undisputed (PS3)
Platform: PCChange
Price:£7.99+£2.03shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 2 August 2010
In the land of the blind the one eyed man is king! That quote sums up my experience with Undisputed 2009 in a nutshell. I bought this game on the cheap following the rave reviews for Undisputed 2010 just to see what it was all about really as i'm not an avid follower of the UFC.

I was pleased to discover that UFC 2009 had similar rave reviews so I thought I was onto a winner, especially when I read reviews not only comparing it to Fight Night Round 4 but some reviews stating that it was actually better! This of course should have been a warning sign as it is not like comparing FIFA and PES but more like comparing FIFA to NBA Live just because they are both team sports that use a ball!

UFC Undisputed 2009 is a mixed martial arts fighting game that is realistic, so none of your dragon punches here! This is a good aspect of the game and does make a refreshing change from some of the titles that are released currently. However, this is one of only a few positives that this title offers.

Graphically the game is good without overly impressing as the fighters appear to be too plastic until in action replay then you get some indication that you are hitting someone and not an action man!

The game roster includes a number of fighters that are instantly recognisable even to a UFC novice like me.

And finally there are a variety of moves at your disposal.

And now for the negatives which I know the fanboys will not like but here we go!

As I said previously graphically it is not stunning, tired effects which have been done since the PS2 and just as well do not cut it in my book. Examples of this are the facial cuts and bruising which are poor and repetitive and seem to have been put in just for the effect.

The sounds and presentation are just shocking and really do belong on a PS2, i'm not talking about the rock soundtrack which doesn't really bother me but the menu sounds, the `amazing crowd' (thats a quote) is laughable and the menu presentation in particular in career mode is a joke.

While on career mode which is the main section of the game that I played I wondered why they included it as it seems like a direct port from the PS2 again. Your fighter doesn't age, as he doesn't age he can continue getting better until eventually a message flashes up saying you have a year left! Once you have won the championship you then seem to have to fight the same four fighters over and over again i.e. the top 5 which never changes!

I won't even start on the control system as I did enough to finish the game without really getting to grips with it, all I will say is get ready to play finger twister!

Finally, I would only recommend this game if you are a big fan of UFC and/or you find it on a budget buy somewhere. I can only suggest that this game has got such great reviews as there is no competition but as EA have released their own title the MMA gaming field make become very interesting in the coming years.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 26 August 2009
UFC 2009 Undisputed is a game whitch makes fun playing it with your friends. The career is interesting but becomes quite one-sided by time. An important factor is the online gaming. Here is the biggest minus. THQ just isn't able to create a working online mode. The most fighters are lagging if you fight them. Moreover there are a few bugs in the game: e.g. if you win by submission the other player is able to turn off his console and your victory isn't counted.

All in all this game makes fun if you don't expect a fighting game of perfection and if you can live with the constantly repeating video sequences.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 23 May 2009
I first bought my PS3 back in 2007 when this game was first announced. As a huge MMA fan I was desperate for a good UFC game. This game was everything I expected, it's difficult and each fighter has a different moveset that has different controls you have to master. You have the option to just have a button mashing punch-up but if you want to do well in the game you have to master the difficult controls.

My only negatives I've found in the game so far is that theres limited game modes to play with the existing roster. With the real fighters in the game you can only play exhibition matches. In career mode you HAVE to use a created fighter. I'd have also liked a tournament mode or maybe the possibility for some open weight class fights - but then this doesn't happen in real UFC any more so didn't really expect it in their game.

Other than the limited game modes, and I've not thoroughly expored the career more yet, the game is fantastic and as a MMA fanatic this is exactly what I wanted from a UFC game!
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 26 May 2009
THQ got this one absolutely spot on. Every spare moment I had this past bank holiday, I sneaked in a few matches of UFC.

Firstly, playing the game without going through the tutorial will be a waste of your time. While the controls can be complicated initially, once mastered, they become second nature to you.

The graphics and player models are unbelievably life-like on the PS3. My only complaint about this game is the incredibly slow menu system. But once you are in the match and playing, its easily forgotten.

Playing at the initial easy setting can prove to be lacking in challenge, however, as you start moving through the skill levels, the game becomes so much more inviting and even frustrating at times.

The sound tracks are great. Someone mentioned losing the ambient sounds during play - I haven't found that during the xx hours of game play so far.

Great game, one of the best I've played, hence the 5 stars.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 24 May 2009
If I were to sum up my feelings of this game into two words it would be, F&%@ing Awesome. The UFC haven't got a great reputation when it comes to video games, but as an MMA company have been on a rapid rise over the past few years, so it seems only fitting that they get a game just as good as the product they offer on screen. The project of THQ & Yukes this game is a surprising gem when comparing it to THQ's relatively lacklustre attempts at pro-wrestling games. Unfortunately, whilst this game was being made, the developers faced a few setbacks which led to the removal of star, Clay Guida because of problems with collision detection thanks to his long hair. As ridiculous as that may sound, this was a decision THQ had to make in order to get the game to the homes of people when they expected it.

The game offers a lot to its players and it's obvious that the game is created by the same combo that deal with the WWE series as certain inspiration is drawn from that game and implemented into this, including some of the soundtrack. Within the game there's the typical modes you would expect in a game such as this; exhibition, career, create a fighter and online. There's an additional mode with takes inspiration from the Legends of Wrestlemania game and that's the classic fights mode. In this mode you are thrust into some of the most exciting matches of UFC history and asked to recreate the momentous scenarios from those classic matches. As a reward for completing the task asked of you, you are awarded the match as a video which you can view at any time you wish.

The in game mechanics are beautifully done with most UFC fighters in the game being photo realistic, much like the next gen Fight Night games. There are, however, a few fighters who look like they were created at the last minute and lack that beauty and detail of some of their more famous fighting counterparts. This lack of consistency is a bit disappointing, but it doesn't take much away from the overall experience of the fight. There are 6 fighting styles overall and your particular fighter can utilise two at any one time, these allow for a great combination of striking combos and manoeuvres when standing and an immersive ground and pound experience when you're in the mood for just being brutal. The collision detection works really well and creates a realistic look when you're pounding the hell out of your opponent and watching bruises or cuts gradually develop and become more severe which caters to the more frightening gamer who enjoys a bit of blood and brutality.

Although there is a lot of good that can be said about the game because of its excellent graphics and its even better gameplay mechanics, there is sadly quite a bit of bad that can be said about it too. The career mode although good for the development of a created fighter, is a real let down and becomes massively tedious. To start it, you create an original fighter and your mission in the career mode is to train your guy and win fights to the point in which you can challenge for the title and win your entry into the hall of fame. There's nothing much to it in terms of story, and I know it's not to be compared to the likes of the WWE games, but an attempt at a story would have been massively welcome. As you play through the calendar you can choose to fight your sparring partner in order to gain ability points or you can also take part in the UFC camp in which you have a complete a number of challenges in order to win further experience points, enhance your fighting ability.

The create a fighter mode is pretty basic as you simply choose your fighters height and weight class, assign attribute points, fighting skills and other profile details. Then you enter into the look of your fighter which is disappointing depending on which way you look at it. Considering this is a game created by the same combo that works on the WWE series, they're very much aware that gamers want a large variety offering when it comes to the look of your fighter. However, I am aware that because of the detail that goes into the fighters and the collision detection specifics, a large amount of detail and amazing graphical quality don't really mix. The only aspects of a fighter's appearance that can really be worked on are the facial features in which you can mould and shape almost every portion of the face to give it a look perfect for you.

As of this moment the online experience is quite disappointing also as the developers seem to have overlooked a problem that curses many games of this type when you have players online. Some imbecilic players who can't actually take a loss on the nose have discovered that if they disconnect in time the loss isn't counted on their record. For those who choose to play the game properly and do appreciate that losses can occur, it can become quite frustrating and really destroys what would otherwise be a pleasurable online gaming experience. When you win you gain a number of experience points which can bump you up a level and you also gain a number of fans which I have yet to recognise the significance of. Of course your win/lose record gives you some fun prestige when playing online but, until a patch is released to stop people disconnecting I would really say you're only best entering into matches with people with a modest win/lose record as you can almost guarantee that if you fight someone with a 25 - 0 win streak, then the likelihood is, they have disconnected at some point so it's not really worth you wasting your time.

Overall this is a very impressive game for the first in what is promised to be a long franchise of games for the UFC brand. Looking forward to sequels, the only parts of the game that really need looking at in future versions are the career mode and the online experience. The fighting mechanics are near perfect and if it's possible to speed the fighting experience whilst keeping the same control system, then a future UFC game will be very good indeed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
This game is fantastic. I have played this game a lot over the last few months and it is defiantly one of my favourite games for the PS3. The gameplay itself is nearly flawless and is a five star product, there is however a few things which stop it from being so. These are:

Online play has pretty bad lag which for me has ruined the online experience.

The career mode is unpolished, you will find yourself going round lots of buttons to do the simplest things.

Different weight classes can not fight (really annoying that you can not have St Pierre Vs Anderson Silva or Diego Sanchez vs Joe Stevenson). This is also irritating in career mode as it would be nice once you have captured a belt to move up a weight class for more of a challenge.

Submissions, after a lot of trying I have worked out the submission system, but to submit a computer opponent you have to daze the other fighter (it goes to a black and white effect screen when someone is nearing a knock out), by that point you can finish them with a punch anyway so while submissions are a lot more satisfying they are just a lot harder to pull off then they should be.

Some fighting styles are significantly more useful then others (everyone online plays with kick boxers, due to the superman punch and head kick), it makes the game a little unbalanced

My final gripe is the game difficulty. The game only presents a challenge on the two hardest difficulty settings. I find that with any fighter with a rating nearing 90 I can knock out any AI opponent without too much of a problem, this means I can no longer use a lot of my favourite fighters (St Pierre, Brock Lesnar, Diego Sanchez, etc...) which is annoying.

That all said this game is great and is a blast when playing with friends. They are releasing a patch which they have said will fix the submission and online problems listed above. Defiantly buy the game, especially if you are a MMA fan, you will have a great time, and even three months after release I am still discovering new things and new ways of using the various techniques. BUY IT!!!!!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 17 June 2009
i have bought every game in the fight night franchise and have been slightly disappointed. this time i have learned and decided to opt for the new ufc game which was definately no mistake.

in fight night i usually smash threw each opponent no problem earning every belt, an undefeated status and a big sense of disappointment but ufc adds an entirely different dimensions to this type of game by way of transitions and submissions.

the thing i like about this game is that you can choose your fighters style e.g. striker or be a more technical fighter which uses submissions to win fights etc. also it is almost impossible to win every match which adds a bit more in way of realism.

the only thing i have to complain about with this game is with a few little features in career mode:
1. inbetween every fight you will be asked to cover for a different fight in which one of the fighters has pulled out for one reason or another. the email promises you reward for doing so but no noticable reward is given as well as your other (normally more rewarding fight) gets cancelled.
2. also every so often the game asks you to change fighting camp to mix it up a little bit so your skills do not get rusty but again nothing changes.
3. i have only had this game 1 day but for each fight you get cred (street cred) and the only thing i have found this to unlock are new sponsors which also give you more cred and i just cant see the point.

definately take my advice and buy this game instead of fight night.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 7 June 2009
I wont spend much time on the graphics, as other reviews already covered how amazing and real they look. What I want to mention is the depth of the game - normally unusual for a fighting game. You can choose from different modes - exhibition (quick play), training, online but the best two - classical fights and career mode.

1. Classical fights - you can choose from a range of fights that wrote UFC history - for example Chuck Liddell vs Rampage Jackson and other very good fights. You get to chose who you want to fight for and then your task is to end the fight the same way it did in reality. Of course you can go against this and win it your way too. Great fun.

2. Career mode - now this is where the real fun starts (actually, it's where the fun ends and it becomes serious!) - you create your player (very detailed character creation mode - hm, what moustache should I have....and a tattoo on my forehead? everything is possible. After this, you enter the UFC and can do everyting like you would if you were there for real - train your stamina, strength, speed, do sparring and chose from different styles (BJJ, Muay-Thai), which give you points which you then assign to different skills (punching offence / defence, submission, grappling). And you can also do interviews, additional sparring sessions with big names in UFC etc.
And the reality comes in even more when you start fighting - it's basically as in real UFC - the first fights are low profile, not much skill needed, you can go in and end it like a pub fight. This way, you can get through a few fights, but then you start noticing that the opponents are getting better - so you need to start training otherwise you start losing. Ok, you got that, you get your speed and stamina up and keep winning again. But wow, you climb the ladder and suddenly the opponents stop punching and start going down and dirty - and you lose by so many submissions you lose the count. back to the gym and start working on your submission skills - mainly defence in this case..
This feels very real as I've been following UFC for a while and that's how it looks like when you watch lower profile vs higher profile fights.

so a big well done to the makers of this game, money well spent!

Finally a fighting game that has more to it than just button bashing. (regarding the comments on clumsy controls - they aren't once you've been through the tutorial ;)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 29 May 2009
UFC:Undisputed is a really good game but there is a limited playability aspect to it in that the game modes aren't really expansive enough to keep you going for a long time... however.

As a multiplayer game or online, this is where this comes in to its own. Get a few mates round and it's bags of fun, as a staple Pro Ev/Fifa/Tekken user for years when the boys are round, this one has just accelerated to the top of the list! You get to hammer the living daylights out of each other and walk away intact! The graphics are immense, the range of moves quite staggering and, as a multiplayer title, it beats Fight Night, Soul Caliber, Tekken and co hands down.

So in summary, if you're looking to play this on your own, it'll keep you entertained for a bit but I'm pretty sure you'll grow tired of it pretty quickly. But if you ever have the lads round for a PS3 session (following a game of poker, say) then this is essential. It's brutal, realistic and a lot of fun.

N.B. Only 4 stars because not a lot of work has gone into generating replayability in the single player aspect of the game.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
So UFC 2009 is a good game but its very frustrating and tell you for why?

The problem with this game is when you fight you can be doing very well knocking eight shades of excrement out of someone and then they get you on the floor and get on top to punch you in the face to KO you when that happens forget it no matter what you do you cant get out of the hold the only chance you have of survival is getting to the end of round before they knock you out but thats highly unlikely.

If this wasn't an issue this game would be perfect because don't get me wrong the fighting in it is brilliant the graphics are excellent, the KO punches you provide look brilliant and they also show you the contact in slow motion so you can see exactly where you hit him which is good.

My overall review is yes the game is good yes you should buy it but don't take it too seriously because it will frustrate you if you do.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.