Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Day by Day
A snippet of time. The film made in the 70' with a seventies version of 60's hippies. There are some great views of the twin towers.

As with many film adaptations of plays, I the effort to take advantage of the media the essence of the play can get lost. Sure the songs are there but the filler is just that. The play as seen in its many incarnations is inspiring...
Published on 3 Aug 2006 by bernie

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very disappointed
I saw the original Godspell show in London and have since it since as a local amateur production. Both stage shows were absolutely fantastic and I cannot believe how it has been represented in this DVD. The stage show was an extremely moving interpretation of the gospel with wonderful music; even though it was presented in a light hearted way with the cast dressed as...
Published on 17 Jan 2012 by Jan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very disappointed, 17 Jan 2012
This review is from: Godspell [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I saw the original Godspell show in London and have since it since as a local amateur production. Both stage shows were absolutely fantastic and I cannot believe how it has been represented in this DVD. The stage show was an extremely moving interpretation of the gospel with wonderful music; even though it was presented in a light hearted way with the cast dressed as clowns / hipppies. This DVD does not represent the original feeling and emotion. Songs that were originally sung with feeling were now sung with a comedy aspect. At times it is like watching a childish slapstick comedy. Also the order of the story and songs has been changed from the order in the stage show. Anyone who remembers the original show and is hoping to recreate this, will be very disappointed. A complete waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Day by Day, 3 Aug 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
A snippet of time. The film made in the 70' with a seventies version of 60's hippies. There are some great views of the twin towers.

As with many film adaptations of plays, I the effort to take advantage of the media the essence of the play can get lost. Sure the songs are there but the filler is just that. The play as seen in its many incarnations is inspiring and makes one want to read the gospel of St. Mathew. However this version takes great effort to get through. Also based on the book "The Feast of Fools: A Theological Essay on Festivity and Fantasy".

Still this is the only recording we have to remember a play a time and a message. And the song "Day by Day" pretty much expresses the reason for the play and the reason to be part of the larger play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
enjoyed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant, the seventies on your screen., 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godspell [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Just a great show from the seventies with full hippy costumes and a great script around some fine voices and good acting froma professional cast. Set in New York streets pre 9/11 and the Twin Towers disaster. We enjoyed every minute and it left us a adefinite deelgood feeling and a better understanding of Matthew's gospel, acted out in a contemporary setting. Don't demand too much of it biblically, just enjoy the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice to watch again, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godspell [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Shame that it's only a mono soundtrack, but it was good to watch again one of my favourite films from my teenage years as it no longer appears on TV (possibly something to do with one one of the song and dance numbers taking place on the Twin Towers, which were in the final stages of construction at the time of filming). It's a little bit dated, but the deserted New York background is still as haunting as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Godspell, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Rosemary Walters "artist" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godspell [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I was very dissappointed in the DVD os Godspell.
I had hoped it would be the original productio and it was not.
Sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Godspell, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godspell [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I've always loved this film so when I saw this DVD I had to buy it. Fantastic film at a fantastic price. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars made me laugh, 19 Jun 2013
By 
Mrs. E. J. Weatherley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godspell [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
set in its time when it was made, so funny lovely songs, great message and it left me smiling at the end... yeah great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godspell [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is a film about life! Not just about Christ but about how we should live!!! The songs are excellent and if you like NY without the people then watch this film. Richard Greens direction is a first because it takes you along with the group and explores raw emotion. I saw this film at the cinema when first released and after many years I am still moved by it's simplicity and sincerity. Loved the score and wished it was in 5.1 It should be re mastered on Blu-ray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Godspell, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godspell [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This film is weird, i bought it for my media paper of dipictions of Jesus in film, although the music is catchy it was still strange.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Godspell [DVD] [2008]
Godspell [DVD] [2008] by David Greene (DVD - 2010)
3.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews