Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars45
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.01+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 17 October 2008
This DVD set sees the release of the second live action death note movie.
Story wise, The last name is a direct continution from the previous film, as it sees Death Notes protagonist Light Yagami aka Kira (Tatsuya Fujiwara) continuing his killings in order to create his ideal world. This time round however, he has teamed up with the genius, yet eccentric detective known as L (Kenichi Matsuyama) in the hopes of revealing his true identity so he can finally defeat him. However, things are complicated when a second Kira arrives on the scene, the Japanese pop idol Misa Amane (Erika Toda) who also happens to be a Kira worshipper.

What ensues is yet more, tense, supernatural thriller brilliance full of twists and turns at every corner, that will leave you glued to your TV screen for the 2hours plus that it lasts. Like the first movie, is pretty loyal to its original source manga, however, it does differ quite a bit in parts as only half of the entire Death note story was converted to live action film. So some bits had to be changed in order to bring a satisfying conclusion without messing up the story too much. I think it is a good idea that the movies were made this way, because it means that even if you know the death note manga inside out, there are still plenty of surprises in store for you with the movies.

This movie is constantly backed up by some truly suberb acting. Kenichi Matsuyama ultimately shines as he portrays his character L. As well as being an intriguing character, L also provides some comedy in the movie with the ridiculous amount of cakes and sweets he eats in every scene, as well as one superb bit where he is wearing a hilarious mask over his face while out in a public place. Tatsuya Fujiwara, best known for his role in the Battle Royale movies, pulls through with another solid performance. This time, we get to see an even more maniacal side to Light's personality which is briliantly acted by Fujiwara.

This DVD set contains a plethora of extras such as the making of, production diary video, press conference, premiere at Tokyo Forum as well as some trailers and an image gallery.
The first thing that I noticed about this set is the lovely presentation, which is the same style as what the first movie looked like. Once you remove the outer sleeve from the case, you will notice that the cases design looks like a miniature death note. On the inside there are a few pages with character profiles and death note trivia on them, as well as the rules of death note and some blank pages. Behind these 24 pages are the 2 discs that contain the movie and the special features.

If you are looking for an intense action packed movie, then you should look elsewhere. Death Note instead focuses on the intricate battle of wits between two genius minds, while bringing forward the themes of morality and what really defines justice. So if you have seen the first movie, there is no reason not to check this one out as well. If you are new to death Note its worth watching the first movie as it is somewhat more accesible and easier to digest than the manga or anime. If you enjoy the movie you may be glad to know that the 3rd death note movie entitled 'L change the world' is coming out on DVD over here towards the end of 2008, but before that you need to check out the manga and anime (if you havent already) as they are absouteley essential.
So Death Note 2: The last name, is an excellent adaptation of a Japanese Cult Phenomenon as well as a superb sequel and is truly great addition to the franchise and to your DVD collection.
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2010
If you want a really good clever thriller, I suggest to buy and watch this film. You must though however watch the first Death Note film to understand Death Note 2 (this one).

5/5
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2011
A great sequel to the first Deathnote, this movie's twists and dark drama are even better than the first.
In this you see the great battle of minds between Light and Kira.
We see the great mind of L at work, how dark Light can be and how Ryuk isnt to be messed with.
We are also introduced to new characters Misa and her Shinigami Rem as enter the mix.
If plots twists and mind games are your sort of thing and you liked the first one you will enjoy this sequel as it has it in double.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
Been a fan of the Death Note series from it's manga origins, through the intense anime, all the way to the hidden novels and movies. Because of my prior knowledge into the series I kind of knew what was going to happen, and was very happy with the choice of actors and music within the film. It held true to the Death Note franchise.
The DVD's themselves came in a lovely box which is an added decorative bonus to my shelf of Death Note goodies. My mother and father couldn't get into the anime as much as me or my sister but liked the concept, so we showed them these films instead and they loved them!

Don't have the time to sit through the whole anime? Not into reading manga? The movies are not 100% accurate to them, but they do hold a lot of the original content (some scenes are almost identical too!) so it's a worthy watch for those that want to get into the Death Note series but don't feel ready yet to commit to a long series of books or DVDs.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2012
This movie is great fun. Central character is an evil genius bent on world domination through the manipulation of a Death God's notebook. Say no more because if you are reading this you probably will have seen Death Note 1. I think with all of these movies much has been lost from the fantastic anime series of the subtle interplay between Light and his counterpart L. Sometimes the plot feels too much like it has been reverse engineered to enable Light to escape very difficult predicaments. The Death Gods themselves are interesting characters in their right. A good sequel.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 December 2008
This second Death Note live action film follows the in the same style as the previous film with an odd mix of sticking close to the book in places alongside some major deviations from the story. This movie continues the mental duel between Light and L as the two start to work more closely together to catch Kira but things are complicated when the model and actress Misa Amane gains a second Death Note and decides to help Kira in his cause.

Just as with the first film, The Last Name is a great film that despite the changes to the story does generally work quite well. The CGI on the Shinigami is still great and although some of the acting does leave something to be desired, the main characters themselves are good versions of the characters from the manga. The changes made to the plot are mostly understandable due to considerations of time and practicality and this may alienate some of the more hardcore fans of the franchise but personally I think the changes are very well done, keeping many of the major events of the series but with many of the details changed.

Although neither of the live action films quite live up to either the manga or anime versions of Death Note, they are both still greatly enjoyable and should be a must watch for any Death Note fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2010
L i thought was very well acted and captured his personality from the anime very well all know the story does change a bit from the anime it is still a good show but the 3rd deathnote live action movie i liked the most. fans who like L in the 1st 2 movies will espacially like this one Death Note: L change the WorLd [2008] [DVD]
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
This is an amazing sequel to the first film. And I'm not going to spoil it but I prefer this ending to the ending in the anime. Again the actors portray the characters well and the Subtitles are very easy to follow.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
Storyline was great, actors played each role perfectly and for those who are fans of the anime, don't worry you won't be disappointed with this live action film
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
never watched a live action before, didn't think I was going to like it but I loved it! story takes an interesting twist even from the anime and manga!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)