Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Middle-age spread is no bad thing!
Well, that's what the first impression of this film leaves me with: Bette Midler, Helen Hunt, and Colin Firth are actually allowed to look their own ages, and are not made up, botoxed, done up or corseted into movie mode. And they look fabulous.

Is THEN SHE FOUND ME a 'rom-com' ?? No. Has it ever claimed to be one ? I don't think so. Is it a 'chick-flick'...
Published on 24 May 2010 by Green Knight

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars neither one thing or another
I didn't enjoy watching Then She Found Me and I think this was because it was neither particularly humorous and nor did it have sufficient punch to pass itself off as a serious take on the ups and downs of real life.
I bought the dvd because it has colin firth in it and for the second time I have seen him in an americain film
he was portrayed as a wacky...
Published on 31 Oct. 2009 by Amazon Customer

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars By definition alone, it be bittersweet., 6 Aug. 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Then She Found Me [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
For her first feature length directorial picture, Helen Hunt adapts from Elinor Lipman's best selling novel of the same name. Casting herself along side Colin Firth, Bette Midler and Matthew Broderick, Hunt's film follows the uneasy emotional path to fulfilment of April Epner {Hunt}. Shortly after separating from her husband Sam {Broderick}, April's world is further shaken by the death of her adoptive mother. Yet solace is in the offering in the form of divorced single parent Frank {Firth}, but things start to get complicated by the sudden appearance of Bernice Graverman {Midler}. A bold showy talk show host who just happens to claim to be April's birth mother! All that and now Sam is having second thoughts about letting their marriage go..........

Then She Found Me achieves that rare bittersweet thing of managing to blend its humour comfortably with its warm and intelligent core. Also boosted by having its fine cast performing well with the material, it's a film just waiting to be discovered by more people than it evidently has thus far. That's not to say new viewers will instantly become fans of it, because for sure there are problems in the screenplay. But being tagged, as it has in some quarters, as the female bedfellow to Sideways is possibly about right. Which ultimately makes for an interesting viewing experience at the very least. Hunt's picture, as light as it is in the main, has a touch of sadness to it, certainly the characters are rather difficult to like, not because they are defined by who they are, but by what they do. It's an oddity in the film that surprisingly helps the film along. Apparently different from the source novel in terms of dialogue and the Frank/April axis, the film has much to say about the foibles of a woman approaching middle age. A woman who suddenly finds herself at the crossroads of her life, to which it's being influenced by other sources.

The direction is steady and Hunt manages to garner fine turns from her cast. There is nothing tricksy or technically brilliant within the piece. But it is a notable humanistic film that is content to let its earthiness see it home. Not a comedy to split your sides with, and not a drama to shake you to your very core. It's a sweet, intelligent picture that is worth the time of day if you be interested in this type of human story. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then She Found Me [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Well it worked perfectly fine, case was in good condition and it was a decent price so I'm pleased with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars then she found me, 26 Sept. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then She Found Me [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I found this to be an ok film, I am a fan of romcoms its not one of those that you would want to watch again and again...It did however deal with some very good issues and worth a view..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Then She Found Me dvd, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then She Found Me [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
This was bought as a gift for a Colin Firth fan & she enjoyed this film very much. Everyone was good in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then She Found Me [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Very happy and will highly recommended to friends and family.
Brilliant service!
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It was boring to me, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then She Found Me [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I like Colin Firth, but this film is really boring to me. I would not recommend it to someone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not my cup of tea, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then She Found Me [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
This movie may have Colin Firth in it but it bored me and I wanted it to end. Not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your time, 19 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Then She Found Me [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I must confess that I bought this DVD from the reduced rack in a discount store. I thought it would be pretty good because it had a strong cast and I love Ms Midler. It started out to be quite promising I thought. April (Helen Hunt's character) is arguing with her adoptive mother (who is very ill at the time) and expressing her desire to have a child. In the next scene April's husband tells her he is leaving her for someone else. She is, understandably, shell-shocked. Next day at school (she is a teacher) she meets someone who captures her attention..played by Colin Firth. By now the film should be fleshed out and catching the attention - but it's not and it just doesn't. It seems to drag on and on. There should have been so many opportunities for it to pick up. Bette Midler plays April's biological mother - this must be worth something..but no, even Bette doesn't make the film any better. Although I watched the whole thing through, by the end I just didn't care what happened to any of the cast. Don't waste your time on this film - even the cast can't save it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then She Found Me [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I wanted to buy a cheap chick flick and that's exactly what it is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 29 Sept. 2011
By 
Judy Munday "Jasper cat" (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then She Found Me [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this film. It had, comedy, romance, pathos, very cute children and a big plus for me Colin Firth,together with Helen Hunt and Bette Midler. Extremely well acted, good story line and the blessing of a happy ending which was a bonus. I will watch this DVD again and recommend it to all romantics and people who have made mistakes in their life or ever questioned themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Then She Found Me [2008] [DVD]
Then She Found Me [2008] [DVD] by Helen Hunt (DVD - 2009)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Hope Springs [DVD] [2003]
Hope Springs [DVD] [2003] by Colin Firth (DVD - 2004)
3.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (60)   
Buy new£3.91
In stock

Catch And Release [DVD] [2007]
Catch And Release [DVD] [2007] by Jennifer Garner (DVD - 2007)
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (28)   
Buy new£4.02
In stock

Gambit [DVD]
Gambit [DVD] by Colin Firth (DVD - 2013)
3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (104)   
Buy new£3.00
In stock