Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Middle-age spread is no bad thing!
Well, that's what the first impression of this film leaves me with: Bette Midler, Helen Hunt, and Colin Firth are actually allowed to look their own ages, and are not made up, botoxed, done up or corseted into movie mode. And they look fabulous.

Is THEN SHE FOUND ME a 'rom-com' ?? No. Has it ever claimed to be one ? I don't think so. Is it a 'chick-flick'...
Published on 24 May 2010 by Green Knight

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars neither one thing or another
I didn't enjoy watching Then She Found Me and I think this was because it was neither particularly humorous and nor did it have sufficient punch to pass itself off as a serious take on the ups and downs of real life.
I bought the dvd because it has colin firth in it and for the second time I have seen him in an americain film
he was portrayed as a wacky...
Published on 31 Oct 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Middle-age spread is no bad thing!, 24 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Then She Found Me [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Well, that's what the first impression of this film leaves me with: Bette Midler, Helen Hunt, and Colin Firth are actually allowed to look their own ages, and are not made up, botoxed, done up or corseted into movie mode. And they look fabulous.

Is THEN SHE FOUND ME a 'rom-com' ?? No. Has it ever claimed to be one ? I don't think so. Is it a 'chick-flick' ?? Nope. Why are we always so desperate to attach a quick and easy label to something ? Are we so obsessed by the 30-second 'elevator pitch' ? I can decide for myself what kind of film I'm watching - and this one is excellent for its witty and often touching screenplay (I haven't read the original book, and I'm not really likely to, so for me the film can speak for itself) and its sensitive direction of an ensemble cast that is never less than excellent.

The whole film has a lovely ring of truth about it. There are plenty of laughs, plenty of drama, and some tears - it's like life, with a plot that at first glance seems to be far-fetched, but turns out to be completely believable. You can share the dilemmas, feel the frustrations, and enjoy the beautifully observed performances from the whole cast in this bittersweet tale of a mature woman's reunion with her daughter.

Bette Midler shines (as usual) as Helen Hunt's birth-mother. Always a terrific actress, she is one of those institutions that the silver screen would be poorer without. She is in good robust company: Helen Hunt, tall and slightly gawky, as the estranged daughter - eminently watchable, and totally without that element of saccharine that can so often spoil a film like this and reduce it to the ranks of schmaltz - or 'rom-com'.

It's also heartening to see that Colin Firth has avoided the pitfall of pastiche that some hugely successful actors descend into - becoming caricatures of themselves in their earlier roles. Firth's characterisation here is rich and multi-dimensional, sympathetic, while being no pushover. He's middle-aged, slightly broad in the beam, untidy - he's real.

It's refreshing to be able to look at a cast and say 'yes, they really all can act.'

This is a good film on all sorts of levels: if you want a 'chickflick' or a 'rom-com' - or somesuch other genre aberration, don't bother. It won't please you. This film is not afraid to stand up on its own, and it's all the more rewarding and enjoyable because of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oooh Colin Firth, 23 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then She Found Me [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Such a good film-Bette Midler, delightful. Helen Hunt, believable and Colin Firth, lovely as ever. Good Saturday night in movie!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Then She Found Me, 9 Feb 2009
By 
E. Ward "'emmagleb'" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Then She Found Me [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I found this film refreshing, as its not like the usual rom-com or chick-flicks of recent times. April (Helen Hunt), the main character, embarks on an emotional rollercoaster throughout the film, as she comes to terms with the rise and fall of her marriage, the death of her mother, the discovery of her biological birth mother, and her desire to experience motherhood for herself.

Characters come in and out of play and each bring something new to the storyline - Frank (Colin Firth) is an emotionally unstable and overfunctioning single father of two, with his own set of problems and his own odd way of dealing with things. The insight into Frank's relationship with his children, and the relationship of April, Frank and the kids is carefully analysed and well written. Sam (Matthew Broderick), April's soon-to-be-ex husband, flits in and out of the scenes, bringing with him a complex set of emotions which are so outlandishly childish you have to wonder where the line between adulthood and childhood are. Bernice (Bette Middler) is overbearing, borderline hysterical and highly strung character who has obviously missed out on April's life, but in her efforts to reconsile this she often confuses good and bad.

All in all, this film seemed to be quite philosophical and psychological in its analysis of relationships between different groups of people; parents with each other, parents with their children, and children with each other, across differing age ranges and stages of emotional progression. It's quite a deep film, not easy to grasp in the first instance and takes a few watches to be appreciated. The plotline moves very quickly, and the understanding of the delicate interrelationships between human beings is paramount to the films enjoyment.

Helen Hunt, Colin Firth, Bette Midler and Matthew Broderick carry this film exceptionally well, and take this film from a complicated flop into a superb study of life. Helen Hunt has also written and directed the film (though it is based on a book) and this is an excellent introduction to her skills. More please, more!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Mother's love is too BIG to measure., 22 Sep 2008
By 
Audrey Uren "Gday from WA" (Perth, Western Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
School teacher April Epner (played by Helen Hunt)is a 39 year old woman who is desperate to have her own child. Her husband has left her (with the words "I don't want this life") and her adoptive Mother passes away. When April meets her 'birth' Mother (Bette Midler)she begins a new emotional journey - through a serious of events - she learns why she was put up for adoption. She also sees her adoptive Mother with new eyes.

April commences a new relationship with a parent at the school (Colin Firth) who has two young daughters. She finds out what it takes to be a parent and the sacrifices that you make and the love that you have to give to another person.

Over the course of the film these relationships teach April what it is to loved as a daughter, part of a family, to be "seen" as a Woman and to understand that a Mother's love for a much wanted child cannot be measured.

Helen Hunt also makes her debut as a Director, co-writer and producer. If this is her "style" then I hope to see many more films made by her. This is was a beautiful film as parenting is quite an emotional subject but there are some quite comical bits in it as well. Look out for April's OBGYN when she goes to the Doctor on two separate occasions. Quite funny moments.
(Colin Firth fans will not be disappointed. If you loved Blake Morrison's "When Did you Last See your Father?" then you will love this film also.)

If you, like April are not yet a parent but are desperate to have a baby then this film may be a bit heavy going.............bring the tissues, a box of maltesers and a good friend shoulder!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Then She Found Me" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With The 'US' Disc..., 22 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
You've probably noticed that most of the reviews for the rather good "Then She Found Me" are for the 'DVD'. But if you want to upgrade to BLU RAY and live in the UK - there's a problem.

This American-only release on Image Entertainment is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

So until someone sees fit to release it in our Region B - this is yet another movie denied us by the silly restrictions of Region Coding...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the best movie, 10 May 2010
This review is from: Then She Found Me [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Can't say this in one of the best movies I have ever seen, but 'Bette Middler' is hilarious. I understood the movie better after I watched Helen Hunt's commentary in the features section
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars neither one thing or another, 31 Oct 2009
This review is from: Then She Found Me [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't enjoy watching Then She Found Me and I think this was because it was neither particularly humorous and nor did it have sufficient punch to pass itself off as a serious take on the ups and downs of real life.
I bought the dvd because it has colin firth in it and for the second time I have seen him in an americain film
he was portrayed as a wacky englishman who seems to be an excuse for a wacky script.Matthew Broderick seemed out of place and uninterested in the role he was acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good value, 16 April 2009
This review is from: Then She Found Me [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
i thought this dvd was very good and it had a good story line,i would recomend this dvd to anyone who likes a dvd with a story to it with a happy ending, also it was good value for money.
thanks mrs s trebble
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching, 20 Mar 2009
By 
Al (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Then She Found Me [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film because I am a fan of both Colin Firth and Matthew Broderick.
Colin Firth gives a fine performance in his role as a single father, deserted by his wife and left to care for his two young children. There is a wonderful tenderness between him and Helen Hunt - they are so natural together. Both find themselves in traumatic situations and their connection is touching and wholly believable.
Matthew Broderick's role as Hunt's husband is smaller but provides a necessary contrast. As a previous 'real-life' partner of Hunt's, their scenes together feel natural and spontaneous.
Helen Hunt is lovely. With very little make up and lank hair for much of the film she gives such a touching and, at times,pained performance that is really beautiful. Her commentary on the film is also well worth listening to and gives a real insight into what she hoped to create as a director.
There is so much to recommend in this film. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Then She Found Me [2007] [Blu-ray] [US Import], 12 July 2014
Then She Found Me [2007] [Blu-ray] [US Import] A FINE UNPREDICTABLE COMEDY!

This touching, warmly amusing story directed by Helen Hunt, follows schoolteacher April Epner [Helen Hunt] on her very unlikely path toward personal fulfilment. Following here separation from her husband Ben Green [Mathew Broderick] and the death of her adoptive mother, April is contacted by her apparent birth mother Bernice Graves [Bette Midler], a colourful local talk show host who’s not exactly the ideal mum. As she tries to become her mother to April that she never was able to be, April finds solace in the arms of the father of one of her students Frank [Colin Firth]. With every aspect of her world turned upside down, April must learn how to cope with an age-old truth – life can change in a heartbeat.

Cast: Helen Hunt, Bette Midler, Colin Firth, Matthew Broderick, Ben Shenkman, Salman Rushdie, John Benjamin Hickey and Lynn Cohen

Director: Helen Hunt

Producers: Christine Vachon, Connie Tavel, Helen Hunt, Katie Roumel and Pamela Koffler

Screenwriters: Alice Arlen, Helen Hunt and Victor Levin

Music: David Mansfield

Cinematography: Peter Donahue

Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1

Audio: English: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio and English: 5.1 Dolby Digital

Subtitles: English SDH and Spanish

Running Time: 100 minutes

Number of discs: 1

Region: Region A/1

Studio: Image Entertainment

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review – Cinema is littered with failed film made by big stars turned first-time directors. Eddie Murphy's 'Harlem Nights,' Ethan Hawke's 'The Hottest State,' Alan Cumming and Jennifer Jason Leigh's 'The Anniversary Party' and Madonna's recent 'Filth & Wisdom' are just a few examples of arguably terrible movies that are clear reminders that sometimes, actors should stick to their day jobs. So it's a nice surprise when, every once in a while, a film made by a thespian comes along that actually isn't entirely dreadful. Helen Hunt's 'Then She Found Me' is just such a movie, one that's certainly flawed but made with such obvious passion that you want to cheer Hunt on just for getting more right than wrong.

Based on the book by Elinor Lipman, Hunt not only stars and directs, but also co-wrote the screenplay with Alice Arlen and Victor Levin. She retains the basic structure of Victor Lipman's novel if streamlining many of its subplots and characters. The premise veers into Woody Allen territory, a slice of Jewish urban angst that sees Hunt as New York schoolteacher April Epner, a recent divorcee whose ex-husband Benjamin [Matthew Broderick] left her because of her desire to have children, which is only compounded after her adoptive mother unexpectedly dies. Attempting to re-start her life, April finds herself in a myriad of dramedy complications, including the return of her intrusive biological mother [Bette Midler], her comically morose brother [Ben Shenkman] and a potential new boyfriend [Colin Firth] who is the father of one of her students.

The story of 'Then She Found Me' is nothing new. It's Female Empowerment 101, and had the tone been comedic, it could have just as easily starred Sandra Bullock. We can immediately anticipate all of the staple scenes to come, including April's first slapstick encounter with Midler, her meet-cute with Firth, and the eventual return of Benjamin, just at the moment when April will need to make her crucial romantic decision of whether to pursue her new suitor. Though Hunt's script and direction are blatant in bringing Victor Lipman's spiritual and thematic concerns to the fore, which gives 'Then She Found Me' an intellectual bent rare for a romantic comedy, it remains a bit too precious to truly surmount the limitations of its genre.

Indeed, April herself can be insufferable. Her predicament is certainly relatable, but her lack of humour and warmth (which is not helped by Hunt, who can come off as a cold actress) is not. It's intriguing that, as she elaborates on the included audio commentary, Hunt laboured for so many years to bring this story to the screen. April's realisations are ultimately not all that revelatory, and her frequent wallowing in self-pity often makes her seem a passive bystander in her own life rather than an active participant. It's often frustrating to watch, and the film's denouement just isn't emotionally transformative enough to truly make the journey worth it.

What Hunt does succeed in bringing to 'Then She Found Me' is insight and earnestness, sort of like a distaff Edward Burns movie but far less pretentious and grating. Hunt is refreshing in her lack of visual ticks and self-conscious camera moves, and instead aims for the immediacy of a stage play. Her style is workmanlike and unpretentious (the Woody Allen influence is clear), which allows the fine cast to shine. Though I find Midler simply annoying these days (ever since 'The First Wives Club,' she's played every role the same way), Firth brings a real charm to a potentially awkward character, while the underrated Shenkman provides plenty of droll laughs. Ironically, Hunt's own performance suffers even more by comparison, as she sometimes feels overwhelmed by the other characters in the movie, they steal the show.

'Then She Found Me' is ultimately a small movie in every sense of the word, but not quite a real sleeper. Its lead character is just too oft-putting, and the story's themes too off-the-rack. Yet at the same time, Hunt is so committed to her story and her filmmaking that 'Then She Found Me' is a film that you can't help but root for. It's refreshing to find a film these days whose maker truly seemed determined to make. I wish I could have fully embraced 'Then She Found Me,' but however imperfect, it's at least a work driven by passion not profit.

Blu-ray Video Quality – The definition of "small people picture," 'Then She Found Me' is hardly the type of material that screams high-def. This 1080p encode image is simply nice and pleasant, delivering a good-looking picture but nothing more. The film has a realistic, non-stylized appearance. Colours are well-saturated and natural, if on the bland side. The transfer handles the palette well, however, with a clean look and accurate flesh tones. Detail is merely average, with a softness to the image which flattens out depth. The source is in good shape, however, with nice blacks and smooth contrast. Shadow delineation is average as well, with darker scenes offering little real fine texture. There are no major compression artefacts, and noise and edge enhancement are not problematic.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – I didn't expect much from the audio on 'Then She Found Me,' but this is quite a strong English 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio Surround soundtrack. It serves the material very well, and even has a few moments of inspired subtlety. I liked how well-done discrete effects and atmosphere are, which gives this mix a surprisingly strong rear presence. The back channels are usually alive with minor effects or score bleed, and sometimes more pronounced moments. The quality of the recording is likewise impressive, with a wide dynamic range and low bass that is prominent but non-intrusive. Dialogue is also front-and-center, as it should be, with spoken words always intelligible and never overwhelmed by the rest of the mix. Sure, 'Then She Found Me' is not a demo disc, but it's hard to imagine the material could have been served more properly.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Audio Commentary: Helen Hunt flies solo on this track, and it is one of the best I've heard in ages. This first-time director explains that she came into her first commentary completely prepared, aiming the track at fellow neophyte filmmakers. Her extensive experience as an actress who has worked with some of the greats is also well in evidence, and she comes off as intelligent and insightful about every aspect of her film and craft. She also provides a welcome thesis on the film's main themes, as well as continual detail on how she structured each scene. Thorough, witty, and passionate, Hunt shows us how a commentary is done right.

Interviews [28:00] Nearly a half-hour of interviews is included, with Hunt and stars Colin Firth, Bette Midler, and Matthew Broderick. An off-screen interviewer guides the discussion, and if these chats are static in presentation, the content is very strong. (Only Hunt's nearly 10-minute talk is a bit redundant after the commentary).

Theatrical Trailers [HD] The film’s original trailer is provided in full HD video.

Finally, 'Then She Found Me' is a small but very engaging film, and a notable directorial debut for star Helen Hunt. This Blu-ray gives it a fine presentation, with good video and nice audio sound and a few worthwhile supplements. Still, 'Then She Found Me' isn't really material that calls out for a high-definition presentation, the Blu-ray release is undoubtedly the best this film will look for quite some time. Devoted fans of the film's actors may be curious to check this title out, but otherwise, ‘Then She Found Me’ will probably float under the radar for most, but if you are in the mood for something different on Blu-ray, this is definitely worth a look and it is a wonderful winner all the way, as I never got to see this when it was released in the cinema, but wow what a joy to get this Blu-ray as all the actors give a truly outstanding performance and should of got some kind of gong for their efforts. But one word of warning, get your Kleenex tissues out, as this is a 10 hanky emotional roller coaster emotional ride and I am so proud to add this to my ever increasing Bette Midler Blu-ray Collection, as I cannot praise this film enough. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No,1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Then She Found Me [2008] [DVD]
Then She Found Me [2008] [DVD] by Helen Hunt (DVD - 2009)
5.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews