Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unrelated....brilliant, posh Big Brother?
' Unrelated' is an extraordinary, unusual film that lives with you long after it ends. There is no background music, there is a mix of professional actors & [ may I say it? ] real people. The performers live & eat together in the Tuscan villa in which it is filmed . They sleep in the bedrooms that are theirs in the film. The unrelated outsider, playing Anna, arrives...
Published on 13 Oct 2012 by Susie Hall

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Proceed with caution...
Having quite, but not thoroughly, enjoyed "Archipelago" (and encouraged by excellent reviews), I watched Joanna Hogg's previous film with favourable anticipation...but I was disappointed. The basic plot of an 'outsider' rather foolishly trying to take a holiday with a rather unwelcoming group is interesting, and the moment when she asks them to quieten down their late...
Published on 19 Dec 2011 by Mr. B. Kendrick


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unrelated....brilliant, posh Big Brother?, 13 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unrelated [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
' Unrelated' is an extraordinary, unusual film that lives with you long after it ends. There is no background music, there is a mix of professional actors & [ may I say it? ] real people. The performers live & eat together in the Tuscan villa in which it is filmed . They sleep in the bedrooms that are theirs in the film. The unrelated outsider, playing Anna, arrives after the other performers have bonded. The result is a sort of collective method acting. It is convincing & powerful. It makes ordinary films look acted.
The camera is still; you feel as if you are there with them. It is really happening.

The central performance of Anna would win an award in a better known movie ; she is luminous, outstanding.The hotel scene where you discover Anna's sadness is perfect, brilliant.
The most interesting character is young Oakley, who is generally condemned by most who see the film, yet is the only one to take notice of the ' unrelated' Anna & to listen to her.
It was the film debut of Tom Hiddleston, who worked easily , brilliantly , intelligently in this collective setting . Oakley could have a whole book written on his fascinating character ; he should be seen again. There is a furious,disturbing off scene row between Oakley & his ghastly father that truly shocks.

Watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A reflective film with strong atmospheric imagery, 8 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Unrelated [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a film that will make you think, make you cringe and make you want to go to Tuscany. It is one that you certainly won't forget quickly. It deals with the character of Anna who goes to stay with old friends in their Tuscan villa, arriving alone in the middle of the night and, significantly, unmet by her hosts leaving her to find her way to the villa in the dark on a dusty side road which is the opening scene of the film. This image of Anna dragging her suitcase along on her own gives us a key to her character in the film. She is with her friends but she does not belong to their world and although she tries to join them in all kinds of ways, some that may make you wince, she is ultimately rejected. The actors create an intense world of suppressed emotions and many things are left unsaid but can be observed clearly. The landscape of Tuscany shimmers in the heat but it is filled with menace and potential dangers. The director, Joanna Hogg, has created a very memorable film and I look forward to her next work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Proceed with caution..., 19 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. B. Kendrick "Barrie A Kendrick" (Buckhurst Hill, Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unrelated [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Having quite, but not thoroughly, enjoyed "Archipelago" (and encouraged by excellent reviews), I watched Joanna Hogg's previous film with favourable anticipation...but I was disappointed. The basic plot of an 'outsider' rather foolishly trying to take a holiday with a rather unwelcoming group is interesting, and the moment when she asks them to quieten down their late night enjoyment so that she can get to sleep perfectly underlines the clear separation that exists between her and the younger group of holiday-makers.

Both my hearing and sight are excellent, and although I appreciate the subtle use of both background and natural conversation etc., I found the general sound level to be sometimes conspicuously unbalanced and the script, whether it was written or improvised, was unmemorable and, even allowing for my preference for the subtle over the obvious, gave the main actors some difficulty in establishing their characters...and the filming of the initial scene of arrival was poor rather than atmospheric.

One reviewer has remarked on the rather obvious influence of Eric Rohmer on Joanna Hogg's work, and I would agree. I both admire and appreciate Joanna Hogg's efforts, but I feel that although much of the early work of Eric Rohmer is, and will be, remembered as landmarks in the history of the cinema, I suspect that neither "Unrelated" nor "Archipelago" will be similarly remembered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved Unrelated, 17 Mar 2014
By 
Danielle (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unrelated [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely loved this movie. Joanna Hogg's past as a photographer totally shines through - the film is beautiful to look at and has a slightly dreamlike quality. All the cast are excellent, especially a young Tom Hiddleston as the dangerously charming Oakley. Loved the extras, too, the interview with her was really interesting. I'd definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 23 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. Duncan Learmouth "Alcatraz" (UK, BUCKS) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unrelated [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very edgy, thought provoking film. Having watched the film in spellbound, if uneasy, silence, I was inspired to watch the director's commentary which contributed yet further to my appreciation of this low-budget masterpiece. It is a beautifully acted, wonderfully understated drama which I would highly recommend. The main character, a 30 something childless woman, is painfully sympathetic and her relationship with the arrogant but charming son of her best friend offers great potential for dramatic tension. I can't wait to see what the director, Joanna Hogg, comes up with next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Tangible, contemplative, efficiently understated...", 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unrelated [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
English screenwriter and director Joanna Hogg`s feature film debut which she wrote, premiered at the 51st London Film Festival in 2007, was shot on location in Monteroni d`Arbia and Siena in Italy and is a United Kingdom production which was produced by producer Barbara Stone. It tells the story about a woman named Anna who goes to a holiday resort in Italy. Some of her old friends are staying there with their children and after Anna has gotten settled, her friend named Brianna begins noticing that something is going on with Anna.

Distinctly and precisely directed by British filmmaker Joanna Hogg, this finely paced fictional tale which is narrated from multiple viewpoints though mostly from the main character`s point of view, draws a perceptive portrayal of a woman`s relationship with her friends and a young man named Oakley. While notable for its naturalistic and atmospheric milieu depictions, sterling cinematography by cinematographer Oliver Curtis, production design by production designer Stéphane Collonge, fine editing by Danish film editor Helle Le Fevre and use of sound, colors and light, this character-driven and dialog-driven story depicts an incisively internal and heartrending study of character.

This inventive, atypical and at times humorous drama from the late 2000s which examines themes like generational differences, interpersonal relations and belongingness, is impelled and reinforced by its fleeting narrative structure, subtle character development and continuity, silent moments, natural dialog, interesting characters, underlying emotional substance, distinct aura and the authentic acting performances by actress Kathryn Worth, English actor Tom Hiddleston in his debut feature film role and Zimbabwean-English actress and director Mary Roscoe. A tangible, contemplative, efficiently understated and acutely framed character piece which reminiscences some of the great masters of cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking first film, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unrelated [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
What a good film this is ,but beware it could be a bit of a "marmite" film in as much as some people are going to hate it .Set in Italy it brought back many memories for me ,and if you have been to Tuscany it is surprisingly industrial and even urban in places, and this is caught very well in the superb filming. Give it a go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This movie. I like it. Another!, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unrelated [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
It was a wonderful movie that I truly enjoyed watching. One of the things I liked the most is the music is intradiegetic. It is played and/or listened to by the characters. And this is a nice change from more mainstream movies.

Tom Hiddleston, fresh out of RADA when the movie was shot, shines as Oackley, the eldest of the teenage characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars expressionate, 28 April 2013
This review is from: Unrelated [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Shows passion, with talented actors who captivate the screen and a director who understands human emotions and how complex they are
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Film buff's choice, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unrelated [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this film as I had seen forerunner- not to everyones taste- but as a foreign film goer I enjoyed it- mw
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unrelated [2007] [DVD]
Unrelated [2007] [DVD] by Joanna Hogg (DVD - 2009)
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews