Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant diversion
I recommend this film if you are one, like me, who sometimes needs to be entertained without having any demands made on one's intellect or powers of analysis.

The novel on which it is based is a fizzy cocktail of a read, and the film is a faithful adaptation in that respect, although some twists were invented and liberties taken in order to add a few more...
Published on 17 Jun 2008 by libriarsque

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Quirky Comedy With A Stiff Upper Lip
I've just seen this film at the cinema and I enjoyed it very much. I wouldn't say it was fantastic, but it certainly wasn't useless either - somewhere in the middle. If you have enjoyed films such as 'The Truth About Being Earnest', you'll love this. Full of romance, comedy, and drama. You'll be laughing one minute, and feel like crying the next.

Set in 1940's...
Published on 16 Aug 2008 by Katrina-UK


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant diversion, 17 Jun 2008
I recommend this film if you are one, like me, who sometimes needs to be entertained without having any demands made on one's intellect or powers of analysis.

The novel on which it is based is a fizzy cocktail of a read, and the film is a faithful adaptation in that respect, although some twists were invented and liberties taken in order to add a few more interesting facets to plot and character. The essential Cinderella story (or, more accurately, the story of a down-and-out but deserving woman who takes advantage of the situation at hand in order to better her own circumstances) is preserved. The art deco sets are sumptuous, and the period songs that supplement the film score set the tone wonderfully.

Amy Adams would not have been my first choice to play Delysia LaFosse (is that a name, or what??); nevertheless, she is appropriately flighty and alluring. Frances McDormand does a marvelous job as Guinevere Pettigrew(another rather startling name). But the main attractions for me are the male stars, particularly Ciaran Hinds and Mark Strong, who play the prosaically named Joe and Nick, respectively.

I actually liked the movie better than the book, perhaps because the wonderful cast skillfully fleshes out what would otherwise be a rather slender story for a feature film. Make yourself a fizzy cocktail, pop this DVD into the machine, and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheeky, chirpy and utterly uplifting!, 15 Aug 2009
By 
Laura Fyfe (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day [DVD] (DVD)
I'm shocked at the lukewarm reception this gorgeous period drama has had in the reviews: it's one of my favourite films of all time. Many of my friends, family and workmates feel the same way!

This film adaptation is certainly not faithful to the (also excellent) novel but it still had me spellbound from start to finish. It possibly helped that I saw the film first - so many here seem to have loved the book, and then therefore been disappointed by the differences in the film. I, however, find it impossible not to deeply sympathise with and then admire the central character, Miss Pettigrew. The patterns and rhythm of the elegantly written dialogue and choreography always keep me riveted. The music vividly evokes the action on screen and the cinematography is lush.

While the pace and tone are definitely light-hearted, lively and upbeat during most of the film, there are some darker undertones which help prevent this from being the one-dimentional "superficial" film that it initially appears to be. Set as the second world war begins, there are some understandably sombre moments when the older characters reflect on their experiences of WW1. Also, always at the back of the audience's mind is the fact Miss Pettigrew's role as "Social Secretary" is only a thin veneer over her poverty-stricken reality - a veneer which could crack at any moment and return her to the soup-kitchen queues.

The theatrical humour and the fantastical plot do, however combine to prevent the film from taking itself too seriously. It's a brilliant piece of escapism.

"Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day" really is a surprising and uplifting treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Day Worth Viewing, 23 Aug 2008
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Miss Pettigrew (Frances McDormand) is the governess of last resort. No, that doesn't mean she turns naughty children around. In fact, she doesn't seem to be able to keep a job. Fired from her last job, she literally has nothing. And her employment agency is tired of trying to find her jobs. After all, jobs are scarce in 1930's London. Desperate, Miss Pettigrew takes the address of a client, a Delysia Lafoose (Amy Adams).

When Miss Pettigrew arrives at the address, she finds Delysia in crisis. While saving the day, Miss Pettigrew learns that Delysia isn't looking for a governess but a social secretary because they are fashionable.

And Delysia definitely needs help sorting out her life. She's a singer who wants to become an actress. But she's having huge man problems. Specifically, there are three men in her life. There's Phil (Tom Payne), who she has slept with to gain the lead in the play he is producing. There's Nick (Mark Strong), who owns the nightclub where Delysia sings every night as well as the apartment where Delysia lives. Then there's Michael (Lee Pace), a piano player who has proposed to Delysia and has spent the last year in prison waiting for an answer.

Miss Pettigrew is definitely out of her element, but she seems to be helping Delysia juggle everything. Can she keep up and guide Delysia at the same time?

Yes, this movie is a predictable romantic comedy. But the ride is quite enjoyable. The first half is almost farcical in tone with many laugh out loud moments. The second half becomes more serious with fewer laughs but many very touching moments. But by that point you are so invested in everyone's lives you have to stay and see how it turns out.

The acting holds things together perfectly with the entire cast balancing the comedy and emotion. But I've got to praise the two leads. Frances McDormand's facial expressions provide some of the best laughs in the first half. And Amy Adams keeps Delysia from being a mindless fluffy character. Instead, we truly care about her from her very first scene.

While this is a mindless comedy, I think its appeal will skew slightly older. Even with the partial nudity and double meanings, this movie will appeal most to adults and less to the teen and early twenty crowd.

I found this romantic comedy fun and charming and think that any adult will feel the same way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Quirky Comedy With A Stiff Upper Lip, 16 Aug 2008
By 
Katrina-UK (Stockport, Cheshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've just seen this film at the cinema and I enjoyed it very much. I wouldn't say it was fantastic, but it certainly wasn't useless either - somewhere in the middle. If you have enjoyed films such as 'The Truth About Being Earnest', you'll love this. Full of romance, comedy, and drama. You'll be laughing one minute, and feel like crying the next.

Set in 1940's Britain fastly approaching war, it follows the story of Miss Pettigrew, a middle age governess who once again has unfairly been sacked from her job. Unemployed and penniless she decides there is no other option but to seize the day, and finds herself working as social secretary to an aspiring young actress known as Delysia Lafosse. Well outside her comfort zone Miss Pettigrew is catapulted into the glamorous and social world-wind of high society. Taking her role to heart, the film is all about Miss Pettigrew trying to help and navigate Delysia's love life and career, by having learned from her own experiences. What she doesn't realise though, is that Delysia is also helping her...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous fluff, 25 Mar 2009
This review is from: Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day [DVD] (DVD)
I'm very surprised by the reviews so far - I thought this film was wonderful.

Refreshing, sparkly and great to watch with girlfriends, mums and grandmas alike, this film was a pleasant surprise for three 30-somethings who popped into a cinema to escape the rain one afternoon.

I haven't read the book so I can't comment but if you would like to escape the modern world then this is an old-fashioned, sweet, beautifully shot little joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Charming, 2 Oct 2009
This review is from: Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day [DVD] (DVD)
I just finished watching Miss Pettigrew lives for a Day and I have to say I found it utterly charming. Frances McDormand who plays Miss Pettigrew is a brilliant actress and perfect for the part (I loved her in Fargo and in Burn After Reading). I thought the film was hillarious in places and sweet and moving as well and I think it's wonderful when an actress who doesn't fit with the normal Hollywood Barbie beauty look gets a great role. Amy Adams wasn't bad either - although all she had to do was look beautiful (which she is) and act like a bit of an idiot. I watched it on a rented DVD but it's definately on my christmas list now as I'd love to watch it again (every time I need a bit of cheering up). I haven't read the book (or even heard of it until now) but I'll certainly look out for that now too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charm, style and champagne fizz make this a vibrant film, 22 Sep 2009
By 
Peter M (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day [DVD] (DVD)
Very definitely set in the Phoney War period post September 1939, this is a 1920's style comedy that fizzes and pops on the screen, with a fast pace, good acting and great comedic timing. This style and this subject matter will not be to everyone's taste, maybe not even to the same person on a different day. But if you're in the mood to be entertained, this film does it in spades, with enough irony, seriousness of message and pathos in its quieter moments to merit being taken seriously. So, even if you are put off by the manic first twenty minutes after Miss Pettigrew and Delyssia Defosse meet, persevere, because it is very likely you'll be won over to its charms in the end. The leads are excellent, especially Frances McDormand and Amy Adams, and Oklahoma-born Lee Pace's soft Midlands accent had me fooled, absolutely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feel good factor, 13 April 2009
This review is from: Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day [DVD] (DVD)
Bought for Mothers day and she enjoyed it. Worth persevering with as this is a real feel good film. I found it a bit diffcult to settle to initially, the pace was quite fast and it seemed a little slapstick to start with; but once you get into it this is a lovely little film that leaves you with a good warm glow. The extra bits are worth watching; Winifred Watson was a canny business lady!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As simple heartwarming movie, 6 April 2009
By 
Jo Lee (Aliso Viejo, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day [DVD] (DVD)
This is a feel good movie about domestic servant in London whose forthright attitude leaves her without a job & on the street. Through a series of unexpected events she lands a job with a young spoilt American woman who really needs her services. Ms. Pettigrew then starts to live her life like never before. It's funny, touching & uplifting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real little gem., 14 Oct 2009
By 
A. Turner "Tatterdemalion" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day [DVD] (DVD)
A beautiful little film,well cast and with thoughtfully portrayed characterisations.
We will enjoy watching it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day [DVD]
Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day [DVD] by Bharat Nalluri (DVD - 2009)
£9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews