Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars And now for something a little different...
Having just finished watching this movie, and after almost having been put off purchasing it by previous negative reviews, I felt a little balance should be brought to 'Sunkissed'.

In many ways, this is an intruiging little film. It both looks and sounds gorgeous. Attractively shot, it is given a somewhat old-fashioned sense in part through the use of grainy...
Published on 9 Oct. 2009 by M. Bird

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful film
So sorry, but I cannot understand anyone who has rated this film highly. I am all for low budget independent gay films, but this really is atrocious! The acting, writing and directing are all appalling. The story is incoherent. I love all films but really struggled to watch this to the end. I did and it was a complete waste of my evening.

Don't be seduced by...
Published on 28 Jun. 2012 by Mr. L. Moreland


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful film, 28 Jun. 2012
By 
Mr. L. Moreland (Winnersh,Berks, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sun Kissed [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
So sorry, but I cannot understand anyone who has rated this film highly. I am all for low budget independent gay films, but this really is atrocious! The acting, writing and directing are all appalling. The story is incoherent. I love all films but really struggled to watch this to the end. I did and it was a complete waste of my evening.

Don't be seduced by the low cost and other positive reviews. It really is a bad film! Do yourself a favour and purchase another, better, low budget independent gay film such as 'Shelter', 'Plan B' or 'Presque Rien' all of which are far superior to this attempt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Truly dreadful! One of the worst films I've seen in years., 5 Aug. 2014
By 
txacoli (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sun Kissed [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
I'm sorry to be so negative, but the only nice thing I can say about "Sunkissed" is that it ends. In the extras on this DVD, the director says he likes making surreal movies and so if you still decide to buy it after reading this, fasten yourselves in because it's not going to be an easy ride.

For a start, the narrative was all over the place. We start with a writer, Teddy, wanting to be on his own to get his creative juices flowing and so his mentor, Crispin, tells him he can stay at his house in the desert. Enter Leo, another of the Crispin's friends, who lives nearby and has keys to the property and who agrees to collect Teddy and take him there. Within minutes, Teddy is falling for Leo. This is cue for some pretty poor acting on the part of John Ort, who finds it impossible to convey any true emotion without sounding like he's reading it directly from the script - such as it is - for the very first time and without his glasses on.

The film goes downhill from here, although for my money, it wasn't far up the hill in the first place. Scenes chop and change. Teddy has disappeared and no-one can find him. Then, straight after, Leo is married, living with his wife and with a copy of Teddy's published book beside them, leaving the viewer in no doubt that this is some time in the future. Then the film travels backwards, with Teddy & Leo indulging in a sexual relationship, then it's back to Leo's wife. We seem to be travelling back in time, but unlike the brilliant "Insomnia", which layered elements very carefully on top of one another when travelling backwards, this film just plonks random elements down and lets you get on with it. The main problem is, these random elements don't link together at all and it left this viewer and his husband completely baffled about what was happening.

We need to throw in to the mix the fact that this film was made on a shoestring and it shows. I don't mind experimental films and although the sound quality wasn't brilliant, I could at least hear everything that was said, which is different to some gay-themed films I've watched where the sound quality was incredibly poor. That said, there wasn't a massive amount of dialogue, propelling the film forwards. What there was were lots of songs/intrusive music and endless shots of Leo driving, the guys showering (no nudity, so don't get excited!), Teddy writing and, oh yes, Leo's visions. Leo has visions......but don't ask me what this was about as it was never answered at all in the film. There is a hint that he may be mentally unwell, but this is never followed up.

The only actor that came out of this with any reasonable amount of kudos is Greg Marcel (Leo). He's not brilliant, but compared to the other Woodentops on show, he stands out as someone to mention.....probably, mainly, because he has a nice body. Well, I had to try and say something nice!!

Apart from that, the film is a turkey. Avoid at all costs and if you don't, the ending will have you screaming for your money back and the one and a half hours time you've just wasted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars And now for something a little different..., 9 Oct. 2009
By 
M. Bird (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sun Kissed [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Having just finished watching this movie, and after almost having been put off purchasing it by previous negative reviews, I felt a little balance should be brought to 'Sunkissed'.

In many ways, this is an intruiging little film. It both looks and sounds gorgeous. Attractively shot, it is given a somewhat old-fashioned sense in part through the use of grainy film-stock - which may be off-putting to viewers used to crystal-clear digital. One might assume that the defects present on the film itself (an occasional hairline mark on the print) are due to budgetary constraints, but I found they if anything add to the ambience of the visuals, which drench both the beautiful landscape of the American desert, and the semi-naked forms of the male leads, in saturated light, with a likeably fuzzy quality to the picture. The sound is equally appealing - not just the fabulous dream-pop soundtrack by The Sea and Cake, but parts of the dialogue have a similar fuzzy quality to them.

What a shame then that the acting ranges from adequate to... well, frankly, not. The 'adequate' half of the leading men is at least offset by good looks, and a level of on-screen charisma. More upsettingly, the script does the film absolutely no favours. While the plot is as dreamy as the sound and pictures, meandering and anti-didactic, resolutely refusing easy resolution, playing with concepts of identity and fiction, the script itself is often clunky and unbelievable. Even so, this movie ought to be applauded for attempting to do something different - something often sorely lacking in cookie-cutter LGBT cinema. In short, 'Sunkissed' might not be the picture to revolutionize film-making, but it is an interesting gay movie, with admirably art-house aspirations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hard to know what the movie is about, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sun Kissed [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Hard to follow this movie. Acting not brilliant, no real story line that I could follow. Kept jumping around and didnt really see the point to the movie. Wouldnt buy it again - have tried watching it 2 or 3 times to see if I missed something but still don't get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Way over complicated but well meaning, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sun Kissed [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Admitedly bought for the 18 certificate and the promise of some strong gay sex. Whilst there was that it was also difficult to follow and way over plotted. But a good effort. And the leads are pretty. Not bad, just not great either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me., 28 Mar. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sun Kissed [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
I have spent the last half hour trying to think of something positive to say about this film, and alas there is nothing. The script was one of the worst I have encountered, which is somewhat ironic considering the story centers around a writer. In fact if his own writing was anything like the films, then his writers block is a thunderous blessing which all of us should be grateful for. The world could do without such talentless dribble being thrust upon an unknowing audience.

The acting was stoic and at times deplorable, as was the direction and editing. The tasteless and at time gratuitous display of flesh, was ill conceived and hedonistic. Far from being pornographic, which I expect has its purpose and function, this was nothing less than flagrant lustful ranting in pictured form. The director could have been more subtle, and indeed artful, and yet these two skills seemed to elude both him and the writer.

Having said that, there are times when the movie is indeed picturesque. Similarly there are moments in the script, where the writer has excelled. Unfortunately, these moments are brief and transient. Like a bite of good pie, it entices but never satisfies.

Give this one a skip, it is not worth the money spent on its purchase. In fact, I am overwhelmed by the thought that this is an hour and a half which could have been better spent watching something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not very exiting., 16 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sun Kissed [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Kind of boring. Not sure why this is rated 18+
Not very exiting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric, Diverse Storyline and Powerful, -I totally 'GOT IT' and love it., 3 Mar. 2011
By 
Mr. Gary Campbell (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sun Kissed [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
SunKissed unfortunately has been subject to some poor reviews and criticism. Questionably these could be drawn from hasty and unjust comparisons to `highly polished' productions to the likes of Brokebeck Mountain.
With SunKissed what you have is a heady mix of passion and fascination as conjured and dreamt from within the confines of Leo's troubled mind.
Admirably conveyed in SunKissed is the full spectrum and intensity of human emotion which is both powerful and moving in their portrayal.
Understand the movie for this intention folded within an atmospheric cine file quality and excellent music score by the indie group The Sea And Cake, and what you have is a cult movie that is uniquely crafted very enjoyable.
I've got to say that from the beginning I totally `got it' about this movie, love it and wish it duration of deserved success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sun Kissed [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
no comment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strange, interesting and beautiful, 29 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Sun Kissed [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
I'd heard that this film had mixed reviews, and so approached the film with an open mind.

Although some of the acting isn't the greatest, I still enjoyed the film as there were a few short scenes where this was a problem. The story is interesting, although a little confusing in places, and (intentionally) very confusing in others. There are elements of 'My Own Private Idaho' and 'Rosemary's Baby' in the way the film was shot, with hallucinations, dreams and nightmares, and lots of beautifully shot cine-film-style shots of the actors and scenery.

The soundtrack fits well, invoking a dreamy, summery, lazy, happy mood which contrasts with some of the dark and disturbing images. I disagree with one of the previous reviews of this film that the shots of naked flesh are gratuitous, they are done tastefully and fit well with the style of the film.

All the way through the film the viewer is uncertain of who characters really are, what is really going on, and this continues right to the closing credits. I was left with an uncertain feeling of what I had just watched and what had happened, but I knew I had enjoyed it a great deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sun Kissed [2006] [DVD]
Sun Kissed [2006] [DVD] by Patrick McGuinn (DVD - 2009)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews