Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars239
3.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£6.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I understand what Tarantino tried to do with this film (all the homage stuff etc) but he probably failed to realise that very few people care about those old films, or stunt-people for that matter, and doesn't know that what we really want and expect from this writer/director is a film that we want to see again and again and is unlike anything we've seen before. Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction are films I can see 50 times and never grow tired of them, while Jackie Brown remains his best film to date thanks largely to some brilliant characterisation; Death Proof however I may not bother with again because it's message is so simple, it's utterly devoid of characters you could care about, and even the car chases are unfortunately not as brilliant as Tarantino hoped. This film is surely much, much too long, and let's not forget it was originally meant to be just ONE HALF of a set piece of which Robert Rodriguez' 'Planet Terror' was the second half (a disastrous bastardisation of the Dusk til Dawn concept). Then when everyone started telling QT how boring and meaningless all this Grindhouse stuff is, he dumped the Rodriquez second half and added about half-an-hour of very mundane material from Death Proof that until then had (very sensibly) been lying on the cutting room floor. The script, if you could call it that, is ultimately wasted once you understand what the main point of this film is. It's a pure indulgence on his part and if anything I fear that we may have seen the best of him. That would be a pity, because clearly he once had supreme talent. I suppose if you watched this film and didn't know that he wrote or directed it, you would still guess that he did (apart from the fact that he appears in it of course) because it still has that 'something' to its style that is, if only just, Tarantino flavoured, but the bottom line is that the high points of this film are the car chases and I doubt that the main one would make any car-chase-lovers' Top 10 once the dust has settled and this film has been forgotten about. Technically it was good, but IMHO the pursuit lacked the tension, drama or class of such memorabilia as Bullitt, Ronin or - most importantly - Vanishing Point. In the end it was just plain daft, and a waste of a good idea.

By the way, if you haven't seen it and you just want to know what it's about, I can explain in very few words: It's about an aging stuntman turned serial killer who uses his 'death proof' car as the murder weapon. As for the reason he does that, well, that's never explained. Kurt Russell took the part after several others turned it down, including Mickey Rourke who I would suggest would have been rather better suited to the role.

One star for entertainment + one star for the sound of a 1970s Dodge Challenger + one star for Mary Elizabeth Winstead (as 'Lee') dressed as a cheerleader. Total three stars (i.e. it's okay)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Quentin Tarantino’s half of the faux-exploitation Grindhouse pairing, is quintessential Tarantino – this time it’s Kurt Russell who is chosen as the largely-forgotten movie star reinvigorated by the mercurial director; Russell’s creepy ‘Stuntman Mike’ cruises around in his specially re-enforced Dodge Charger looking for unsuspecting ladies to charm, whilst a gaggle of feisty females swap spunky one-liners in true QT style. When the two strands connect there are fireworks aplenty, as well as numerous nods to the music and films held dear by Tarantino, and the now-obligatory cameo from the director himself.
The movie has two halves featuring two groups of garrulous girls – these are connected by Russell’s increasingly unhinged loner, but otherwise are distinct sides of the same coin, with two strong women and a third less-confident one, who is teased and manipulated by her friends, before an encounter with Stuntman Mike changes leads to violence and death. Rosario Dawson stands out as the sassy Abernathy, while Russell is perfectly cast as the charming but deadly ‘is he or isn’t he ‘stunt driver; the remainder of the cast are fairly forgettable, but the thrills and spills are pure adrenaline, and the dialogue as snappy as ever. If you’re a Tarantino fan you’ll love it; if not – it’s still a thoroughly entertaining and stylish 90 minutes.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
I read recently that Quentin Tarantino slated Death Proof as the worst movie he ever made which is also a sentiment shared by many audiences, I for the life of me do not understand that and really enjoyed it. I am a fan of Tarantino, I was a huge fan when I was younger and loved Reservoir Dogs, Pulp Fiction (which has been overkilled), Jackie Brown was ok, Kill Bill 1&2 has and will age the best while still maintaining Tarantinos positive hallmarks and inglorious Basterds for me would be his best if it weren't for the soundtrack, Death Proof for me has the most 're-watchability'

Death Proof has all the nuances of a 70's exploitation film, it only has 3 real scenes of an exploitation film but the retro 70's look and feel is there but it's set in modern day with some references and phones being the only give away. I think this film didn't do better because is because apart from the group dialogue it doesn't feel very 'Tarantino' but that shouldn't put any movie fans off, also I think his audience was put off because his films are usually very male centric (kill Bill and Jackie Brown are kind of exceptions, but not really) all the main characters in this apart from antagonist Kurt Russell playing 'stuntman Mike' are women. I'll say that film fans should get this and Tarantino should have a think about it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 22 June 2012
As a Tarantino fan, this is another must have for my collection. A true fan should have both this and Planet Terror as seperate releases, as well as the Grindhouse edition. The latter is basically a director's cut of both movies combined. Deathproof as a standalone flick has more drawn out dialogue that will probably irritate the illiterate, but it is still classic Tarantino. The Dolby True HD soundtrack especially is kick ass. Cheers, enjoy the ride!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 March 2011
A temptation some critics have with great director is to build them up only to tear them down. They often have a point as you don't want a director to get too big an ego and Tarantino does have his failings (e.g. the climactic scene in Kill Bill 2).
However, once a director has been knocked off his pedestal, critics then inevitably see everything else he does through a lens of failure.

This film, although not as vivid and brilliant as Pulp Fiction or Jackie Brown is still a good film with enough decent dialogue and plot to make for very entertaining viewing. And as a homage to road movies such as Vanishing Point and Bullitt it succeeds in having both good car chase sequences AND a good plot to go with it.

So, if you're dreading that this film is going to a lemon and think that it should be overlooked, then do remember that Tarantino is still a first class director and is much more worthy of your time than the works of 90% of the other movies out there.
Maybe directors do lose their edge with time, but a bad album from Abba is still better than a good album from Bucks Fizz...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 April 2008
Tarantino's homage to B movie exploitation films just about works. Mainly I think this is down to the teriffic car chases and a superb performance by Kurt Russell as Stuntman Mike.

However in many other areas this was a disappointment. I found some of the dialogue between the women unrealistic and Tarantino has used some if it before (i.e. discussions about foot massages). Yes it was quite violent in places. Noteably, the first female victim and first car crash. The grainy/fake film look worked quite well, but I never really cared about any of the characters in the film.

For a film with a very insubstantial plot this was also too long. To justify its current length (110mins) some of Tarantino's trademark dialog could have been cut or replaced with more exploitation! Most genre films of that type were short (e.g. Texas Chainsaw Massacre was under 90mins).

Tarantino is a talented director and filmmaker who has a proven record in successfully reinventing old genres. In this case he hasn't quite succeeded. Its certainly worth seeing, but I'd rent first rather than buy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
This is such a boring movie, and lame to boot.
I know its supposed to be a homage to old grindhouse exploitation films with all the crackles lines blotches missing reels etc, but all this film does is make you realise just how much better the old films were in comparison to this.
To save you the trouble of watching this feeble effort I'll sum it up.
There's a good crash half way through.
There's a so-so car chase at the end and a bit of fisticuffs.
Two of the women in it (Winstead and Ferlito) are very comely.
There is about an hour of inane nonsensical dialogue which will really test your patience.
There is no plot to speak of or explanation/back story.
Kurt Russell is in it which is obviously a drawback.
There are some very annoying sweary characters in the final chase but unfortunately they don't die in a fireball like they would have done if I'd shot the film.
All in all a very irritating film with about five minutes of decent action and a pretty good soundtrack.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 24 April 2010
I have to say I'm a big Tarantino fan, and even though the `Kill Bill' films were not up to par, they did somewhat capture the essence of the Asian revenge genre and were pretty enjoyable. I was really looking forward to `Death Proof', and even though it bombed in the U.S, I still had high hopes for Tarantino's tribute to the Grindhouse genre of horror, but I have to say this is an absolute stinker of a film and easily the worst I've seen in a long time.
The basic plot of the film revolves around a serial killer named Stuntman Mike, who builds a death proof car in which he can initiate fatal car crashes and escape with only minor injuries. The trouble is that the killer within the story hardly features at all, and instead the film focuses the two groups of women who will become his victims, this could have been good except there is no real pay off. Kurt Russell as Stuntman Mike could have been a great character though he's criminally under used, you never learn anything about his character, and in reality has only three brief scenes in the whole film.
The dialogue, which is usually superb in a Tarantino film, is just plain awful, uninspired, unengaging and nothing more than meaningless waffle. In reality the entire format of the film is 30 minutes of dull pointless dialogue, 3 minutes of action which include two 3 second gore scenes, 45 minutes of even more dull pointless dialogue, a 5 minute car chase and a really feeble ending.
The truth is that `Death Proof' is so awful even the most dedicated of Tarantino fans will find it an enormous let down. If you want to see a decent modern film which pays tribute to the 70's Grindhouse genre then rent the superb `House of 1000 Corpses', the 2003 remake of `The Texas Chainsaw Massacre', or `Wrong Turn'.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 28 September 2014
I don understand why this film has quite a few negative reviews, this personally is one of my favourite films. Pretty much, everyone who loves Quentin Tarantino in theory should love this film. And also intense car driving scene lovers. This film also contains some excellent screen directory, shots that look amazing, which Quentin is brilliant at.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2015
I love this film. I heard it was terrible and that Tarantino ranks it as his worst, but I don't know why. I've seen it three times now and I'm sure I'll watch it again at some point.

I don't know how to describe it. It reminds me most of Thelma and Louise! It's a little difficult to describe it without giving away important plot points.

If you love Tarantino films, I don't know why you wouldn't like this. If you find yourself 20 mins in and thinking, what the hell is happening?? just keep going, though it may be if you're not sucked into it and ask this question you won't like the rest. I was transfixed for the whole thing.

What's it about? It's about girlfriends having a good time who are stalked by a lunatic stuntman who specialises in car stunts. That's all I can say.

I doubt you will have seen anything like it! Perhaps if you loved Thelma and Louise you will love this also, though being a Tarantino fan will help.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Reservoir Dogs
Reservoir Dogs by Harvey Keitel (Blu-ray - 2009)

Django Unchained (Blu-ray) [2013]
Django Unchained (Blu-ray) [2013] by Jamie Foxx (Blu-ray - 2013)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.