Customer Reviews


196 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (51)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film with some jaw dropping stunts.
Kurt Russell is Stuntman Mike, a guy with an eye for the ladies and a penchant for vehicular homicide. In fact, there's nothing that Stuntman Mike enjoys more than using his 'deathproof' car to wreak a little havoc and take a few lives.

The girls are sexy, the music is great and the stunts are fantastic.

About 45 minutes in everything ramps up for...
Published 21 months ago by Mark G.

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Death Proof - Not quite the thrill ride promised
Other reviewers have dealt with the fact that this film was originally released as a double feature with Robert Rodriguez's Planet Terror under the title Grindhouse, so I wont go into that again here.

This part of the feature is Quentin Tarantino's homage to the Grindhouse genre of cinema, those cheap, gory films that infested the flea pits of the seventies and...
Published on 9 Mar 2012 by Victor


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dont buy the UK version it is CUTTTTTTTT!!!!, 2 Mar 2008
By 
Firstly let me point out before I get into this, do not buy the UK versions of the Grindhouse double features, due to varied laws they will be cut to ribbons, my advice is buy a region free DVD player and buy the REgion 1 versions! They will be the extended versions (example: check out the running times of the UK extended cut of Ghost Rider to the UK extended cut of the same film and note the minutes are somewhat more in the US version!) Death Proof is a great film I enjoyed everything about it from the sassy dialogue to the "well worth it" build of of the semi climax right up until the ultra speed climax! Fan of Quintin or not this movie is smartly written and sinister in all the right places, as terrifying as such a movie can be involving a psycho and his weapon...his car! If you are expecting a blood soaked every minute thing you wont find it and if you love The Fast and the Furious you will likely love the 19 min chase scene and hate the rest...a typical flash dumb ass car movie this is not, pure grinhouse this is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death Proof, 5 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. J. Fraser (Kelso, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Death Proof is a criminally under rated movie. People have accused it of being boring but I disagree. Although most of it is people just hanging out in a bar, the characters and dialogue are fun and interesting (fans of Kurt Russell should love this movie), the dusty Austin setting is perfect and every scene is filled with the kind of detail that makes repeat viewings rewarding. The two main story arcs are capped off with some great car action. Kurts car for the first part of the film surely ranks as one of the coolest in film history. Both Planet Terror and Death Proof are excellent movies and make for a terrific double bill. As they're both now available at low prices you should buy both but if you buy only one of them i'd reccommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Death Proof, 17 Feb 2009
I really enjoyed watching this film, but can understand why some people wouldn't like it.
I thought that it was really clever and liked the way the film goes from looking very much like an old school film, set in the 60s-70s to modern times. In the first half of the film one may be inclined to think that it is meant to be set in 60's/70s America- through the setting, the music, the clothing etc. There are small signs cleverly inserted in the film that cause one to question this- the mention of CGI, the use of a nokia moblie phone, the use of an ipod- small things that some people possibly would not clock on to. Halfway through the film though, the deception of the first part is evident. It starts off in black and white then makes the transition to bright colour, blatently set in the noughties, as one can instantly tell from the magazines, the girls- pretty much everything. I thought that this was really clever.
I also liked the dialogue, typically tarantino.
Overall for me this fim was excellent, I had heard bad things about it and didnt really want to bother watching it, but im glad my boyfriend made me, as I loved it and would definately be watching it again! It may not be to everyones taste, and I can see why, but I reccomend giving it a try- you never know you might like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MARMITE!!!!, 28 Jun 2008
By 
sam's town (london,england) - See all my reviews
You'll either love or hate this film.i'm in the former category.like most,i absolutely adore everything else tarantino has either written or written/directed(i can let him off the last ten minutes of kill bill vol.2!!!)and i would put this somewhere near jackie brown,which i love.the thing is i've recommended this to so many people and not many people agreed how cool it is,hence the marmite comparison...don't take too seriously and watch if only for some of the performances,more so in the second half.the grindhouse cut,although better,is like half hour shorter.although there's more dialogue in THIS version and the pace is obviously slowed because of it,the film doesn't suffer too much.thirty minutes of extra tarantino dialogue can't be a bad thing when it's this well written,this is two hours spent with gals who'd be cool to hang round with...by the way,as much as i enjoyed planet terror,this film will be talked about in years to come and stand the test of time.my niece and girlfriend both loved it so don't be afraid to watch with the girls cos come the finale they'll be cheering(maybe not literally but you'll know what i mean)!!!there's a lot of other stuff going on in this film.if you basically think of it as tarantino's interpretation of a slasher movie,which as i recall is how it was written,then you'll get my drift.anyway,remember not to take too seriously and enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars purposely bad, 29 Mar 2008
By 
simon gurney (london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
the main defense for this movie seems to be that Tarrantino made it bad on purpose or as a joke to ape bad movies of the 70s, but that does not change the fact it is bad. the dialogue is mind numbing, and its painful to even survive the movie to the car crashes, the only single thing of note. Tarrantino is still trading on his good will from the pulp fiction era, this could have been great if most of the movie containing moronic dialogue by wooden actors was binned, nice cars, gory crashes, bad direction and acting pretty much sums it up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Regarding the fake trailers.., 24 Mar 2008
As most of you will know, the original grindhouse concept was to have Death Proof and Planet Terror (the two films are connected), shown back to back in cinemas with fake trailers sandwiched in the middle.

Allegedly many U.S audiences didn't get that there were two movies and left after the first one(duh!).. so the movies were divided in two to make it easier for them

You'll (probably!) be pleased to know that the best trailer 'Machete' is still included at the start of the Planet Terror DVD. The other three trailers though ('Werewolf Women of the SS', 'Don't' and 'Thanksgiving') which came after PT and before DP at cinemas are not included on this Death Proof DVD

If you're holding out on a release with the trailers.. a Japanese boxset (region 2) was released a few days ago including a disc with the full back to back theatrical release with trailers, but you'll be paying a lot extra mostly just for 3 trailers which can be viewed easily on the internet anyway in a more appropriate low res format

It'll likely take ages before this kind of release happens here so if you're hanging on, my suggestion is to buy the PT and DP DVD's currently available

My 4 stars is for the concept as a whole which I think is brilliant, although Death Proof is the weaker of the two imo. For film fans though, getting these at a decent price is a no brainer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and Miss Tribute to Grindhouse Cinema, 20 Jan 2008
By 
R. Mullaney (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
A psychotic stuntman (Kurt Russell) gets his kicks terrorising young women in his death proof car but eventually he targets a group of girls who drive as well as he does.

The plot is simple in the eagerly awaited Tarantino tribute to the low budget, violent 'grindhouse' movies of the 70's which played in seedy cinemas before film censorship was an issue. Originally the plan was to release Death Proof as part of a double bill with Robert Rodriguez's Planet Terror complete with an interlude of grindhouse trailers for movies that don't actually exist courtesy of guest directors such as Rob Zombie and Eli Roth. The grindhouse project had me salivating like a true movie geek when I heard about it but when the double bill failed at the US box office, the distributors split the films and released them separately in Europe and the UK. I don't know if this was a good or bad idea because undoubtedly the whole concept was ruined but Death Proof is an overlong and dare I say it slightly tedious movie that would have made a double bill difficult to sit through. Tarantino lovingly creates the style of the old movies with scratched film and missing frames and of course delivers a great soundtrack as always. I never thought I would criticize a Quentin Tarantino screenplay but the dialogue in this film is very unnatural in parts and feels like a failed attempt to imitate the cool of Pulp Fiction. The second act is boring and overlong as we are introduced to the second group of girls and subjected to much boring chitter chatter between them. Kurt Russell turns in a good performance as the nut who gets into near fatal accidents for fun and there are some great action moments in the chase scenes. Tarantino makes his usual bit part cameo as a bar tender but unfortunately he still can't act all that well. Overall, the film is worth a watch but I suspect Planet Terror will be better after watching trailers and eventually there will be a double bill edition dvd no doubt so I think i'll wait for that.

Like this? Try: Planet Terror
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was PERFECT, It was the best thing I could find and it fulfilled my needs at the time... Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good., 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a huge fan of Quinton Tarantino and own all of his stuff, this isn't one of his best movies but it is definitely worthy of the collection. It's a typical brutal Tarantino film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Death Proof, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Proof [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
boring waste of my money, thought it would have lots of action but mostly the film was shot with a bar with talking. good car chase at the end but nothing special if you really want to see this movie I would look it up on YouTube
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae28d8e8)

This product

Death Proof [Blu-ray]
Death Proof [Blu-ray] by Quentin Tarantino (Blu-ray - 2009)
6.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews