Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not one for the purists, but a good general introduction to the band
There are obviously many 'protest' reviews here for this album and, to be honest, I agree with the sentiment. Radiohead are a band which are best savoured album by album, but that's not to say that a very good 'best of' album could be - and has been - easily compiled for those looking for an entry level Radiohead album or simply wanting the 'big' tracks...
Published on 19 May 2008 by Andy Sweeney

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good songs - needs a few more listens to see ...
Bought this because I didn't know the band. Some good songs - needs a few more listens to see if they grow on me.
Published 6 months ago by Rob Clifford


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not one for the purists, but a good general introduction to the band, 19 May 2008
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best Of Radiohead (Audio CD)
There are obviously many 'protest' reviews here for this album and, to be honest, I agree with the sentiment. Radiohead are a band which are best savoured album by album, but that's not to say that a very good 'best of' album could be - and has been - easily compiled for those looking for an entry level Radiohead album or simply wanting the 'big' tracks.

Personally, I'd recommend 'The Bends' and 'OK Computer' to start off your Radiohead collection, they're two sensational, essential albums which will probably lead to you buying further Radiohead releases but, failing that, at least get the 2 CD version of 'The Best Of' Radiohead as the second disc may satisfy a casual fan and may actually be all a casual fan would ever need whereas this one disc version will merely whet the appetite.

Giving this album "one star" as a protest really demeans the music, which is sensational. Really, virtually every track on this compilation is a classic slice of artistic rock genius. So, although the concept may be upsetting the existing fans, any album which could introduce Radiohead to a whole new generation of potential Radiohead admirers has to have some value - and it does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review the album, 29 Jun. 2008
By 
G. Dunford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of Radiohead (Audio CD)
Isn't this facility for reviewing albums? People seem to be getting caught up in the politics and forgetting the point. This album contains, in my opinion, some of the best songs of the last couple of decades. I don't agree that it's disjointed or that it's essential to listen to individual Radiohead albums in their entirety. These people must be so disappointed when they go to see the band play live and have to sit through a set full of songs taken from different albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insight and impoverishment, 5 Dec. 2011
By 
Magic Lemur (Somewhere in Madagascar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
A lot of people take real offence to the idea of a 'best of'. They see it as selling out, giving-the-plebs-what-they-want, etc. Personally, I'm not bothered either way as most bands are in the business of making money these days & Radiohead are no exception (given their tendency to label every album after OK Computer as 'OK Computer 2' in NME interviews...)

If what you're after is the 'Best of Radiohead' then the first CD of this double album does the business.

Slightly biased in favour of The Bends, it feels like it breaks free of the ethos surrounding everything since 'OK Computer' via its selection of the more textured tracks off of all the albums. Who'd have thought Just flowed so well into Paranoid Android? Furthermore, who'd have thought the rich darkness of 'Street Spirit (Fade Out)' would work so well with Pyramid Song, 'The Bends' and 'Everything in its Right Place'?

If there's one thing to be said about 'Best of's it's that they can play games with a bands back catalogue and blend them in interesting new ways. True - this could be done better by something like the Beatles Love - but in the first CD of this album, I felt that something different was achieved with old things.

However, move to the second CD and you'll experience a similar effect to switching from a Great novel to its stodgy appendix. CD 2 is dreary and filled with all the bland, second rate stuff Radiohead have done.

Admittedly there are exceptions, such as Planet Telex, although where CD one's ethos made the songs better, CD 2's makes them all the worse.

It reminded me of the Red Dwarf* episode 'Demons & Angels', where one clone of Red Dwarf was made Heavenly, and the other Hellish. So it is true of this CD that, although the songs are merit-worthy in their place, the bland ones seem to have landed on CD2 and the great ones on CD 1!

So, if you want a new experience of Radiohead, I suggest buying CD 1 and seeing the tracks from a new & enlightening perspective. And if you've never heard Radiohead before, then I suggest skipping CD 2 and getting a copy of 'The Bends' and 'OK Computer'. By experiencing their finest works and rogueing the bad you will see them for how they really are, and not as some blinkered fans do...

* - Red Dwarf is a popular British Comedy Sci-Fi series. Kinda like Galaxy Quest, but as a TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Radiohead are not failed through this humble and well selected best of, 7 May 2011
This review is from: The Best Of Radiohead (Audio CD)
Initially I was really surprised to see that there was a best of Radiohead cd, and I think I was also a bit surprised that the artwork seemed so simple and that it was only 1 cd.

With a bit of time, I've become delighted that its out there to buy. I'm delighted that it is 1 cd, and I think the artwork is fine. One of the great things about radiohead is that they don't overvalue themselves and what they do. They were a band capable of deciding that their previous artistic direction was 'wrong', and tackling difficult paths to very new artistic territory. There were excellent individuals involved very closely with the band such as Nigel Godrich. I believe that radiohead's changes of artistic direction during their contract with Parlophone were not only correct but also made them extremely likeable intelligent people.

Whilst sentimentalists will prattle on about whether a best of is possible, the rationalists will eventually win them over, and a best of is possible. Its not just possible, its also a good thing because some people like the band enough to have a best of, but not to own albums. I'm a real fan who has and knows the albums very well, but others may dislike radiohead for quite valid reasons. Some of the lyrics on some songs although perhaps interesting and complex, are far from comforting and seem quite nasty, usually in a creative rather than brat-ish way of course.

So, did they select the right songs?
Well, I'm impressed with what they chose from the first 2 albums. However, I think that the weakest song on the best of is 'Lucky', although Yorke sings it extremely well, I think its probably the weakest song on Ok computer. The other Ok C. songs are excellent choices. I don't really think Everything IIRP is essential, but it is unique and good as a final track, so actually I think that is a fine choice, and Idioteque has to be on there. The correct 2 songs were chosen from Hail to the thief. So I think the only problem is Lucky, which has a great name but isn't the greatest song. Instead of lucky, I suppose there should have been another song from Amnesiac.

Do you need to know about the songs which aren't on the best of? If yes, which songs?
1) Well they composed songs which were played with some excellent musicians and created unforgettable musical experiences. I suppose it doesn't make sense to include those songs on a best of because there are additional perfromers as well as radiohead, I understand why these were not included. Their key collaborations are 'Life in a Glasshouse', 'The national anthem' and 'How to disappear completely'.
2) The albums are very satisfying as albums, and the tracks fit together well. Radiohead's songs are extremely well written. Also, you will get the whole lot in context with an album, including incredible artwork, so I highly recommend albums 2, 3 and 4 as brilliant albums which will not fail to satisfy. Albums 5 and 6 are excellent with some essential songs but they don't seem to be such incredible achievements, and don't seem to have been finished with quite the same level of perfection as 2, 3 and 4.

So, I think everyone including the band can rest and be thankful regarding this best of. A lesser band would create a 2Cd best of and have songs which were trashy attempts at hits on it, they would come across as hungry and nasty, and delusional regarding their own talent, song quality and success. Radiohead have not failed through this best of, which is humble and contains well selected key moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A review of the album, not a critique of the record industry, 23 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Best Of Radiohead (Audio CD)
This is an excellent collection of songs, that suffers from the same lack of cohesion that other "Best Of" albums suffer from. Most of the best Radiohead songs are included here, but there will always be fans who lament the omission of certain songs (I'd like to have seen "How to Disappear Completely", for example).

This album offers nothing for fans who own the original albums, but it is a good introduction for people who are interested in the band. I would recommend getting OK Computer, or The Bends instead of this album, simply because they flow better. In my opinion, The Bends is more accessible, but OK Computer is slightly better. Nevertheless, as a collection of songs to dip in and out of (e.g. on playlists/shuffle) then this is hard to fault.

Whether it was right or wrong to release the album is another matter completely. However, it doesn't debase the quality of the music, and the same record company will get your money if you buy the original albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every track brilliant, 13 July 2008
By 
pam (Derbyshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Of Radiohead (Audio CD)
Sorry but I have to say there are a lot of elitist Radiohead 'fans' who seem to think they own the band and less knowledgeable need to be kept out. Well apart from their parents all fans started somewhere along the releases and these fantastic tracks will spawn another generation of fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not "the best" of Radiohead but still pretty good., 28 Jun. 2008
By 
M. J. Barber "matt_b2" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of Radiohead (Audio CD)
Record company squabbles aside, there are a couple of problems with this album. Firstly, it's heavily skewed towards a particular period in the career of the band, now over a decade past, skimming thinly over the bulk of their career in the process. Secondly, it's not a representative selection of the songs that you'd be likely to hear at a concert, and you'd think that most bands would tend to play the songs they regard as best.

That said, if you're the sort of person who really liked the band in the mid to late 90s, and has little more than a passing interest in their more experimental albums of the present decade, then this might well be the CD you're looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good album - maybe not for some people though, 13 April 2010
This review is from: The Best Of Radiohead (Audio CD)
In my opinion, this compilation album is a great collection of Radiohead's best tracks. I certainly like every song on this album and I can listen to it over and over again on my iPod.

However, this album may not be for all people. For example, some would say that you should get one of Radiohead's actual albums eg. the bends, OK computer, hail to the thief etc etc instead of going for a compilation album where the songs are kind of jumbled up. Some may also say it's better to start listening to Radiohead's music with albums such as OK computer.

In my opinion however, it's still a really good album with all of Radiohead's best songs on it. Well, maybe not all Radiohead's best songs but there certainly is a good few on there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good Radiohead entry point (or playlist suggestion), 20 Dec. 2009
This review is from: The Best Of Radiohead (Audio CD)
This is about as good a Radiohead 'Best of...' as you could hope for.

Sure, it's true that one of the great joys of Radiohead is the way their music has developed over the last two decades, and that you can't get all that onto a single compilation album. You wouldn't *want* to. A good 'Best of...' should provide a way into a band, pull together a collection of their most enjoyable work, give a sense of their range and - importantly - leave enough great stuff *unincluded* that exploring further is still rewarding and worth the money.

This disc does all that and, for the price it is here (about a fiver at the minute), it's an ideal purchase for anyone with even a passing interest in the band.

Impressively, the collection does manage to convey a sense of the band's development, too. Spending almost half the disc on the first three albums before introducing the post-Kid A material via a track from the later, more accessible Hail to the Thief works very well, as do the subsequent arresting oscillations between early guitar-band stuff and late electronica (the step from Fake Plastic Trees to Idioteque jumped out at me). Kicking the whole collection off with Just - with its thrilling chorus that will feel instantly familiar to anyone who's enjoyed the output of Muse et al in the last few years - and winding up with the chilled, precise Kraftwerk-esque Everything in its Right place pretty accurately suggests the gist of the band's overall trajectory - in as much as any two songs could do so.

There's not a weak track on here (of course), and if it succeeds in whetting the appetite, there's plenty left throughout Radiohead's output to reward investigating every album in its own right (though you might argue about Pablo Honey). And, of course, In Rainbows doesn't feature here at all.

Finally, from the perspective of being a long-term fan, a simple question: 'If I stuck all my Radiohead music on shuffle and just happened to get the 16 tracks from this collection, would I feel I'd been lucky?' Yes. Yes, I certainly would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent stuff!, 2 Oct. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Radiohead (Audio CD)
Wasn't a fan for 10 years or so but bought this cd and is a great intro for anyone who is a bit dubious about them.
Yes they are quite slow and depressing but listen alone and chill out!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of [Explicit]
Buy MP3 Album£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews