Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best live album EC has done to date
This album is so good. It shows Ec playing some stupendous blues, ripping through some Cream tracks, has the better tracks of his output at that time and some excellent playing alongside an orchestra. I've rarely heard EC play the guitar as well as on this album, it is breathtaking at times. One of my favourites of his live work.

Feel free to check out my...
Published on 9 July 2006 by Spider Monkey

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry, I drifted off...
I think Eric Clapton is great and I regularly defend him when others label him as boring. But some of his releases make him very hard to defend. This live album is one such release. It just goes on and on and on without ever taking off. It's very hard going and when the orchestra comes in the indulgence just gets too much. Whatever about the first disc, staying awake...
Published 23 months ago by Twenty Benson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best live album EC has done to date, 9 July 2006
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This album is so good. It shows Ec playing some stupendous blues, ripping through some Cream tracks, has the better tracks of his output at that time and some excellent playing alongside an orchestra. I've rarely heard EC play the guitar as well as on this album, it is breathtaking at times. One of my favourites of his live work.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most beautifull collection of classical Clapton!, 16 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
I have collected Clapton LP's and CD's for a long time. This is one of the pearls! My favorites is Wonderful Tonight - 9 minutes of great feelings- and Old Love - 13 minutes in heaven!! Have You Ever Loved A Women and Edge of Darkness are also in the better end of Clapton live productions. Listening to the two excellent discs is almost like being in The Royal Albert Hall yourself. Buy it - it will complete any Clapton collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars musical genius, once in a lifetime, 18 April 2005
Well....for me, Eric peaked from 1991-1993 with the recording of this album, the unplugged album and from the cradle.
The 24 nights album features eric at his most melodious. (The first cd is a little non-descript however).
but the second cd....thats where he lights up.
The singing is obviously in eric's inimitable trademark style but the guitar work, oh, it is a dream!
The tone is stratospherically smooth and sweet yet punchy and vivid. The melodies are superb- what it would have been to actually be eric and be in the moment of playing these songs. wow!
Eric's recent robert johnson recordings are all very well and good but going up and down a few blues pentatonic scale isn't particularly emotive. With the 24 nights album i cannot help but place my ears close to the speakers and listen desperately for all the subtle nuances in erics playing.....
anyway. suffice it to say - this is top quality music. listen. enjoy. yearn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "24 Nights - The Limited Edition" Boxed Set, 19 Feb. 2004
"24 Nights - The Limited Edition" boxed set, is a unique collaboration between Eric Clapton, Peter Blake, Derek Taylor and Genesis Publications commemorating Eric Clapton's record 24-night performance at the Royal Albert Hall in 1991. Peter Blake's scrapbook is a collection of pencil sketches, charcoal drawings and montages showing Eric and the band during rehearsals and performances. Blake was the Associate Artist of the National Gallery and is probably best known for his graphic cover of The Beatles' 'Sergeant Pepper' album cover. A vast selection of original memorabilia from the concert tour including back stage passes, hotel room lists, polaroid photographs, seating plans, set lists, laminates and sheet music are reproduced in the scrapbook, many of them tipp-ins pasted in by hand. The scrapbook is accompanied by a commentary book by Derek Taylor. Taylor attended rehearsals in Dublin, performances at the Royal Albert Hall and the after-show party. His account provides a unique insight into the backstage and on-the-road world of Eric Clapton and his band. A former publicist for Apple Corps (as well as the Mamas and Papas,The Beach Boys and The Byrds), Taylor was one of the most influential music industry professionals of the time. His commentary offers the reader a rare opportunity to experience an insider's perspective on the man who is universally recognised as the world's greatest blues guitarist. 24 Nights also includes a 2 CD set of live recordings from these performances featuring additional tracks not available anywhere else: "Layla (Orchestra Intro)", "No Alibis" and "I Shot The Sheriff" . Additional facsimile memorabilia including Eric's guitar picks, a backstage laminate pass, button badge and guitar string complete the set. 134 page (300mm x 210mm) scrapbook quarter-bound in bonded leather featuring sketches by Peter Blake and rare unseen photographs. All copies are personally autographed by Eric Clapton and Peter Blake. All items are produced to the highest standard and presented in a superbly-designed solandar box limited to 3,500 copies. Many of the memorabilia are pasted by hand. A 64 page (210mm x 148mm) second-volume of commentary by Derek Taylor looking at Eric and the band in rehearsals, at the shows and at the after-show party. Individual items of facsimile memorabilia including Eric's guitar picks, back-stage laminate, button badge and guitar string. THIS IS NOW OUT-OF-PRINT, SO IF YOU SPOT ONE FOR A GOOD PRICE SNATCH IT UP!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Eric claims squatters' rights at the R A H!, 30 Mar. 2013
24 Nights at the Royal Albert Hall was Eric's ultimate residency - having followed a 'mere' 18 nights the year before. This album combines the best of both runs (with no overdubs or fixes) and might have have been called, more accurately, 42 Nights on that basis! Having four different line-ups: a 4 Piece band; Blues band (including Albert Collins, Buddy Guy, Robert Cray and Jimmy Vaughan on guitars, Jerry Portnoy on blues harp and Johnnie Johnson on piano); 9 Piece Band; and band with full Orchestra, presented Clapton with ample opportunity to explore new interpretations.

Presentationally the vinyl version betters the CD with each side featuring a different evening:

Side 1 : 4 Piece band. An emphasis on Cream, with added keyboards - "Badge", "White Room" and "Sunshine Of Your Love" - along with "Running On Faith", a ballad from Eric's, then, latest studio release - Journeyman. Eric tackles the instrumental bridge in "Badge" in particularly subtle style - less rocky than usual. "Sunshine ..." has an extended instrumental ending which might come as a surprise. His performance on "Running On Faith" (a fairly unassuming song) is exceptional.

Side 2 : Blues band. Two very familiar numbers - "Have You Ever Loved A Woman" and "Worried Life Blues" and two less so - "Watch Yourself" and "Hoodoo Man". There was obvious respect between the players, who left plenty of space for each other.

Side 3 : 9 Piece band. Three more numbers from Journeyman - "Pretending", "Bad Love" and "Old Love". Superb performances all and "Wonderful Tonight", a perfect example of how Eric often reworks songs (compare this one to the live version on Just One Night). Katie Kissoon takes a vocal which reminds me of Clare Torry's on Pink Floyd's "The Great Gig In The Sky" (although, fittingly, less dramatic).

Side 4 : Orchestra. The most interesting approach - "Bell Bottom Blues" works brilliantly in this format, as does "Edge Of Darkness". Another number from Journeyman, Ray Charles' "Hard Times" is only 3:45 (the shortest track on 24 Nights) and the orchestral treatment seems rather lost. "Edge Of Darkness" displays all the tension and drama you would expect with its full orchestral backing. But why so little material? Just one look at the record shows how much more could have been included, even in this format.

Where the CD wins over the vinyl is in terms of the playing time. More can be accommodated in the digital format and, up to a point, it is. Two of the 9 Piece band numbers are longer; "Bad Love" (6:25 / 6:10) and notably "Old Love" (13:01 / 7:55) which includes a lengthy instrumental passage with jazzy keyboard, bass and then an extended guitar solo from Eric. But at just over 52 minutes per CD, there was room for almost another hour of music in total. The CD single of "Wonderful Tonight" was released in two versions - 'standard' with "Layla Intro (Band Version)" and "Cocaine" and a 'limited edition', with "No Alibis" and "I Shot The Sheriff".

As someone who was lucky to have been at each of the different shows, the problem I have with this release is that it doesn't do more than offer a flavour of the occasion. The atmosphere at the concerts was always great but despite having been 'there', I don't play this album all that often. Although the performances are all good in themselves, it's as much a case of what's missing - and I can't help thinking there was a real missed opportunity here. 42 nights of great live music - all of it recorded - was easily worthy of a 4 disc box set, with an entire disc being devoted to each of the different band nights. How about a "25th Anniversary Edition" anyone? Now that would easily make for a 5* + album. Come on - you know this deserves it! As I recall, Eric listened to the playback of every track from every night so the final choices were all down to him. Maybe one to delegate now then? A tough job (he says with tongue-in-cheek) but someone really ought to do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "24 Nights - The Limited Edition" Boxed Set, 19 Feb. 2004
This review is from: 24 Nights (Audio CD)
"24 Nights - The Limited Edition" boxed set, is a unique collaboration between Eric Clapton, Peter Blake, Derek Taylor and Genesis Publications commemorating Eric Clapton's record 24-night performance at the Royal Albert Hall in 1991. Peter Blake's scrapbook is a collection of pencil sketches, charcoal drawings and montages showing Eric and the band during rehearsals and performances. Blake was the Associate Artist of the National Gallery and is probably best known for his graphic cover of The Beatles' 'Sergeant Pepper' album cover. A vast selection of original memorabilia from the concert tour including back stage passes, hotel room lists, polaroid photographs, seating plans, set lists, laminates and sheet music are reproduced in the scrapbook, many of them tipp-ins pasted in by hand. The scrapbook is accompanied by a commentary book by Derek Taylor. Taylor attended rehearsals in Dublin, performances at the Royal Albert Hall and the after-show party. His account provides a unique insight into the backstage and on-the-road world of Eric Clapton and his band. A former publicist for Apple Corps (as well as the Mamas and Papas,The Beach Boys and The Byrds), Taylor was one of the most influential music industry professionals of the time. His commentary offers the reader a rare opportunity to experience an insider's perspective on the man who is universally recognised as the world's greatest blues guitarist. 24 Nights also includes a 2 CD set of live recordings from these performances featuring additional tracks not available anywhere else: "Layla (Orchestra Intro)", "No Alibis" and "I Shot The Sheriff" . Additional facsimile memorabilia including Eric's guitar picks, a backstage laminate pass, button badge and guitar string complete the set. 134 page (300mm x 210mm) scrapbook quarter-bound in bonded leather featuring sketches by Peter Blake and rare unseen photographs. All copies are personally autographed by Eric Clapton and Peter Blake. All items are produced to the highest standard and presented in a superbly-designed solandar box limited to 3,500 copies. Many of the memorabilia are pasted by hand. A 64 page (210mm x 148mm) second-volume of commentary by Derek Taylor looking at Eric and the band in rehearsals, at the shows and at the after-show party. Individual items of facsimile memorabilia including Eric's guitar picks, back-stage laminate, button badge and guitar string. THIS IS NOW OUT-OF-PRINT, SO IF YOU SPOT ONE FOR A GOOD PRICE SNATCH IT UP!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry, I drifted off..., 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think Eric Clapton is great and I regularly defend him when others label him as boring. But some of his releases make him very hard to defend. This live album is one such release. It just goes on and on and on without ever taking off. It's very hard going and when the orchestra comes in the indulgence just gets too much. Whatever about the first disc, staying awake during the second disc is nigh on impossible. If you're battling insomnia this one could be for you, but if you want exciting blues from the master of the art, look elsewhere in the back catalogue. I'd recommend Eric Clapton's Rainbow Concert to start with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly,utterly fantastic., 2 May 2002
By 
Mr. Colin Rankin "Colin Rankin" (Braintree, essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I was in the Royal Albert Hall when some of this was being recorded.Magical.The album captures much of the occaision.Unfortunately I missed the 'classical' sessions and only saw the rock and blues performances but this recording perfectly captures all three.All in all,possibly one of the greatest live recordings of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite CDs, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I originally had 24 nights on VHS cassette when it was first released and have been meaning to buy the CD for use in the car. I am so pleased that I did as it is one of my most played Eric CDs> I love it and regret not buying it ages ago as it shows his versatility and professionalism as second to none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this album., 22 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 24 Nights/Recorded Live At The Royal Albert Hall, London. 1990-1991 (MP3 Download)
I could not help downloading this album after watching the full concert on the Arts channel on sky, I even put the DVD on my wish list, but nobody has bought it me for Christmas so it looks as though I will have to buy it myself, would recommend it to all Clapton Fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews