Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smashingly entertaining character thriller
Terrific character study/thriller about plain looking deaf business woman and her involvement
with a sexy small time gangster.

Quirky, extremely tense in an Hitchcockian way, and very well acted by the two leads,
as well as being beautifully shot. It also has moments of dark humor and real humanity.

This may not be deep entertainment...
Published on 15 Jan. 2012 by K. Gordon

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watch out, Cassell's in a nightclub again..
"Read My Lips" is a workplace drama based on the relationship between two outcasts; a deaf, lip-reading secretary (Emmanuelle Davos) and her ex-con assistant (Vincent Cassell). Despite their quite different backgrounds, they are attracted to each other and eventually end up conspiring to rob Cassell's new employer as a "Rear Window" type scenario unfolds. Cassell and...
Published on 1 Mar. 2006 by L. Davidson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smashingly entertaining character thriller, 15 Jan. 2012
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Read My Lips ( Sur mes lèvres ) (DVD)
Terrific character study/thriller about plain looking deaf business woman and her involvement
with a sexy small time gangster.

Quirky, extremely tense in an Hitchcockian way, and very well acted by the two leads,
as well as being beautifully shot. It also has moments of dark humor and real humanity.

This may not be deep entertainment (although it has its share of themes and ideas), but it
is way more intelligent and involving than almost any of the thrillers made nowadays.

As far as I can find out, this Australian release is the same transfer as the UK version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Genre clash - it's the future, 24 May 2007
This review is from: Read My Lips [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Carla works for a property developer's where she excels in being unattractive, unappreciated and desperate. She is also deaf.

Her boss offers to hire in somebody to alleviate her heavy workload so she uses the opportunity to secure herself some male company. Help arrives in the form of Paul, a tattooed hoodlum fresh out of prison and clearly unsuited to the mannered routine of an office environment.

An implicit sexual tension develops between the two of them and Carla is determined to keep him on despite his reluctance to embrace the working week. When Carla is edged out of an important contract she was negotiating by a slimy colleague she exploits Paul's criminality by having him steal the contract back. The colleague quickly realises that she's behind the robbery, but when he confronts her, Paul's readiness to punch people in the face comes in handy too - but this thuggery comes at a price.

Paul is given a `going over' by some mob acquaintances as a reminder about an unpaid debt. He formulates a plan which utilises Carla's unique lip reading abilities to rip-off a gang of violent bank robbers. It's now Carla's turn to enter a frightening new world.

The fourth feature from director Jacques Audiard, `READ MY LIPS' begins as a thoroughly engaging romantic drama between two marginalised losers only to shift gears halfway through into an edgy thriller where their symbiotic shortcomings turn them into winners. The leads are excellent; effortlessly convincing us that this odd couple could really connect. Carla's first meeting with Paul is an enjoyable farce in which she attempts to circumnavigate his surly reticence and jailbird manners only to discover that he was, until very recently, a jailbird. Emmanuelle Devos, who plays Carla, has that almost exclusive ability to go from dowdy to gorgeous and back again within a frame. Vincent Cassel plays Paul as a cornered dog who only really seems at home when he's receiving a beating or concocting the rip-off that is likely to get him killed.

Like many French films, `READ MY LIPS' appears, at first, to be about nothing in particular until you scratch beneath the surface and find that it's probably about everything. The only bum note is a subplot concerning the missing wife of Paul's parole officer; a device that seems contrived only to help steer the main thrust of the story into a neat little feelgood cul-de-sac.

It was the French `New Wave' of the 60's that first introduced the concept of `genre' to film making and I've always felt that any medium is somewhat compromised when you have to use a system of labels to help define it; so it's always a pleasure to discover a film that seems to transcend genre, or better still, defy it.

Adrian Stranik
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read my lips, 3 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Read My Lips [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I thought this was a good french film that, whilst it had a share of brutality, this was inevitable in view of the nature of the plot and the type of crimminal element involved - any softer version would not have been credible. The main characters, whilst not beautiful people, were outstanding and carried the film with great panache - i enjoyed it although I was lost at times with what the minor characters were up to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ooh La La, 7 Sept. 2005
By 
This review is from: Read My Lips [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Amazing, thrilling, beautiful, insighful... there really aren't enough adjectives to describe what a joy this movie is.
A thriller with a heart, with characters both immoral and loveable, Read My Lips is a film everyone with a passing interst in cimena should see. This is how urban stories should be told, with equal passion and compassion, with edge of the seat nail-biting, with the occasional teary sniff. Both leads are utterly astounding, and the chemistry between them crackles off the screen. Probably my favourite film; I bought it approximately ten minutes after the credits rolled on my rental DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky, touching and moving., 7 Mar. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Read My Lips [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
'Read My Lips'is fantastic! This odd, but compelling, thriller benefits from exceptional performances by the two principals, especially from Emmanuelle Devos, who manages to be victimised, intelligent, frumpish and sexy all at the same time.
The action is tense and unpredictable, and the developing love story, as the two maladjusted characters begin to support each other, is touching without being sickly.
French film at its best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars never underestimate anyone, 12 Dec. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Read My Lips [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
this is a great, very clever and intelligent film, quite pacey and always getting to its point! well worth the money too.
the two main characters come together through there different needs and despite there less than honourable intentions towards each other soon realise they need each other.
turning diss-advantage to advantage on both sides
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watch out, Cassell's in a nightclub again.., 1 Mar. 2006
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Read My Lips [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
"Read My Lips" is a workplace drama based on the relationship between two outcasts; a deaf, lip-reading secretary (Emmanuelle Davos) and her ex-con assistant (Vincent Cassell). Despite their quite different backgrounds, they are attracted to each other and eventually end up conspiring to rob Cassell's new employer as a "Rear Window" type scenario unfolds. Cassell and Davos play the odd couple excellently as one might expect, but there was something missing in the plot and it's development that prevented me from really empathising with these two characters and enjoying this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film, disappointing DVD, 19 May 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Read My Lips [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I believe enough has been said about this amazing film with a superb onscreen couple. However the English DVD version is a major disappointment since it has none of the features you get in the French version: deleted scenes, alternate ending, director's and actors' commentary, interviews, etc. Unfortunately this version isn't available from Amazon. Such a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great thriller!, 10 Oct. 2005
This review is from: Read My Lips [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film, the characters were original and the storyline was not what I expected. Interesting the way the deaf woman sometimes chooses to turn her hearing aid off if the noise is too loud or unpleasant, as with a crying baby or the pounding house music in a nightclub. Made me think perhaps being deaf might not be all bad at times!
Even thought neither of the 2 leads are very sympathetic at firs, you soon begin to sympathise with them and by the end I was hooked.
The french seem to be doing a nice little line in office based films at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great plot, 29 Jun. 2007
By 
B. S. Buss (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Read My Lips [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
French cinema at its best for what it is good at: complex plots in realistic settings, great acting. The other reviewer have said it all. Go watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Read My Lips ( Sur mes lèvres )
Read My Lips ( Sur mes lèvres ) by Jacques Audiard (DVD)
£16.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews