Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars138
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£20.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 January 2003
When movies first came out on video there were two legendary exploitation films I had to track down. One was "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre" and the other was "I Spit on Your Grave," which is actually the more memorable film of the pair overall (although I do grant the highest place to the "hook" scene in TCM). Director Meir Zarchi's 1978 film has become rather infamous, since critics hated it, audiences were outraged, and the film was banned in Germany and Great Britain. The story, such as it is, finds Jennifer Hill (Camille Keaton, Buster's grand-niece) out in the woods of Connecticut to work on a novel when she crosses the path of some local boys who decide she should be the first sexual partner for their mentally-disabled friend. When he cannot complete the rape, his friends do it for him. Then they decide that they are not done with Jennifer.
At issue are not Jennifer's specific acts of revenge, including the infamous bathroom scene, but rather the series of brutal rapes that precede them. I do not want to meet anyone who is not disturbed by these rape scenes and I think it is fairly obvious that Zarchi intended to make audiences uncomfortable. In retrospect you have to wonder about all those movies with rape scenes that do NOT upset the audience. But Zarchi certainly pours it on thick, absolutely assuring that things go beyond the tolerance level of anyone who watches this film. So the bottom line is that this film will upset you and it is therefore effective at doing exactly what it wants to do, which is supposed to be a good thing, right? I have always considered this an "X" rated movie although I would not consider it pornographic in the traditional sense. But it is a very disturbing film and I do not think I would want my kids to see it until after they graduate college (if ever). Anyone renting this film for cheap thrills is in for a shock.
As I now understand it, this 1978 film was originally released as "Day of the Woman," but that rather innocuous title was replaced by the well known "I Spit on Your Grave," although the film was also screened as "I Hate Your Guts" and "The Rape and Revenge of Jennifer Hill." All of this is interesting since it seems the producers were trying to pass off this film with both higher and lover levels of pretention. Beyond being letterboxed, this DVD offers nothing than the cheesy original theatrical trailer. But this is one film where you would certainly like to have to hear what the director has to say.
22 comments|54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2005
New York writer Jennifer (Camille Keaton, the grand-niece of physical comedy genius Buster Keaton) retreats to a cabin in the country to write her first novel, but her peace and train of thought is interrupted by four men she meets upon arrival, who go on to gang-rape and commit savagery on her three times before leaving her for dead (one of the guys was supposed to kill her so she couldn't grass them up but he couldn't go through with it and faked her death instead).
However, Jennifer soon recovers from her ordeal sufficiently enough to enact some very painful revenge on each of her four attackers, one by one...
Banned in the UK until 2001, it was only finally granted an 18 certificate in that year when the BBFC ordered just over seven minutes of cuts to the rape scenes. When this newer version was resubmitted to the BBFC in 2003 with some of the previously cut footage reframed to put Jennifer off the bottom of the screen, they passed all except just 41 seconds of cuts, making this the most complete version we have ever had in the UK. While it's still shocking, the reframed footage is noticeably blurrier and the wrongness of the screen layout is very obvious. Also, not being able to see the victim has undoubtedly muted the effect, making her vengeful attacks later seem over-the-top compared to what it might have been had the censored footage been left in its original uncut form, but I guess on this occasion the BBFC's hands are tied and that we should think ourselves lucky that we got the film officially released at all.
Many have accused it of glorifying rape, which is not the case at all. If anything, it shows just how horrific it really is, and how damaging it is, physically and emotionally, to the victim. Meir Zarchi, the Italian director, handled a very difficult subject matter here, and it was even based on a real event.
Other complaints that even the uncut version wouldn't cure is that the acting is a bit hammy sometimes, with dialogue sometimes sounding like it's being barked down a hollow tube, and some of the gore isn't quite the right shade of red, but given the time it was made it's not miles away from the correct colour, and the bathroom scene is still a ghastly sight.
If you like shocks and scares, you'll certainly get some in I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE, possibly one of the most complained-about and controversial movies in cinema history!
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
If your going to buy this film then I would suggest you get the totally uncut version which is sold here on amazon for around £15.
You can get it cheaper, a lot cheaper in fact for the censored version, but if your like me then you would rather fork out for the entire movie not one that is ripped to shreds. The version I purchased is the German import which has a different cover than the one you would expect...look for the one with the screaming man on and titled Day of the woman, I spit on your grave,( not the one with the yellow cover with a semi clad woman walking away with a knife in hand . Avoid that version ! .)
This uncut version has German writing on back cover with German and English audio.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2003
The rape scenes are not as bad as described because the BBFC cut them and also altered the framing. The bottle sequence is missing. These cuts make the director look incompetant and alters the impact of the entire film. This version becomes a mere entertainment by such bowdlerisation, extenuating the 'fun' aspects, i.e. the murders, which couldn't have been the BBFC's intention. The uncut version is much more disturbing. The cut version reduces the rape trauma and makes Jennifer's revenge seem disproportionate. They cut the sexual activity of the rape but explicit consensual sex is permitted viewing in the pursuit of murder. Where's the morality in that? The censorship of this movie is unconscionable, especially as 'Irreversible' is left untouched.
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
This film was banned in the U.K. in the early 80s (1982 I think). I was a teenager and me and my friends were determined to see it. We managed to get the un-cut version of it 'under the counter'. We were horrified to say the least. As teenage girls we often spoke of rape, because as young females we knew we could fall victim to this cime. We were not so aware back then that rape happens to boys and men as well, and to all age groups and ethnicities. Many people said at the time that this film exploited women and was trying to portray rape as titillating. Well, all I can say is if you can watch this sickening film and find it sexually arousing, then you must be as depraved as the men in the film itself. And far from exploiting women I think that it shows the TRUE horror of rape. I know of men who watched this film and admitted that it made them realise just how horrendous sexual assault is. The reason I give this film 5 stars is not because it is a favourite film of mine (definitely not). I gave this rating for the film's shock and horror value. The rape scene is very prolonged (or it was in the uncut version) and the brutality inflicted upon the victim is savage. Me and my friends did manage to watch it till the gruesome end (just about), and I have to say that all these years later, it is still one of the most shocking films I have seen.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2011
I spit on your grave has been remade for 2010, so it is obvious why they have repackaged this original version onto Blu-ray with a poster and a booklet. Although this is classed as uncut compared to last version approved by the BBFC, this version is still cut by some 4 minutes. If you were lucky enough to have seen it in full on VHS, you will probably be disappointed with this version as it excludes some really good scenes. The transfer to Blu-ray wasn't necessary as the picture and audio quality are hardly Hi-Def. I really wish they BBFC would shut up shop and leave films alone, after all, isn't it about individual responsibility for what we wish to watch. Far too many 'video nasties' are now quite tame compared to modern films....BBFC, leave our films alone. Great film, poor picture/audio quality hence 3 stars. An fully uncut version would have been 5 stars.
44 comments|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Great film, plus it is so brutal, and one of the best revenge films ever made, and I just love all the extras you get with this Blu-ray release. It comes with two discs, a dvd and Blu-ray, which contains loads of extra features, plus a poster which is a good size, my only problem is my wife wont let me put it up, I don't know why? you also get a 23 page booklet with some good information about the film . This is a brilliant release and well worth buying.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
22 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2010
I Spit on Your Grave is an extremely difficult film to watch and and yet one that is utterly compelling. I'm not sure whether or not it needs high definition treatment, but this will certainly be the best the film has ever looked in the UK and this is the most complete version yet released.

Be warned though. It is not uncut and the cover art looks a little misleading in that department. It is a nice touch to have the original title (Day of the Woman) on the front and this is certainly a release that will interest many people but if you have the uncut R1 release, I'd stick with that.
11 comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This film when released was in the 'video nasty' category, and like so many others were ultimately banned, many quite rightly have not seen the light of day since.
This film however seems somehow to portray a sense of justification for the violence in the early stages being balanced by an equally violent revenge spree.
In truth the acting isn't brilliant, but in the main acceptable, the blue-ray transfer is also a bit below-par.
It's just one of those films that you feel, because of the hype, you must watch.
The violence is pretty graphic and not comfortable to watch, but the end does seem to justify watching as the four rapists get their comeuppance.
The film has been re-made it promised to be even more graphic than the original......must admit just how realistic do we need to see such violence ? (In my opinion having seen the re-make, though graphically more violent than the original, i felt it fell short
in the portrayal department)
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2006
If you buy the Region 2 edition of this film, it still isn't fully uncut, as the BBFC think the UK public arn't ready for the full-on hardcore gore version. But if you dare view the whole film as it was ment to be seen by the director, then buy this.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)