Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oceans series
Very well presented, brilliant photography. I enjoyed every one of them. Gripping footage of dives - so much to see under the water. Experiments & geological experiments too. All in all a fascinating series. One series I will watch several times over. Too much ot take in all in one viewing. Absolutely brilliant.
Published 18 months ago by magdaz

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as awful as some would have you believe.
This obviously wasn't made on the same huge budget as Attenborough's series and, as such, lacks the majestic set piece shots that make those series so amazing.

This is much more about the issues affecting the oceans than getting great pictures.

It has its share of great shots, there's something about the underwater realm that ensures that is the...
Published on 5 Nov. 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oceans series, 10 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oceans [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Very well presented, brilliant photography. I enjoyed every one of them. Gripping footage of dives - so much to see under the water. Experiments & geological experiments too. All in all a fascinating series. One series I will watch several times over. Too much ot take in all in one viewing. Absolutely brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars IGNORE NEGATIVE FEEDBACK AND WATCH THIS, 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oceans [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
WE WERE IN GREAT EXPECTATION OF THIS ARRIVING AND BEEN ABLE TO WATCH THIS LOVELY DOCUMENTARY SERIES.

HAVING BOUGHT BLUE PLANET I WANTED SOMETHING AS INFORMATIVE AND EXCITING BUT DIFFERENT IN THAT WE DIDN'T WANT A RE-RUN OF BLUE PLANET AND THIS IS IT.

PHILLIPE COUSTEAU JUNIOR IS AN ENVIRONMENTALIST AND THAT IS WHAT YOU GET ALONG WITH AN OCEANOGRAPHER, TOONI, AN HISTORIAN, LUCY AND AN AMAZING DIVER PAUL ROSE WHOSE CHUCKLE IS ENTERTAINING.

BUY IT WATCH IT LOVE IT ENJOY OUR BEAUTIFUL OCEANS AND BE INFORMED :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as awful as some would have you believe., 5 Nov. 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Fleet, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Oceans [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This obviously wasn't made on the same huge budget as Attenborough's series and, as such, lacks the majestic set piece shots that make those series so amazing.

This is much more about the issues affecting the oceans than getting great pictures.

It has its share of great shots, there's something about the underwater realm that ensures that is the case, but it's also true (at least in the form it was shown on TV, I've not seen the DVD version) that there are some rather dull interludes.

It also seems slightly amazing that Cousteau Jr has done so little diving around the world, but I have to assume his remarks weren't for some affect.

Is this is a good as Blue Planet? No, but it's not aiming for the same target and, if you can (unlike some of the other reviewers) stop tutting and sighing and switching off 10 minutes in because it isn't BP2 then you'll probably learn more than you will from Blue Planet (or many of the 'landmark' nature series).

Not a must have or must see, but a useful intro (mostly) to different aspects of the oceans of the world and certainly not as awful as those 1 star reviews suggest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better, 12 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Oceans [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
A great premise, but awfully executed. It's been said in a previous review but this really is just a group of well-meaning marine scientists diving all around the world at somebody else's expense. Each so-called topic that they claim to be seriously investigating is just glossed over quickly with little real science involved. It's just a case of "look at us doing this cool diving here, and here, and here. We're real scientists aren't we". It becomes very tiresome when you begin to understand they're just "looking" at lots of stuff . . . and that's it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful photography, 5 April 2009
By 
K. Allen (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oceans [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I totally disagree with Jonas's review. There is some beautiful film photography and the science is good. A great nature programme from the BBC as usual. A couple of annoying people in the team stop it from getting 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshingly modern look at our Oceans, 25 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oceans [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Full of fantastic facts, the presenters were all great and showed their passion for this amazing part of our planet. As an ex diver the kit was really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oceans DVD, 8 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oceans [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
A fantastic series - A group of scientists embark on a mammoth round the world voyage to assess the worlds oceans and the many different habitats contained within, they often focus on how climate change is affecting the habitats from tropical to arctic which keep the series relevant rather than just another nature series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, 8 April 2009
By 
Mr. C. Hogg "Dolphine" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oceans [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This collection of gorgeous oceanic adventures looking at the underwater wildlife on this planet, was excellant and would recommend to any wildlife enthusist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dive into the adventure, 9 Feb. 2012
By 
Mr. D. E. Hargreaves "Spaniel" (Scarborough, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oceans [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Oceans [DVD]

This documentary was the best thing I have ever brought, So informative and beautifully shown and fun to watch it is a real treat.

It isn't all about the animals, it looks at the environment in and out of the waters of the oceans and you learn about ships and cultures of different people.

It nice to see that it has a "raw element" meaning that you see how things work behind all the dives.

You will enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 4 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oceans [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I know there are many mixed reviews about this BBC series, but I love it! I'm a budding marine biologist and I thoroughly enjoy watching this. It's so fascinating when they explore the past and there is some beautiful filming in some of the episodes! I admit I picked this up second hand and I probably wouldn't pay the £30 for it, but it's brilliant and I'd highly recommend this to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oceans [DVD] [2008]
Oceans [DVD] [2008] by Penny Allen (DVD - 2009)
£29.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews