Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a hot knife through butter
Bought these SDS drill bits to go with a new Bosch SDS hammer drill (normal drill bits won't fit the SDS chuck). They work very well, drilling into a hard masonry wall with ease.

There aren't any chisels or other SDS tools in the set but I was only after drills so not a problem. Smallest drill size is 5mm which is small enough for most tasks and anything that...
Published on 22 Feb 2011 by RAD

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wrong promotion for Bosch UMEO drill bits
This is no doubt great for what it does but useless for what Amazon infers it can do before I bought it - ie fit a Bosch UMEO cordless drill. The drill and screwdriver bits for this drill are very hard to locate, as other posts also bemoan. Sort it out Amazon before I have to schlep up to the Post Office with a return yet again - what we need is DRILL AND SCREWDRIVER...
Published on 8 Oct 2012 by Chris Rawlence


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a hot knife through butter, 22 Feb 2011
By 
RAD (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch 6 Piece SDS Plus Drill Bit Set (DIY & Tools)
Bought these SDS drill bits to go with a new Bosch SDS hammer drill (normal drill bits won't fit the SDS chuck). They work very well, drilling into a hard masonry wall with ease.

There aren't any chisels or other SDS tools in the set but I was only after drills so not a problem. Smallest drill size is 5mm which is small enough for most tasks and anything that requires a smaller drill than that probably doesn't need a SDS hammer drill anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good replacement for a broken drill, 16 Jun 2011
By 
Geoff - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch 6 Piece SDS Plus Drill Bit Set (DIY & Tools)
Needed to replace a short 5.5mm SDS drill bit after breaking one drilling a concrete fencing post to fit plastic plugs for fixing to the posts. This drill size is ideal for the particular plugs I use.

Only needed to replace the one drill bit, but it was as cost effective to buy the set and get some extra SDS drill bits. They seem to work fine.

SDS drills are much more effective for drilling hard materials, such as concrete, than a normal hammer drill. They also provide a much more positive drive and bit changing is very easy and simple.

Some drills have the option to stop the hammer action, or to stop the drill rotation. In the former case it works as a normal drill, or can be used as a screwdriver. In the latter case chisels can be used to chip away at brickwork and masonary.

Because of the higher power normally required, most of these drills operate from the mains, particularly the lower cost units.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SDS convert, 4 Oct 2010
By 
C. Simmons (Derby) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch 6 Piece SDS Plus Drill Bit Set (DIY & Tools)
Ordered a replacement hammer drill for one that went up in smoke. When it arrived, I nearly sent it back as it appeared to a dunderhead like me that it was chuckless! It wasn't, it was an SDS drill. I hadn't seen one of these before and was initially cheesed off that it wouldn't take my normal chuck based drills. However, the more I looked at the design, the more I liked it. I takes quick insert/release bits, like a decent jigsaw takes/spits out it's blades (look at the image of the product carefully, the shank of every drill is the same diameter, so they push in, and eject out. No screwing and unscrewing a chuck to fit differing sized drill bits as you go. A fluted design which means the drill bit is driven by thick metal grooves rather than merely the grip of the chuck jaws (which inevitably means the bit often spins and cuts up the surface where the drill diameter is stamped, and the whole lot quickly becomes knarled and illegible). Very good design. As such I decided to keep it, and invest in some new SDS drill bits to go with it.....

So I went out and bought this mini set of the most regularly used SDS drill bits, and hey, the two combined, brilliant. I'll never buy a chucked drill again. Only one problem, anybody want to buy a boxfull of legacy drill bits that won't fit this new SDS drill of mine?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Solid and reliable, 2 Nov 2014
By 
Mr Mandi (Herefordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch 6 Piece SDS Plus Drill Bit Set (DIY & Tools)
Brought these to go with a new SDS drill having struggled to get thought the blue brick the house is made of. These bits are fantastic, and are still sharp and going strong despite having had some heavy use.

No hesitation in recommending these, and this set is a good investment with sizes that are actually useful (and cut accurately to the diameter labeled).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent set of drills, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch 6 Piece SDS Plus Drill Bit Set (DIY & Tools)
All my other masonry-type drill bits have worn out quite quickly but these just keep on going, so I would recommend them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice drill set, 10 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. W. H. Stockdale (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch 6 Piece SDS Plus Drill Bit Set (DIY & Tools)
Have not yet used them, but they look perfect, and its nice to have them ready for those times when SDS drilling jobs crop up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You get what you pay for., 9 Nov 2013
By 
A. W. Roberts (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch 6 Piece SDS Plus Drill Bit Set (DIY & Tools)
These masonry drills are brilliant for making holes in masonry. They are very reasonably priced and look to be good quality hard waring drills. What more can you ask for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch 6 Piece SDS Plus Drill Bit Set (DIY & Tools)
Good quality and fine for basic diy. I just want drill bits that are sharp and reasonable quality to last me a while for occasional diy around the house and these seem to fit the bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good drills, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch 6 Piece SDS Plus Drill Bit Set (DIY & Tools)
I bought these to use with a de walt sds drill for general house diy and so far they have been excellent and good value for the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch 6 Piece SDS Plus Drill Bit Set (DIY & Tools)
This is a great product, top quality and they work wonderfully in my SDS drill. Good selection of sizes for the average DIYer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bosch 6 Piece SDS Plus Drill Bit Set
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews