Customer Reviews


229 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very distubing
'Eden Lake' is about a young couple who decide to escape London for the weekend and have a romantic weekend at a remote lake. What they weren't expected was to be terrorised by a gang of young thugs which starts with a disagreement about how loud the music is and leads to much, much worse.

I love a good British horror but I was expecting nothing like this -...
Published on 26 Jan 2009 by Dr Evil

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not nice viewing, but not a bad film either
Quite a tricky one to review, really. The plot and content are really quite irredeemably nasty stuff, and having seen it, I'm not in a rush to watch it again.

With that said, the fact that it provoked such a reaction in me is something of a testament. Aside from one or two downright moronic decisions by Fassbender's character ("Hey ! A gang of kids with a...
Published on 29 April 2009 by Chris


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very distubing, 26 Jan 2009
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Eden Lake [DVD] (DVD)
'Eden Lake' is about a young couple who decide to escape London for the weekend and have a romantic weekend at a remote lake. What they weren't expected was to be terrorised by a gang of young thugs which starts with a disagreement about how loud the music is and leads to much, much worse.

I love a good British horror but I was expecting nothing like this - 'Eden Lake' is very close to real life and is actually really terrifying to watch as it made me think that this could happen to absolutely anyone at anytime, anywhere. Yeah, it does go a little over the top near the middle of the film but is still stays very close to some of the problems that Britain has been dealing with in recent years such as knife crime, happy slapping (filming attacks on camera phones), parents not taking any responsibility for their children's actions and "hoodies" terrorising innocent people.

If you like horror films I definitely recommend watching this but don't expect a very pleasant viewing as for the most part this film is very disturbing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brutal and, occasionally, brilliant, 1 July 2011
This review is from: Eden Lake [DVD] (DVD)
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the creepiest and most affecting films that have ever been made have been about a human enemy. Not ghouls, ghosts, zombies or monsters - but just really horrible people.

When the enemy is as hateful and vile as is portrayed by Jack O'Connell, you will always have a film that has an advantage over the rest. No special effect can put in a performance as disturbingly unhinged as O'Connell does here, manipulating other young charges into tormenting Michael Fassbender and Kelly Reilly (both completely excellent, too) after a lakeside argument escalates into something nightmarish.

Eden Lake is not without its faults - once or twice the participants do something REALLY stupid and inexplicable but, under those circumstances, wouldn't you? Plus, the ending, which in itself is utterly horrible but inspired, does come about as the result of a massive coincidence.

Funnily enough, I probably wouldn't watch it again, because it is so depressing and nasty and it does linger in the mind. But that is what a really good thriller or horror film SHOULD do, not all great films should necessarily reward repeated viewings - and Eden Lake really is a very good film indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not nice viewing, but not a bad film either, 29 April 2009
By 
Chris "chrisgb" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eden Lake [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Quite a tricky one to review, really. The plot and content are really quite irredeemably nasty stuff, and having seen it, I'm not in a rush to watch it again.

With that said, the fact that it provoked such a reaction in me is something of a testament. Aside from one or two downright moronic decisions by Fassbender's character ("Hey ! A gang of kids with a rottweiler ! I'll repeatedly ask them politely to leave us alone."), there's really nothing drastically wrong with the film from any angle - no plot holes or bad acting - but it just isn't a nice film you'll get the warm fuzzies from in any way whatsoever.

As a relatively low-budget effort, however, the blue-ray format does relatively little to add value to this, since there isn't much in the way of sweeping panoramas or special effects the HD format can enhance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best British horror movies ever made!, 25 July 2014
This review is from: Eden Lake [DVD] (DVD)
"Eden Lake" still remains as one of the greatest horror movies ever made, and yet one of the most disturbing horror movies made over the last 10 years. I don't think I have seen quite such a disturbing British horror movie as Eden Lake is, and I don't think a British horror movie like Eden Lake has been made and if it has, please may someone tell me. I mean don't get me wrong I love horror movies and it is my favorite genre, and if a horror movie has a meaningful story with characters you care about, then it goes beyond just a good horror movie.

What makes Eden Lake so thrilling and so above any horror movie I seen for a while is there is true meaning behind the movie, it's not a simple torture porn horror movie like Eli Roth's Hostel movies or James Wan's Saw films which are equally great, but Eden Lake has a deeper meaning and a excellent story and message, it also has two characters you really care about and you are close too and feel like real people in real danger. Horror works so much better if you care about the people in danger and Eden Lake does a fantastic job of making you care about Jenny and Steve and that may be brilliant writing or acting but it makes the movie work.

What I also took throughout the showing is that Eden Lake does a smart job and does to the audience without you knowing about choosing sides, now from where I was sitting, when the kids who are the villains in the movie start doing these unthinkable actions to the adults, you want the adults to fight back and kill the kids, but as the adults start to fight back, it becomes quite clear that these kids, not all of them want to be there and you start to wonder is violence against violence appropriate when it is to 13 and 14 year's old. The kids are horrible and vial however they are still kids and the movie makes you choose sides and go back and fourth to see which side is right.

Michael Fassbender and Kelly Reilly do a fine performance as Jenny and Steve, they are two characters which are very relitbale and very human, they are two average normal lovely people who want a break from the city and go the woods for a break and when trouble starts they are very believable, especially Kelly Reliy character who goes on a whilwind journey and goes threw an ordeal and by the end you are so desperate as a spectator to see her win and break free.

The kids also play their part well, they have to do some very gory things and they handle the part well and you feel terrified and you hate them but at the same time you do have sorrow for some kids because these are lost kids with no guidance going down a dark part. One kid actor who stole the show with Kelly Riley is Jack O Connell who is going to be one of the best actors out there when he gets older. He is so evil, so violent, so daring and is a fantastic child actor.

The movie is shot beautifully, for a British film, the woods look stunning and James Watkins clearly knows how to direct, he has written and directed a stand out horror movie, the movie is shocking, violent, gory, disturbing and the ending is so horrible and upsetting it will stay with you for a long time but I urge all horror fans, and fans of youth gangs, and those kinds of stories to witness Eden Lake. A very tough and dark watch, but superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sorry Miss....(spoilers), 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eden Lake [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Stephen Taylor invites his girlfriend Jenny, a Nursery teacher, to spend the weekend in Eden Lake, a remote place in the woods.

However, his true intention is to propose Jenny. While camping at the lake shore, they are disturbed by a gang of boys lead by Brett.

The next day, the couple realise that they have been robbed and are stranded in the woods without their car.

While walking through the forest trying to reach the road, Steve and Jenny meet the gang and they are brutally attacked.

Steve is captured by the youths while Jenny is seeks a way out of the woods with the criminals chasing her....

If you are looking for a horror film with thrills and scares, you have come to the wrong place. If you want to see one of the most disturbing British movies made this side of the Seventies, you have found Eden Lake.

And the main thing about this movie, is that all the cast are great, and it's a really well made thriller. But really no one can recommend this movie, because of the subject matter and the downright depressing nature of the movie.

It gets the vision of 'Yoofs' by middle class tabloids right down to a tee, and they are probably some of the most hated characters I have seen on screen (the acting is really superb here), and their acts are as bad as their attitudes.

But the main thing you need to know about this film is that there is no escape for the main characters, just when you think it cannot get any worse, it does and then some.

You need to see this film, but its really hard to recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blimey!, 3 Mar 2014
This review is from: Eden Lake (Amazon Instant Video)
This isn't easy viewing, but the tension feels genuine and I was put off camping for life :-O - creepy and real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Violent horror, paranoid fantasy, 4 Nov 2009
By 
Lark (North Coast of Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Eden Lake [DVD] (DVD)
I watched an ex-rental version of this film and was surprised by the extent to which even the rental had so many extras including interviews with all the lead actors, two seperate interviews with the director, trailors, TV spots and cuts of the film in production. A great deal of these revolved around the media impact of the feature, the director being asked about why he made this film and what was his inspiration.

The director stated that he had hoped to create a "paranoid fantasy" and recounted a confrontation he almost had with some teenagers while expecting a house, there was a lot about whether or not hurt pride is sufficient to risk escalation by challenging behaviour that's just wrong and this has very clearly been integrated into the film. While the director acknowledged that it could give some cause for reflection he also said that he wasnt a politician or sociologist, it was close to social realism but that wasnt his intent.

What I will say is that some of the acting is very good, I'm not surprised to hear that some of the younger actors found performing some of the scenes upsetting, and the film is a survival horror feature. It did remind me of films such as Straw Dogs [1971] [DVD], Wilderness [DVD] (although it is much better than the later and not as good as the former) and even Lord Of The Flies [1963] and [DVD] The Wicker Man [DVD] [1973].

It reminded me of the Wicker man because its apparent from very early in the film that while the main focus is a psychopath and his friends, whom he victimises and involves in his sick games, that the entire community is one in which violence is fostered as a way of interacting with one another.

The couple over hear shouting, swearing and aggression in the hotel room their first night, they speak to a waitress in a restaurant about their tire being punctured and she becomes defensive and antagonistic, they observe bullying and peer violence and the father of one of the children is portrayed as an aggressive possible alcoholic. Even the willingness of an "outsider" child to collude with the violence when he could call for help or assist with an escape. If there can be said to be any message at all in this film, it is that collusion with cruelty, with a "hard" culture, bears bitter fruit.

I think that the film was better for having watched the interviews before hand, it is nothing at all like While She Was Out [DVD] [2008] an American movie that its been compared to which is much more of an action feature than a horror movie. Be warned it is a very harrowing feature, devoid of any hope. The feature I could nearest compare it to would be Wolf Creek [DVD] [2005] and it contains similar messages for the unwary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars disturbing british horror, 24 Jan 2011
This review is from: Eden Lake [DVD] (DVD)
I found this film very hard to watch at times and even became upset when it had ended. I was surprised at my reaction because Im a massive horror fan and have a massive collection, sexual violence, blood and gore you name it Ive seen it so Im no wimp. I would recommend it because films that stick with you do so for a reason. If you are looking for a film that highlights extreme gang culture, torture and cruelty then this is for you. Hard to watch at times but worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kelly is outstanding again, 24 Feb 2014
By 
robert stirling (tarn,s.w.france) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eden Lake [DVD] (DVD)
By the end of this film you might appreciate the fact that Kelly Reilly really earnt her money in this excellent horror/thriller directed by another up and coming Brit James Watkins.

Its about an isolated couple harassed and then abused by a group of young thugs.You would think that you could control school-age youngsters such as the group portrayed here but this film shows us that there is a marginalised section of society out there who will turn into savage beasts given the wrong circumstances.
Here one bad apple corrupts the rest of the barrel of imperfect fruit as I see it.

Extreme violence throughout.Thrilling yet depressing,and who could say that this hasn't happened already somewhere in Britain at some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eden Lake [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is brilliant. As it's a situation anyone could really get in it makes it that bit more unnerving. Would watch again and plan too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eden Lake [Blu-ray]
Eden Lake [Blu-ray] by James Louis Watkins (Blu-ray - 2009)
£6.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews