Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars not nearly as bad as you might have heard
"Righteous Kill" hasn't been all that well-received -- Rotten Tomatoes is down on it -- but it seems to me at least as good as two other movies I've seen lately that were better received: "Stand-Up Guys" and "The Departed." I liked the latter, but it was a bit bloated, and one wonders whether Scorsese's name got it more credit that it deserved...
Published 1 month ago by Stanley Crowe

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Righteous Kill
This has all the makings of a good film. Pacino and De Niro in the lead roles and some pretty decent actors in the supporting roles. Unfortunately the story itself is nothing even remotely new. I'd read some reviews before watching it and they all hinted that it was obvious who the killer was within the first 5 minutes. And it is. I picked out my candidate and then...
Published on 16 Mar. 2010 by P Woodburn


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Righteous Kill, 16 Mar. 2010
This review is from: Righteous Kill [DVD] (DVD)
This has all the makings of a good film. Pacino and De Niro in the lead roles and some pretty decent actors in the supporting roles. Unfortunately the story itself is nothing even remotely new. I'd read some reviews before watching it and they all hinted that it was obvious who the killer was within the first 5 minutes. And it is. I picked out my candidate and then basically spent the next 90 minutes waiting to see it confirmed. Sadly it was. The story is largely implausible and cliched. On the plus side all of the actors do a pretty good job with what they're given. In fact if it wasn't for the standard of the acting this really wouldn't be worth wasting more than 10 minutes on.
However, if you're looking for a murder mystery and Murder She Wrote isn't on TV, then this could make for passable entertainment for 90 minutes or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Righteously mediocre, 2 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Righteous Kill [DVD] (DVD)
This film is a bit of a turkey, if I'm honest. How De Niro and Pacino signed up for it I don't know, but the writing, characterisation, direction, and - above all - editing are fairly dismal. I'm not sure how much you can blame the two screen legends (both apparently running on auto-pilot throughout) for their unispiring performances, but the whole thing seemed rushed and sketchy. Director Jon Avnet commits the very basic error of telling, rather than showing, the story through lots of flashbacks. Given that the movie only weighs in at a brisk 101 minutes, it would have been vastly improved by letting the story unfold at a more natural pace, and giving it room to breathe. As it is, Righteous Kill achieves the level of no more than a stock thriller, with an incredibly obvious climax (you'll probably work out who the bad guy is within 20 minutes). A real wasted opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Sun Sets On Two Great Careers, 2 Mar. 2009
By 
John Wilfers (Dublin, Ireland.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Righteous Kill [DVD] (DVD)
I felt quite sad watching this movie. It felt like the end of an era. The end of the careers of two of the best actors ever to grace our screens.

Robert De Niro plays the fittest, angriest, horniest, pension-age cop in the world. Pacino is his partner and together they are trying to catch a vigilante killer (Sounds familiar? It is and hack director Jon Avnet, responsible for Pacino's last turkey "88 Minutes," is unable to do anything with it).

There is a brief cameo from 50 Cent. Carla Gugino has the thankless task of being De Niro's love interest when he's almost old enough to be her grandfather. John Leguizamo, Benny Blanco in Pacino's "Carlito's Way", reunites with him here.

De Niro doesn't really stray too far from the persona he's created over the last three decades. Pacino, actually too old to be a cop in real life, looks haggard, bored and seems to have no energy whatsoever. He's like a spent force, not the whooping, eye-rolling guy he was in "Heat." Even stranger is the Photoshop facelift they've given both actors on the DVD cover, Pacino looks like a 12-year old boy!

"Righteous Kill" was a huge disappointment to me. I knew it wouldn't come near "Heat," but I hadn't expected a TV-movie-level effort like this one was. I will probably buy it just to complete my collection of De Niro/Pacino movies. Otherwise, buy one of their early classics like "Dog Day Afternoon," "Raging Bull," "The Godfather Trilogy," or "Heat."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pointless timefiller, but better than the admittedly low expectations surrounding it, 21 Nov. 2013
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Righteous Kill [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It's a mark of just how much Al Pacino and, particularly, Robert De Niro's reputations have plummeted over the past couple of decades that news that they were teaming up for cop thriller Righteous Kill was met with disdainful assumptions it was just a lazy cashgrab that led to predictably indifferent box-office. While it's hard to see what could have appealed to the stars other than a payday, it's still one of their better recent efforts even if it does feel like a cable TV movie that never would have made it into production let alone to a theatrical release without the star power. It's a fairly predictable tale of two cops hunting a serial killer of assorted lowlives who may be one of their own, hampered by some sporadically clumsy editing trying to make it seem less sedate and a bit more down with the kids (even if half the cops, including Brian Dennehy's chief of detectives, are past mandatory retirement age) that simply breaks up the rhythm and by a couple of framing devices that use sessions with a police shrink and a video confession in a particularly obvious bit of misdirection. It's thin meat but the stars keep it watchable, De Niro unexceptional but certainly better than most of his phoned in performances of the same era and Pacino surprisingly excellent, playing down and keeping it real but still bringing some life to proceedings every time he's onscreen. A pointless timefiller, but better than the admittedly low expectations surrounding it.

Extras are limited to a couple of featurettes and an audio commentary by director Jon Avnet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not just me, then., 31 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Righteous Kill [DVD] (DVD)
I say this because I wondered if I was missing something - an American Cop film (one of my favourite genres) starring two of the greatest screen actors who've ever lived (Pacino and De Niro), in their only pairing since "Heat" - what could possibly go wrong?...
Well, all sorts of things. The main problem for me was a sense of emptiness - the film resembled a beautifully-wrapped and beribboned box which, once opened, proves to contain nothing. All right, the film had a reasonable plot (serial killer is knocking off bad guys and might be a cop - echoes of the vastly superior 1983 Michael Douglas film "Star Chamber"), good production values and a cracking cast (as well as Bob and Al you get Brian Dennehy - what more could you ask?). Yet it just echoed like an empty aircraft hangar.
Part of the problem is that De Niro and Pacino both seemed to be phoning in their roles - I got the feeling that both of them were bored witless by what they were doing, and were perhaps indulging in a private competition to see who could sleepwalk through it the most. Then there were the usual auxiliary elements to the main story, first seen in "Hill Street Blues" and now mostly tiresome cliches that we've all seen before - the cops who spend vast amounts of time knocking lumps off each other instead of getting on with their jobs, the slightly kinky relationship between De Niro and a female colleague, the world-weary police chief (Dennehy) trying to keep them all onside and doing their jobs before the killer strikes again, ya di ya di yada...

All in all, an almost tragic waste of everyone's time, effort and money. If you want to spend time rattling around in a big, empty, echoing box, go to the airship sheds at Cardington - don't waste your time on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'A MOVIE WITH A 'TWIST' IN THE TAIL', 17 Oct. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Righteous Kill [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I can see why some may not be impressed by this movie and agree in part that it does take a while to get into, however i may be a little bias, 'De Niro' and 'Pacino' in the film together ?
I remember 'Heat' great film, these two actors are surely among the very best that the movie scene have had to offer over the past 20 years or so.
In this film the chemistry between them is spot on, they play two veteran 'cops' in the 'N.Y.P.D;. 'Turk' (De Niro) and 'Rooster' ( Pacino ) who have partnered each other for the past 30 years or so, in this movie they have to track down a 'Serial Killer' who seems to be on a 'Vendetta' to clear the streets of it's worst Villains.
The problem is the suspect seems a little closer to home, could it really be one of their own, a cop ?
I myself liked the film, it may not be the best you'll see, but..hey with these two actors in it, gotta be worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not nearly as bad as you might have heard, 25 Jan. 2015
By 
Stanley Crowe (Greenville, SC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Righteous Kill [DVD] (DVD)
"Righteous Kill" hasn't been all that well-received -- Rotten Tomatoes is down on it -- but it seems to me at least as good as two other movies I've seen lately that were better received: "Stand-Up Guys" and "The Departed." I liked the latter, but it was a bit bloated, and one wonders whether Scorsese's name got it more credit that it deserved. "Stand-Up Guys" was quirkier, but gave Al Pacino a bit more opportunity to chew the scenery. In all three, though, I wouldn't fault the acting -- such problems as there are are more with script and pacing, and I actually quite enjoyed all three. "Righteous Kill" is very strongly cast, with Pacino, De Niro, Leguizamo, Donnie Wahlberg, Dennehy, Curtis Jackson (aka 50 Cent), and Carla Gugino. All of them do good work. The plot is very clever, and the mode of narration, which is a complicated form of flashback, is well-handled. The limitations of the movie are the limitations of the genre, which as some reviewers have commented, aren't all that different from the limitations of, say, "Law and Order" episodes, but "L&A" was a solid show, and so is this. Also, it comes in at well under two hours, and packs a lot of incident into that time frame.

The plot is clever, and I want to avoid spoilers, so I'll say no more than that it's a serial-killer search movie and that it puts a lot of weight on conflicts within a police department, where two different teams of cops (Pacino/De Niro and Leguizamo/Wahlberg) are working aspects of the same case (or cases, given that serial killing is the issue) and taking different views of the case. Brian Dennehy is underused as their boss, and Carla Gugino is a forensics detective with whom they all interact and who is in many ways the most interesting character in the movie. What makes her interesting becomes clear quite early, but I won't spoil your discovery of it in case you haven't seen the movie yet.

I wonder if some of the disappointment in the movie has to do with seeing De Niro and Pacino together (for the first time, really, for they hardly interacted in "Heat") in a movie that is pretty generic. Both have played in cop-thrillers before, and while they are given some personality quirks in the script that individualize them reasonably interestingly, these roles are hardly a stretch for either of them. That said, they are very effective. Neither one seems to be "dialing it in," so there's real pleasure in seeing two old pros going at it -- a bit like the pleasure of seeing Alan Arkin, Pacino, and Walken in "Stand-Up Guys." Yes, it would be nice to see "King Lear" with De Niro and Pacino as Lear and Gloster -- certainly a better script and more room to dig into character there -- but we take what we can get and enjoy it for what it is. Pacino's natural flamboyance is still there but well subordinated to the demands of characterization, and older De Niro's taciturnity is likewise familiar and yet given a twist. All in all, it's not a great movie, but it's very far from a disaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Missed Opportunity, 15 July 2013
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Righteous Kill [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Righteous Kill is a low rate cop thriller with a twist / revelation that can be worked out within the first five minutes. A filming style which feels more like a tv film than a big budget thriller with two of the most iconic actors of the last century, Righteous Kill fails on almost every level.

Zero tension, badly choreographed action and two geriatric coppers struggling to hold the audience's attention. De Nire and Pacino should have sparked off one another, instead it is a distict fizzle with no power. They play two cops who have been working the beat for a long time and have been friends for all that time. They look out for each other and respect each other, but when one of them is suspected in a string of murders their lives begin to unravel.

De Niro bombs around like he is trying to keep up with his younger cast mates and Pacino just looks bored. It was difficult to get to grips with them because the script seemed to acknowledge that they are older but then puts them is almost laughable situations. The worst being De Niro chasing down a target at one point, you can almost sense his assistant running behind the camera with a ventilator.

Roles like this are just no good for these two anymore. When your last decent films were Insomnia and Meet The Parents, it may be time to pass the baton.

A script so woeful that all suspense and drama is thrown from a window. However it is the overall style the director employs that shatters the film. Dodgy slow mo's which seem to stutter rather than highlight an important moment. Sterotypes are in abundance and everyone just looks a little lost. A constant shift from docu style filming to standard fixed camera also shows the inexperience and skill associated with this film.

De Niro plus Pacino should have made this film worth watching. Sadly it is a stark reminder of what they have become.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ......" He's gonna kill again. You know it, and I know it "......, 23 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Righteous Kill [DVD] (DVD)
The collaboration of two greats of the trade should have been something worth waiting for. Pacino and Deniro team up in this crime thriller as two cops hot on the trail of an unknown serial killer who leaves rhyming poems next to his victim's bodies. After several failed attempts at pinpointing a suspect, it becomes highly likely that the culprit may well just be an employee of the police force itself.

Technically this is Pacino's and Deniro's first outing together given that they only shared one (maybe two) scenes together in Heat and none in Godfather II. However, it's safe to say that this film cannot be mentioned in the same breathe as their other two classics.

On paper - this is a good film with potential, but in reality the poor script and execution disfigures any success the original idea is capable of. The direction is incredibly linear and straight forward for a film which aims to keep the viewer guessing. Surprisingly Pacino seems out of his depth in his role but Deniro's assured performance restores some dignity and tries it's best to carry the film. Many viewers were of the opinion that Pacino and Deniro should have made this film years ago and I agree with them. Trying to play cops as they did in this film, seems more like a `self righteous thrill' than anything else.

Although intriguing in parts and worth watching at least once for two very obvious reasons, it is difficult to take this film seriously. As the film progresses and the final acts are unraveled; it begins to border between hysterical and pathetic. This won't go down well in their long colourful careers; but will perhaps become best known for Pacino's and Deniro's attempt at re-inventing their earlier form, which made them such great actors in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overall disappointing, 26 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Righteous Kill [DVD] (DVD)
Having watched a trailer and being a big fan of Heat I expected Pacino and de Niro sharing (almost) 100% screen time to be a treat. As it has been said before the story becomes pretty predictable very early on, the characters' interactions are never surprising, twists aren't really twists and de-Niro-or-not, after the 10th m-f***er the swearing simply gets dull. The younger actors are either overwhelmed or not particularly good. This is one to get when everything else has been rented. Lukewarm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Righteous Kill [DVD]
Righteous Kill [DVD] by Jon Avnet (DVD - 2009)
£2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews