Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars24
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 May 2016
A brilliant CD, highly recommendable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2014
This is an annoying recording. The world (and especially this section of reviews) is full of gratuitous enthusiasm whenever musical styles get 'fused'. As if, in this modern/post-modern age, any act of artistic creation that blends chopped-up elements of different styles is somehow, a priori, to be slavishly enthused over. I do not agree. I believe every musical style has its own particular integrity, its own core conventions and modes of expression. If you can't pay homage to those, well, make your own music, form your own style, create something powerfully new. DON'T insert bits of jazz into Monteverdi - it just smacks of music students who haven't yet formed their own authentic and original creative ideas, sitting around drinking coffee and going "oh yeah, wouldn't it be really great to combine x with y". Pathetic. I love Monteverdi and I love Jazz. They have their own specific power, integrity and beauty. I don't mix them up.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
How glad I am to have discovered this wonderful ensemble. This recording is full of beautiful things, especially the exquisite duet from 'Poppaea'. No, not just that... all of it! Buy without hesitation, and revel in an hour of joyful, glorious music.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2012
Opens with the feastly short "Tocata" which sets the tone
"Ohime ch'io cado" is great because it had some modern jazzy ring to it-without being too obvious- which is a courageous thing to do
Some highlights are "Amor" "Si dolce è 'l tormento" the craving "Pur ti Miro"
I also love the voices of Philippe Jaroussky and Nuria Real
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
Splendid!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2012
Monteverdi's secular songs are a hidden gem. These are outstanding. They have a feel about them that is both contemporary and old. I have given several copies of this treasured CD to friends, I liked it so much. They have all adored it. The Toccata is the best way of starting the day that I know, and Nuria Rial (soprano) has a most beautiful voice.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
This album is just about the most perfect selection ever, let down in my view only by the unnecessarily jazzy track 2. Zefiro Torna is the best piece of music performed the best I have ever encountered.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
Christina Pluhar is amazing. This album is stunning. The arrangements are superb. Philippe Jaroussky is excellent. Doron Sherwin's cornet playing is amazing. Buy this album and you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.80
£10.50
£7.04

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)