Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's just funny
How best to sum up 'Nearest and Dearest'? It's overacted to the hilt, you can see most of the gags coming a mile off, many scenes look under rehearsed, the actor's forget their lines and there are many occasions when Jimmy Jewel especially can't keep a straight face. Throw in wobbly sets, Hylda Baker clearly struggling with her memory in the last two series and a few of...
Published on 29 Dec. 2008 by Mr. A. Whiteside

versus
1 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring
I couldnt watch all the series it was so boring.Jimmy Jewel must be the most boring,annoying actor i have seen in a comedy series ever
Published on 21 April 2013 by kath


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's just funny, 29 Dec. 2008
By 
Mr. A. Whiteside "tonyjackie3" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How best to sum up 'Nearest and Dearest'? It's overacted to the hilt, you can see most of the gags coming a mile off, many scenes look under rehearsed, the actor's forget their lines and there are many occasions when Jimmy Jewel especially can't keep a straight face. Throw in wobbly sets, Hylda Baker clearly struggling with her memory in the last two series and a few of the jokes repeated several times. So to sum up....It's flaming hilarious!! It's hard to explain just why this series works but it does.

I had this box set bought for me and did wonder if I would find 'Nearest And Dearest' funny anymore. I was laughing within seconds and it was actually funnier than I remembered it being. I think that it is so typically British in it's approach and even so very Northern. That's not to say that it won't appeal to anyone down South because it will. It has that almost endearing quality about it, the feeling that it was cheap to produce but done with vigour and warmth. It has a fine cast that give it their all and a few catchphrases thrown in for good measure.

This is a lovely comedy from a time when you could get away with a lot more things than you can today. It is a gem and this box set is sure to have you giggling. I say well done to all concerned and thank's for the memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nearest & Dearest, 29 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. P. Woodier "PeteW" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nearest and Dearest: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Memories of family laughter in my childhood. Very non-pc (suits me), particularly the mickey-taking of an old and nearly incontinent man who was married to a much younger woman. It was an unlikely marriage, and therefore very funny. Warm-hearted and old-fashioned comedy, and you could see such characters in real life here in the north. I was surprised to hear recently that Hylda Baker didn't get on with Jimmy Jewel off-stage. I bought all the series separately, but no regrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the 'dearest' comedies ever made!, 15 July 2007
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This has to be one of the funniest and most fondly remembered comedy shows ever made during the 1960s and early 70s. Full of innuendoes, political incorrectness, simple and innocent plots - this stuff is watchable time and time again. They don't make them like that anymore!

Treat yourself and never stop laughing with Hylda Baker and Jimmy Jewel. Watch for some rare early appearances of some famous stars of today; a stunning and sexy Shirley Stelfox (Emmerdale), Julie Goodyear and Maggie Jones (Coronation Street) and many more!

Worth its weight in gold!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny!!!, 7 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Nearest and Dearest: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching Nearest an Dearest as child and loving the half-hour episodes!! Nellie and Eli Pledge are just wonderful together as they try and run Pledge's Purer Pickles along with their elderly and faithful workers. Add to that Walter and his dutiful wife Lily and a cast of great extras makes for a first class situation comedy!! 7..yes 7 DVD's of black and white and then colour episodes for this price!!!! A must for those tho love situation comedies from the early tv days....you will NOT be dissapointed. Hylda Baker and Jummy Jewel apparantly did not get on well...though you would never know from their on-screen performances. Hylda Bakers malapropisms are legendary and her catchphrase "Oh!! I must get a little hand put on this watch!!" is so funny......please buy and wallow in nostalgia from a period of brilliant if sometimes non-pc comedy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah! the malaprops!, 18 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Nearest and Dearest: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Ah! the malaprops! once heard never forgotten.
"Nearest and Dearest" and "Not on Your Nellie" buyers be prepared for the "Boston Dangler" (Boston Strangler), "Mr Bigpiece" (Makepiece) and on introductions "You havent had the pleasure of me yet." Priceless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nearest and Dearest!, 5 Jun. 2009
By 
This review is from: Nearest and Dearest: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
A blast from the past, I had forgotten how funny this series was. Recommended to anyone looking for a few hours of nostalga!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 May 2011
This review is from: Nearest and Dearest: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Great fun and reflects how life was in some families in working class England at the time. Not only entertaining but of historical interest.
"Have you been Walter?!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dont be ricidudalous you big girls blouse, 13 May 2011
By 
Christine Nunn "bull fighter" (Western Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nearest and Dearest: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This complete series of Nellie and her pickle factory is hilarious. I was sat sitting there in my chair watching good old nellie and was laughing so much it was ricidudalous. She was a legend and I can say that without a fear of contraception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars N and D, 1 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nearest and Dearest: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Very good very pleased so refreshing to get good humour not like the rubbish we get today thank you so much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buying this DVD of nearest and dearest is the best thing I ever watched on television when I was ..., 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nearest and Dearest: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
buying this DVD of nearest and dearest is the best thing I ever watched on television when I was a young lad in my twenty's
but I brought this box set for my wife who was not born till 1979 so I buy all the old comedy's for her and she loves them I hear her laugh ever time see watches programmes of the box sets from on the buses Nearest and dearest curry and chips dad's army it is the best thing I ever did was to come on to amazon :) great bargains and great value :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nearest and Dearest: The Complete Series [DVD]
£22.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews