Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ian Ogilvy is the Saint!, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return of the Saint: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I hadn't seen this show in decades! So it was a great treat to watch it again. It's very entertaining, and Ian Ogilvy is adorable as Simon Templar. If you want to look back on the 70s, this box is a lovely way to do so. As bonus, it has some nice extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return of the Saint, 30 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return of the Saint: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent. I enjoyed it when it was first shown on television and I was surprised to find the Ian Ogilvy character portrayed a man with a past, updated and more in keeping with the book than some other portrayals. Beautifully photographed settings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the series with Roger Moore, but still enjoying it............., 23 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return of the Saint: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Have watched several shows and have enjoyed the Return of the Saint. The series with Roger Moore had more humor in various episodes than this series, but compared with the current programs offered on TV, we enjoy watching and do not regret buying the complete series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great TV how it used to be made, 26 Oct 2011
By 
R. Wilkinson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return of the Saint: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this mainly because I hadn't seen this since it was on the TV when I was a kid. It was a regular fixture after tea on a Sunday evening at my grandparents house when we used to visit them.
It was also very entertaining to watch. I also found it interesting to notice how action-dramas are made so differently today.

It also reminded me of time when you could read all the end credits without them being shrunk into one corner of the screen while listening to the end theme without it being talked over.
Halcyon days.

Also great theme music. It is now the ringtone on my phone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return of the Saint, 31 May 2011
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return of the Saint: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
The Saint is Simon Templar. He is a character from a series of books by Leslie Charteris. ITC had created a very successful TV series that ran from 1962-1969. It starred Roger Moore. Nine years later ITC were struggling. They were not as successful as they had been. They decided to revisit one of their most popular show formats, The Saint. Roger Moore was busy with James Bond so they brought in Ian Ogilvy to take the lead role of Simon Templar. Ian had a similar look to Roger and this helped to give the show an element of familiarity.
The Return of the Saint is a good addition to the ITC stock. It is in fact more of a re visualisation. There is no suggestion that this Simon Templar has the same memories as the one from the 1960s, he is about the same age as the earlier version as well so in fact this is an updated version.
This new version is similar in many ways. This regeneration still has the dashing and confident hero. And once again he goes all over the world. Beautiful women always surround him. He continues to help people out of difficult situations. Once again he has the white sports car. (Different model)
The Return of the Saint has been updated for the 1970s. It was well produced and is very entertaining. It is not as good as the original series but it is still a very good show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Return of the saint the compete series, 2 May 2014
By 
Peter Johansson (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return of the Saint: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Very nice picture and sound for it`s age
Allot of extras some narrated by Roger Moore.
Cool to se the style of clothes and china they used in the end of the 70ties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another gift for husband trapped in his 70's childhood., 4 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return of the Saint: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Catch him misty eyed on the sofa lookin' at this DVD, HAHAHA. Bless him. Classic tv show, husband happy, job done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars present, 18 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Return of the Saint: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
sorry cannot review this item as was given to a friend as a birthday present. but know he was delighted with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Return of the Saint: The Complete Series [DVD]
20.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews