Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars14
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 February 2001
People talk about 'The Beatles' and 'The Stones, 'The Beach Boys' and 'The Velvet Underground' and say how wonderful and important they are. All true of course. But people seem to forget how great 'Parliament' were. Just listen to 'Mothership Connection'. This album came out in 1975 and just for the bass playing and George Clinton's bizare take on history and the future was light years ahead of it's time. Jazz and soul and of course 'The Funk' all combine to make one of the most staggeringly original albums ever made. It's also one of the most funniest and funkiest albums I own.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2003
Probably the best parliament album - every track is a classic - you'll never need to press the skip button. The intro to the first track alone is worth the price. The last track is surplus to needs but you won't complain about it because it is such a funkin track and hearing it twice will be nothing but a pleasure to your earhole.
The remastered sound is good, bringing some instruments up in the mix, leading me to notice parts that were previously buried deep in the mix. The bass sounds amazing.
If you want a funky album, want to learn about the origins of Hip Hop, black culture or are just a P-Funk fan, then this is an essential album in an essential format, and by all means, get it now!
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2004
Parliament, like all the George Clinton projects was the epitome of funk in the 70's. No one else could come near, and everything else sounded like a poor imitation of albums like this one.
From beginning to end it is one long funk party, only slowing tempo for a short rest, then back to funkin it up! This is classic Parliament, with tracks like 'P Funk', and the amazing 'Give up the Funk'. If you like funk, then you'll love this!!!!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2008
Oh good golly. And to think that most of the P-Funk output could be purchased (on vinyl) at bargain-basement prices, in the late seventies and early eighties. Seriously! Those of us who are old enough to remember will be able to "testify". I was crazy enough to flog off my cut-out LP copy of this particular record, and i can't tell you how hard it was to replace it.

This album, in particular, is deemed to be the most "popular" of Parliament's recordings. Maybe because it is just so incredibly brilliant. One of the greatest soul/funk records EVER recorded, in my opinion. Even the "weaker" tracks like "Unfunky UFO" and "Handcuffs" are great. And then there are some seriously jazzy/funky grooves on this album, like "P. Funk" and "Star Child". George Clinton is simply outrageous, as he imparts his thoughts to the listener. Rather like an ultra-smooth version of Captain Beefheart.

The album closes with the amazing duo of "Give Up The Funk" and "Night Of The Thumpasorus Peoples". Two utterly fabulous grooves, which demonstrate how well these guys could play. Listen, on the latter, for the "smelliest" sounds ever to come out of a synthesiser. Go BERNIE!!!!

If you don't yet know this album, don't wait any longer.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 March 2016
This was a "what the heck" buy for me. I've never been a funk fan, outside of some red hot chili peppers in my youth, but wanted to expand my music collection. I'm glad I got this. Even though the song structures are more one long jam, its got some unbelievable grooves that just keep your head bobbing. Its also unremittingly cheerful and can't help but bring a smile to your face. The band seemed to be comprised of some of the absolute best in the business because they are tight to a fault. The horn section is a delight to listen to. So I would say, if you don't think you like funk, just buy it anyway you'll love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
A sure Cosmic blast that is truly Timeless. Real music, unlike Junk hip hop. This is music to get Yo Groove on AND keep it on!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 October 2004
This is serious fun(k). Go get it.
And get Hardcore Jollies too!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
Fantastic CD I have this on LP. and haven't been able to get hold of a copy till now on CD. Its Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2016
Funk all the way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
Classic P-funk
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)