Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars16
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 June 2003
i have been a big fan of Mariahs since she released Any time you need a friend, and every album she brings out gets better and better except Glitter.
This is what i rate her song at?
1. Through the rain 10/10 a prefect power balled and come back
2. Boy (i need you) 7/10 a cool and smooth rnb track
3. The one - 9/10 agaian a cool, sexy very melodic track
4. Yours - 8/10 great voice and a great bedroom song
5. You got me - 10/10 Great rapping from Jayz and Freeway with a catchy course
6. I only wanted - 7/10 Great back music with a style of latin influnces
7. Clown - 10/10 A very rnb song and its obivouse its about eminem
8. My saving grace - 10/10 This is another throught the rain song very hopeful
9. You had your chance - 10/10 A really good rnb song
10. Lullaby 8/10 This is another smooth rnb song great voice
11. Irresistiable - 10/10 A great beat this is part 11 of breakdown
12. Subtle invitation - 8/10 this is a new side to Mariah showing us what she can do with jazz
13. Bringin'on the heartbreak - 10/10 This is the best song on the album and my favourite too.
14. Sunflower of Alfred Roy - 8/10 a very sad and personal song
15. Through the rain remix - 9/10 One of Mariah's best remix
So go and get it its the best album in the world. :-)
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2006
This album was almost as ighly criticised as the Glitter debacle but shouldn't be treated like that. Because this album is actually very good and it is more important to listen to the fans than the critics.

So the album...

It is in the same sort of mood as The Emancipation Of Mimi but the upbeat songs aren't so club driven like To The Floor and Get Your Number. The most upbeat songs are in the similar sort of vain as It's Like That. But ther best songs on the album are ballads. Her Def Leppard cover shouldn't work but it is fact one of the best songs on the album. My personal favourite though is Clown as it has a really good chorus and the lyrics are a great comeback at the taunts of Eminem. The following song also is very good with Carey belting out the last notes. Of the more upbeat numbers the best are You Got Me and the bonus track I Know What You Want. Both are great summer songs with catchy hooks. Another amazing upbeat song in Subtle Invitation which is quite jazzy and one of the most original tracks on the album.

To sum up this album perfectly compliments The Emancipation Of Mimi so if you thought that was a great record then you will enjoy this. This is a classy chilled back R&B album.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2003
This is a amazing come back album. The songs are great and her voice is as strong as ever. There is a song for everyone. Through the rain is a emotion filled ballad, Boy (i need you) is a great party track, etc.
GET THIS ALBUM............NOW
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2004
Through The Rain/Great Ballad to start the album 10/10
Boy (I Need You)/A Strong point of the album samples Cam'Ron "Oh Boy" great track 10/10
The One/Jermaine Dupri produced track very good strong lyrics and good vocals 10/10
Yours/I heard this track Live its a wonderful song its vey sweet and very Mariah 10/10
You Got Me (Featuring Freeway & Jay-Z)/Also featured on Freeways album this is one of my favourite songs on this album the speeded up ad-libs are a nice touch 10/10
I Only Wanted/This is classic Mariah what she does best BALLADS great track love her vocals on this 10/10
Clown/A sorta diss to Eminem its a great tune and im not keen on Eminem so i love this the vocals are very airy its sorta hard to make out what shes singin (thank god the album booklet comes with lyrics) 10/10
My Saving Grace/Another good ballad sorta gospelly its very nice sweet song good one Mariah 10/10
You Had Your Chance/Another JD produced track starts off slow but picks up really good track its one of many highlights 10/10
Lullaby/Love the start of this its a great tune the beat and vocals are flawless 10/10
Irresistable (West Side Connection)/The only song im not keen on it seems like an album filler 5/10
Subtle Invitation/Its kinda jazzy cabaret sorta song its a great song thought very good lyrics 10/10
Bringin On The Heartbreak/Im curious to know what the original is like cos this is OFF THA HOOK!!! i cant stress this enuff i love this song so much i loved the video as well shame it didnt get any recognition 10*/10
Sunflowers For Alfred Roy/A nice dedication to her late father very sweet nice lyrics 10/10
Through The Rain (Remix)/Features her old backing singers Kelly Price & Joe they give the remix a gospelly feel they all work well 2getha 10/10
GO BUY THIS even though its nearly 2 yrs old its a great album
Its well worth it just for the Def Leppard cover Bringin'On The Heartbreak she's still got it after all these years
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2003
After Mariah's problems the last year it was obvious that this would be a very personal album, which it is.
Mariah express's herself like never before with tracks like "Through The Rain" which eveyone can relate to at some point of their life.
This in Mariah's best album to date with amazing Ballads and brilliant RnB tracks. My personal favorite is "Clown"
Every Song is amazing and the album is well worth every penny.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2003
I have always been a fan of Mariah Carey and especially liked her 90's stuff, it includes the top ten hit Through The Rain & Boy I Need You the sample of Camron's hit Oh Boy which i think is even better than the original. The album is a great fusion of R&B and Hip Hop and also has the ballads that she is best known for. This new version also contains 2 brilliant bonus tracks.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2008
1. Through the Rain. 10/10
2. Boy (I Need You). 10/10
3. The One. 10/10
4. Yours. 9/10
5. You Got Me. 8/10
6. I Only Wanted. 10/10
7. Clown. 8/10
8. My Saving Grace. 9/10
9. You Had Your Chance. 10/10
10. Lullaby. 10/10
11. Irresistable (Westside Connection). 10/10
12. Subtle Invitation. 9/10
13. Bringin' On The Heartbreak. 10/10
14. Sunflowers For Alfred Roy. 9/10
15. Through the Rain (Remix). 9/10
16. Miss You. 10/10
17. I Know What You Want. 10/10

OVERALL GRADE: 10/10
2001-2005 was Mariah's most underrated period, and sadly this album joins it. This is a back to basics album, with hip-hop sensibilities, this is not 2 stars as allmusicguide said it was!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2003
Mariah Carey has one of those fantastic voices that can get real emotion across. 'Through The Rain' is a fantastic song with powerful emotion throughout. The rest of the album is also very good, the softer songs that go powerful towards the end are the best because they best suit her vocal ability.
Mariah Carey is a fabulous artist and she is not recognised enough. I really do recommend this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2007
This album is absolutely wonderful and inspires me so much!!! Mariah is always good in every album. In my opinion she never wrote or performed a bad song. She is working very hard on every album and "Chrambracelet" is a good proof of it. Every song from this album is written and recorded from a deep soul and you can feel it when you listen. I only wish that Mariah can always be as good as she is now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
Even though the album was not a huge success it is one of Mariah's most underated albums ... The album itself is definitely more suited to the evening and has a soulful sound compared to her other releases..... If anything there is a similarity to her butterfly album ... All in all the album is defo worth a buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.09

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)