Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars15
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 February 2001
If you are a funk or old school hip-hop fan this is for you. A collection of classic songs that you'll have heard before but didn't know where to get them. So many pieces of these tracks have been sampled by hip-hoppers such as Big Daddy Kane, Eric B & Rakim, Public Enemy, Above the Law to name a few, which reflects the huge influence they've had on them. Pass the Peas and Same Beat by the JB's are the best tracks, but they are all hard not to like. This is the definitive jazz / funk / soul album - a must have for your collection. Volume 2 is also class.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2003
Many years ago I bought the tape version of this album for £2.99 lying at the bottom of the bargain basket, without really knowing what it was. I can safely say I've had my money's worth - this album is BRILLIANT. When my tape copy recently began to age, I decided to treat myself and by volumes 1, 2 and 3 on CD. The other two are good, but this is by far the best. The funk on Vol. 1 is simpler, cleaner a lesson to anyone who loves funk on the basic ingredients to a great groove. Guitars, bass and drums work perfectly together, and this album has great longevity. After many listens, the beat still gets your head rocking, whether your in the car or chilling at home.
The other two volumes are also good, but not quite as ... well, direct. Many of the tracks are heavily dubbed, and contrary to what one of the other reviewers says, James Brown's keyboard skills tend to spoil a good backing track. (e.g. Blow Your Head on Vol.2 features on Vol.3 in it's original form and it's SO much cooler). Vol 1 is instead really live - just a bunch of excellent musicians in the studio working over some grooves that they've built up. It's that live feeling that gives Vol.1 the edge.
BUY IT !!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2001
This is without the doubt the best album I own. What more can I say except this album, apart from being brilliant in it's own right, is also sampled on practically every hip-hop track worth mentioning for the past two decades. Fantastic!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 1999
This CD features not only the man himself, but some of the finest artists to have ever been part of the JB family. These people are James Brown! Just check out the Lyn Collins - Mama Feel Good track sample on this site - so damn funky.
The sequel is a must as well.
You will not be disapointed!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 22 March 2010
The premise of this album and the two further volumes that followed it, was to present work by the backing band and musicians associated with the Godfather of Soul, James Brown. Now that may sound like a strange idea - removing the main talent from the picture, but it works magnificently. Mr Brown's fingerprints remain all over the music even if he is not taking a lead singing role. Instead there are a series of instrumental grooves by the JBs and funky vocal performances by Lyn Collins in particular. The period is early to mid 1970s - so we are in prime funk territory here. Clearly something of a dictator, JB nevertheless saw himself at the centre of a musical community and its great to hear some of its other citizens get the credit they deserve. You won't regret buying this sensual funk spotlight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2016
I actually have this on Vinyl . i remember buying it in 1989 in Cruising records ,welling (still there!) and loved it then. as some one starting out on the roar to Rare Groove and funk this is an essential album. Love Lynn Collins "Rock me again"-funk personified. Very pleased to find this on CD along with volumes 2 & 3. brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2006
Yeh i think this is one of the best funk albums produced. I first heard this playing in HMV back in the 80s on a pair of bose speakers and the bassline shook the room and truley rocked the joint and from that day on i can safely say i was a changed man. This album changed what i expected of music and it then i realised what soul was. The tracks on this are all classics and i will only tire of it when im too deaf or mad to listen to them. The other two funky people albums are good but not as good as this. Anyway this has the diva that is miss Lynn Collins singing Take me as i am and im in love with this track and with her still, although im sure shes about 70 now. Thankyou the JBs and Miss Lynn Collins for such a funky experience and showing me what real soul is.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2004
I got this album mainly just for track 3, 'think(about it)' by Lyn Collins, which has benn one of my all time favourite tracks for ages. I only found out the artist and name of that track a few months ago, and now I finally have a legit recording of it. Anyone who hasn't discover 'the female preacher' should buy this now, and also buy the other two volumes. All the other tracks on the album are killer classics, but for me it's all about Lyn.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2015
Great series, recommended purchase. Fantastic musician and the godfather of soul
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
Funky. I'm in love with Lyn Collins. Fred Wesley and Maceo are kings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.