Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top, top album
On the justifiably critically acclaimed 'Odelay' Beck seems to try his hand at virtually every genre under the sun........And seems to succeed at each increasingly ambitious attempt. The album, aside from the obvious brilliance of 'new pollution' and 'where it's at', is a simply stunning exhibition of Beck's clear genius. Highlights would have to be the opening bars of...
Published on 5 July 2001 by jackobfryer

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good album
Good album, I'm not convinced it hasn't been a bit over hyped. There are some superb moments thats for sure.
Published on 3 Jun 2009 by W. Benyon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top, top album, 5 July 2001
This review is from: Odelay (Audio CD)
On the justifiably critically acclaimed 'Odelay' Beck seems to try his hand at virtually every genre under the sun........And seems to succeed at each increasingly ambitious attempt. The album, aside from the obvious brilliance of 'new pollution' and 'where it's at', is a simply stunning exhibition of Beck's clear genius. Highlights would have to be the opening bars of 'Where its at' and the entirety of 'novacane'. Cheers Beck, you've produced one of my top 5 albums!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Throw your two-bit cares down the drain ...", 21 Nov 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odelay (Audio CD)
I 'discovered' Beck through a rather odd route, after he (or rather, his head!) guested in an episode of Futurama which included a rendition of 'Where It's At', complete with washboard break(!)
I picked up 'Odelay' shortly afterwards and its one of the few CDs in my collection that I can listen to without skipping tracks. There's a mind-boggling range of styles on offer here, ranging from blues and folk, through lounge (listen to the intro to 'Where It's At') to hip-hop. Whilst there's a serious risk of the entire album drowning in a mish-mash of sound, it's to Beck's credit that he holds everything together.
Whilst Beck is obviously an extremely talented musician, the thing that makes this album for me is the vocals - most of the time he sounds half asleep, but for some reason it seems to work. Don't ask me why, it just does. The almost narcoleptic delivery adds an extra dimension to the slower songs, although some of the lyrics tend to be a bit obtuse.
There isn't really a bad track on this album, but for me the standouts are "Where It's At", the curiously uplifting "Lord Only Knows" and "Jackass", which is a supremely moving song, despite having a sample of a braying donkey at the end.
Don't let the fact that Beck is often lumped in with 'folk rock' artists put you off, this is an extremely varied album which is well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greats!, 6 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Odelay (Audio CD)
Though I've had this album for over three years I felt I needed to give a review due to the lack of them present at this site. This has got to be one of 1996s greatest albums, along with Eels Beautiful Freak, fusing hip-hop, pop, country, and alternative rock music. Beck really is a true ambassador for modern, contempary music and this is an album you must get. Stand out tracks include the singles New Pollution and Where it's at, and personal favourites are Novacane and Minus. Buy this album and be truely satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated if anything..., 20 July 2010
By 
O. Martin Aubrey "Paul Aubrey" (Liverpool ,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Odelay (Audio CD)
Ok, i have to start off by saying that i wouldn't recomend you buy Odelay as your first Beck album because it has a very full on sound to it......i'd ease yourself in with maybe 'Mutations' or 'Guero', that'll help you get the idea of who Beck is and what he's all about.

Now 'Odelay' ISN'T my favorite Beck album, i'd have to give that honour to 'Sea Change' & i guarantee you right now that some of you out there won't like this album, but if you've become bored with some of your bland commercial music & you want get away from all of that, this is the album for you. In my humble oppinion it is one of the greatest albums ever to grace this earth.

You can't really class Beck under any kind of "genre" and this album really underlines that fact, it's a real mish mash of songs, while you have some songs like 'Jack-Ass' & 'Ramshakle' that are very slow paced and melodic, you also have songs like 'Devil's Haircut' & 'Novacane' which have a really fast paced heavy metal-ish sound to them......& even then there are songs like 'Where it's at' & 'High 5' which have elements of Rap/Hip Hop to them......so even if you don't like the album on a whole, there HAVE to be a few songs that you like because the album is so genre-bending.

In my oppinion everyone should have this album in their collection, it is as essential as Sgt pepper by The Beatles, Highway 61 Revisited by Bob Dylan or Pet Sounds by the Beach Boys, I really do hold it in that high a regard.

I thoroughly recomend that you buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where it's at!, 6 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Odelay (Audio CD)
There are theoretically speaking some rules or should we sayguidelines to music well Beck has taken everyone and ignored them to create his own style, which works really well. Beck is a wonder of music he does what others will not do on this album he starts of with 'Devils Haircut' is simply a great song fused by about eight different other styles of music to form one great song. In fact in this album Beck fuses every known style of music together to create his own. This 14 track extravaganza is also held together by 'Novacane and Where Its At' which is his ode to rap music and its place in music. Each song on the album is a lyrical delight and this album should be bought on sight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seminal, 22 Sep 2006
This review is from: Odelay (Audio CD)
Ah Beck, now here is a talent.
This, his second album, produced by The Dust brothers, was even better than his debut, and established him as a major player.
He almost recklessly mixes lots of influences, from Grunge to Hip Hop, to Blues, he mangles everything up. Sonically he throws everything in including the kitchen sink, Tablas, chains, Harps, carboard boxes, harmoniums, feedback.... This just shouldn't work, but the genius of it is that it does...it makes perfect sense in the way more conventional stuff never could...and there are some great tunes here that will stay with you long after the CD goes back in the box. At the time of Odelay, nobody was mashing stuff up like Beck.

His image of intelligent, wasted life conjures up a beautifully cinematic view of the slacker underdog. Go with him, he will take you places you never dreamed of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top album, 90's nostalgia!, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odelay (Audio CD)
Love this album!! Takes me back to the 90's' but these tracks are also totally timeless. Definitely Becks best album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 90's Classic, 14 Feb 2013
By 
Sara Sousa Silva "Sagres Natura Surfcamp Port... (Sagres Algarve Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odelay (Audio CD)
This is the Best album Beck did till today, all the songs are great, its a classic from the 90's!! Everybody who really like music should have this album in a collection!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding, 11 Jan 2013
By 
Christian Croll (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Odelay (Audio CD)
Outstanding album, really good - would recommend it to anyone - the guy is a legend!!!!!! Cheap as well. d
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beck! Odelay!, 24 Feb 2012
This review is from: Odelay (Audio CD)
`Odelay' really defined the 90s in its kaleidoscopic collage of genres, mixing it all into a pot and handing it over to the master chefs, the Dust Brothers. Beck's lyrics are as obscure as ever, non-sequitur and all that, but the amazing thing is that you actually get those lyrics stuck in your head. As strange and otherworldly as those words seem, they are catchy as hell and won't leave your brain. There's food for thought.
The entire album is like that, songs that contain so many musical ideas it would be foolish to try and dissect them. "Devil's Haircut", "Lord Only Knows", "The New Pollution", "Where It's At", all incredible songs. Some songs aren't as well known, but are worth listening to nonetheless, like the Middle Eastern tinged "Derelict" or the melancholic "Readymade"
You don't need me to tell you this album is a must-buy. But I'll say it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Odelay
Odelay by Beck
Buy MP3 Album3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews