Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deliciously seductive tango for the new century
The similarity with the Gotan project is well documented - use of instruments and voice are at times eerily similar - but unlike the savvy French influence, the artists represented on this album (8 are listed across the 16 tracks) are Argentinian and steeped in the tradition of tango. The cool and contemporary feel of this album is achieved with subtle dance beats and...
Published on 8 Sep 2004 by Andy Millward

versus
33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Club Dance than Tango
I was quite disappointed with this album as it was more Club Dance music than real Tango. Most tracks start with traditional Tango instruments, but about 10 seconds in, the club beat takes over. I only like about 3 of the tracks where the beat is not quite as hard and the Tango sound is more obvious. I definitely prefer La Revancha del Tango by Gotan Project, as the...
Published on 9 May 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deliciously seductive tango for the new century, 8 Sep 2004
By 
Andy Millward (Tiptree, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bajofondo Tango Club (Audio CD)
The similarity with the Gotan project is well documented - use of instruments and voice are at times eerily similar - but unlike the savvy French influence, the artists represented on this album (8 are listed across the 16 tracks) are Argentinian and steeped in the tradition of tango. The cool and contemporary feel of this album is achieved with subtle dance beats and occasional sampling, but is highly authentic in its feel. Chill Groove may be the label, but this album frequently feels ageless.
The slinky late-night mood is set by the opening number - the stunning Montserrat by Orquestra del Plata. The use of strings and vibes made the hairs stand up on the back of my neck. While the tempo changes rapidly, each track is unique, vibrant and never less than listenable. It would be unfair to pick any out - each is worthy of attention. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Club Dance than Tango, 9 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Bajofondo Tango Club (Audio CD)
I was quite disappointed with this album as it was more Club Dance music than real Tango. Most tracks start with traditional Tango instruments, but about 10 seconds in, the club beat takes over. I only like about 3 of the tracks where the beat is not quite as hard and the Tango sound is more obvious. I definitely prefer La Revancha del Tango by Gotan Project, as the music is more recognisable as real Tango and suitable for Tango dancing. However, some people might like the more Club Dance orientated sound and it's certainly different than most of the music you hear these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tango Pacha style., 2 Feb 2007
This review is from: Bajofondo Tango Club (Audio CD)
Fans of The Gotan Project will smile, because here we have a whole swathe of artists ploughing a similar groovy furrow. Syncopated Tango rhythms rub shoulders with subtle house beats, groovy bass lines, sinewy violins and Tango piano. All produced by a broad collection of Argentinian and Uruguayan artists. There is an authenticity to these pieces which is hard to fake. Cool, groovy and rarely overstated, equally at home either after a night at Pacha, or over a leisurely meal with friends. Languid clubby South American tango-tinged grooves for hedonistic clubbers worldwide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly good, 20 July 2004
By 
Andy Millward (Tiptree, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bajofondo Tango Club (Audio CD)
This is a stunningly good compilation, which will appeal greatly to anyone who, like me, enjoyed the Futuro Flamenco series and other adventurous hybrid elements contained within the broad church of world genre. Paying close homage to tango rhythms, the artists here have grafted retro licks from piano, accordion, violin and voice to modern electronic beats and samples to create a cool and slinky dance music for a new Century.
It sounds fresh yet underpinned by a very traditional styles. Cool and sharp, chilled to the bone, and perfect late night party music. This won't go undiscovered for long!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Gotan...and amazing live, 22 Aug 2007
By 
Friar Tuck (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bajofondo Tango Club (Audio CD)
If you're looking for classical tango, as per previous reviewer, then look elsewhere now.
I was smitten by GotanP after hearing them on a Costes mix. However BajofondoTG are even better IMHO.
But whet really got me was when they were scheduled to play live in Brighton earlier this year. However on the night they hadn't arrived by the opening time. An hour later and still no show. Turned out they were delayed at the airport and eventually started a hour and half late.
You read lots about groups who's sound has lots of sampling, how they have a 'studio sound', and their live performace are somewhat lacking. Well I thought BTG do have that sort of sound.
How wrong I was. All the samples and drum etc.. together with visuals played behind the band, made for an amazing experience. ALL mixing/scratching was live and as for hand organ and fiddle...well lets just say they were better live than their cd...if you get the chance go and see. Best gig I've ever been too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great start, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bajofondo Tango Club (Audio CD)
But it goes off at a rather strange tangent towards the end. Great talent though, the music is consistently high grade throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tango used on Strictly Come Dancing, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bajofondo Tango Club (Audio CD)
Excellent tango Album. The title track was used in a wonderful tango on Strickly Come Dancing this year. Just a delightful album to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BajoFantastico, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is great easy listening music and will go down a treat as background music at any dinner party. Be cool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good tango, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bajofondo Tango Club (Audio CD)
Always looking for good music for Argentine Tango. Did some research and liked the Bajofondo Tango Club's style. Excellent album when you need a change from the more traditional tango music which is endlessly played in most milongas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 19 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bajofondo Tango Club (Audio CD)
Love this cd. The tracks are so relaxing but still have a great amount of bounce to them. I have now followed this one up with more in the genre because i liked it so much.

Great to have on loud in the house or car and also to have on sftly in the background.

Also try Gotan Project for similar tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac20e6cc)

This product

Only search this product's reviews