Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars50
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 March 2015
I have mixed feelings on this as it's probably one of my all-time favourite rock albums. On the positive, it's great to be able to replace my worn out, scratched and otherwise battered version of 25 years or so and be able to relive the moment when I first heard this fantastic album. On the negative, they're not giving us anything new here - the remixes and b sides were available back in the day on cd singles and vinyl and have already been uploaded to my ipod ... Surely it would have been better to give us a second (or third?) cd of live tracks from the era, or tracks that were otherwise unreleased?? We can only hope that such an album is in the waiting on the way ...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 October 2006
There is no doubt that this album, being the band's 2nd studio release, is a modern day classic in rock/metal. The band's debut album was largely unknown, at least in the Uk, and it was this second far superior record which brought the band well-deserved fame and fortune.

From a guitarist's perspective, I have to say this is one of my all-time favourite albums. Nuno provides us all with a humbling demonstration of fast, intricate and incredibly inventive playing. His tone, helped by the crystal clear production, is also superb.

This is, however, an album not just about great guitar riffs. The band demonstrate the rock songwriting art with great aplomb. There are so many infectious tunes on this and each member of the band contributes to the overall effect, particularly Gary Cherone who gives his best vocal performance for Extreme.

This is without question one of the great rock/metal records of the 90s and any self-respecting music fan should own a copy.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 November 2002
I love this CD. It is a rock album, but with influences from fnk to jazz to blues to soul........ what a band.
Nuno is a world class guitarist, and plays some scary stuff - he does a lot of tapping, but in an original way.
The songs are all good, and don't forget, More Than Words topped the charts the world over. But songs like Get The Funk Out, Decadence Dance, Suzi Wants.... and the title track are the reason so many people love the record, and it should be part of every happy home.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2000
I guess this was one of my absolute favourites when I was around 20. It still is.
Great ROCK songs. You can feel the extreme joy the band has in playing. You can feel the fun they had putting together the lyrics. Feel the "let's do it" experimental ideas in the sometimes unorthodox details added before and after every piece.
This is great fun, great lyrics (some might misinterprete them as very hostile and provoking and unethical - I just consider them as pure fun and sarcastic satire).
This is great rock, great music. Right from the speedy »Pornograffitti«, through the album's best piece »He-Man Woman Hater«, to the beautiful jazzy ballad »When I First Kissed You«.
EXTREMEly great satirical hardrock album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
Bought to replace a tape that got eaten by an ancient cassette recorder, for those that remember Extreme this was their greatest album so just had to be added to the collection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2002
After I first heard it I played it almost constantly in the car for about 4-5 months and in the end had to throw away the tape to get the music out of my head for a while. 12 years later the CD is in my collection and it is still my all time favourite (listened to in moderation!). The tracks go from the extreme of Funky Rock guitar music through to softer rock ballads (get the blood pressure down again).
If you like rock music and this is not in your collection it can only be because you have not listened to it yet.
While you are here make sure you pick up "III Sides to Every Story". Its a long album packed full of great tracks, almost a match for Pornograffitti.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2000
I bought this tape when it came out. For years it was in my hi fi constantly. I used to listen to it on the way to college and work. I was devastated when the tape was chewed up and worn. I now have the CD. The album has so much range to it. Some easy and hard rock stuff. IT IS A MUST GET. "Get the funk out" is one of my faves.
Buy it today! You will not regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
This is a real blast from the past. I lost this album when I moved years ago and now I am re united with a new copy. The music is timeless and can be enjoyed by all. I reccommend you purchase this album if you enjoy up beat, funky rock music. There are ballads thrown in for good measure that show the versatility and depth of the band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
Having seen them perform the complete album this week it reinforces their importance and phenomenal skills within this music genre. I love every track and the songs remain totally relevant to today. Gary Cherones voice has improved over time if you are afan I would recommend his EP Cherone nobody does a love song like him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2005
I cannot express the impact that this cd had on me, let me tell you the story.
I think it was 1990 I picked up a copy of Young Guitar (Japanise magazine) in tower records and noticed a cd a called Ponograffiti by a band called Extreme won best guitar album of that year, I had never heard of them, the cd was not in stock at any of the top London stores - More than Words was a good 7 or 8 months away of being a hit, on my way home I walked passed the London Marquee, guess who was playing in a few months time? thats right Extreme, Not being able to buy the cd I bought a ticket (No. 13 to be precise) managed to get th cd a few weeks later, by the time of the gig More than Words was in the top 10 in America Extreme were well on there way to being stars, I was there at the begining and boy do I miss this band
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)