Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


114 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cleverly contrived and enjoyable film.
This good old British film starts with an horrific train crash, which looks remarkably realistic, although obviously they used OO-Gauge rather than the real thing - but then we all accepted that in those days.
Then, without giving away the outcome, it cleverly takes the action back three days to show the events that led to the main characters being on that train...
Published on 30 Jun. 2002 by susanp26

versus
59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Film, Poor Sound
This is a well-paced film, full of drama, with many lighter moments. The cast is well chosen, the story engaging, but it is badly let down by this DVD presentation. There are no subtitles and the sound is simply abymsmal. I had to make some very heavy adjustments to my home theatre audio to rid the film of dreadful hiss and a whistle on the soundtrack.

What a...
Published on 16 Mar. 2009 by Rick


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

114 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cleverly contrived and enjoyable film., 30 Jun. 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Train Of Events [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This good old British film starts with an horrific train crash, which looks remarkably realistic, although obviously they used OO-Gauge rather than the real thing - but then we all accepted that in those days.
Then, without giving away the outcome, it cleverly takes the action back three days to show the events that led to the main characters being on that train. ('Train of Events' - get it?) There are four story lines, those of the engine driver, a young couple who are desparate to make a new life for themselves, an actor with something rather nasty in his luggage, and a philandering musician who (on the instructions of his wife) is trying to shake off an amorous concert pianist.
As their stories are told we are treated to a clever mix of comedy, family drama, suspense and crime.
The action takes us up to and a little beyond the crash, showing the after affects on all the characters.
There are some fine stalwarts of the post-war film industry in this production. Good old Jack Warner, married to equally good old Gladys Henson, Peter Finch, a very young Leslie Phillips, the ever elegant Valerie Hobson and the impish-looking John Clements.
If you had forgotten what life could be like in London just after the War this will remind you.
Watch it and be entertained!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Film Quality, 4 Nov. 2010
By 
Mr. A. Crank (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Train Of Events [DVD] (DVD)
Despite the sound quality criticism you have to consider the age of this film and the fact that it is in Mono. However it is slightly out of sync perhaps two frames at most, to some this may be a problem, some may not even notice! Possibly there is much post sync because of the noise of the trains. The picture quality is pretty good although very slightly on the grey low contrast side.
Overall it is a good copy and a clean copy, sound is fine and if you want to see trains, excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Film, Poor Sound, 16 Mar. 2009
By 
Rick "rick_in_tas" (Tasmania, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Train Of Events [DVD] (DVD)
This is a well-paced film, full of drama, with many lighter moments. The cast is well chosen, the story engaging, but it is badly let down by this DVD presentation. There are no subtitles and the sound is simply abymsmal. I had to make some very heavy adjustments to my home theatre audio to rid the film of dreadful hiss and a whistle on the soundtrack.

What a shame these wonderful pieces of a Britain long lost aren't given the respect that they desrve.

Buy it if you would love to see a portrait of Britain as she was, but beware of the sound!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Train of Social History, 15 Mar. 2009
By 
S. Mortimer (Coventry) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Train Of Events [DVD] (DVD)
Train of events is truly a product of its time reflecting all the immediate post war back round to a collection of tales of sadness, hope triumph and disaster. with some neat comic twists, I could watch it for all the real life scenes that now look totally alien to what we have today, the plot and acting are a BIG bonus though, throughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent period piece, 7 Sept. 2011
By 
Mr. P. A. Dodd "padman" (Kent England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Train Of Events [DVD] (DVD)
I love films of this genre and being a retired Railwayman made this film even more appealing. It maintained an air of authenticity throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars post war Britain, 14 July 2010
By 
J. Wise "John" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Train Of Events [DVD] (DVD)
I suppose it brings back memories of the films I used to go and see after the war - and I feel the story, acting and direction stand up well - all come over as real people & characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Train Crash viewing, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Train Of Events [DVD] (DVD)
I had seen this on the tv years ago so when the chance came up to getting a dvd I jumped at it. The film is excellent wit Jack Warner in the lead (I remember him in Dixon of Dock Green). If you like railways or thrillers this does both; get one!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars train of events dvd, 22 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Train Of Events [DVD] (DVD)
its just a great british film history, great actors and great story line. see for yourself,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great 5 star Movie, 9 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Train Of Events [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely first class bit of British social history wrapped up in a first class film. The blk & wht presentation, those railway yard shots with steam, the 1940's living space of the family, creates the unforgetable atmoshere of this great British Ealing movies from the late 1940's (1949) - Love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia but with modern resonances., 25 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Train Of Events [DVD] (DVD)
Train of Events [DVD]Although it captures the greyness of post-war Britain superbly and is a treat for steam enthusiasts, what puts this movie above others of this era, such as The Blue Lamp, is that in addition to the evergreen storylines - the crime of passion and the serial adulterer - there are situations which we probably associate more with today than then. The train drivers' irregular hours put a strain on their relationships, and an illegal alien finds that people can treat him how they like because he cannot complain to the authorities. The express train driver, played by Jack Warner, seems quite a modern father for the period; although he has a definite view on whom he would like his daughter to marry, he lets her get on with sorting out her relationships for herself without giving her stern moral lectures. When, much to her fiance's disapproval, she meets up with an American serviceman she knew during the War, she finds he is married and has to spend the evening looking at pictures of his wife; but as she confides to her father, she's not going to tell her fiance that.
There are youthful appearances from Leslie Phillips as a locomotive fireman and Peter Finch as an actor with a dark secret. One's heart warms to Joan Dowling, playing a woman who is devoted to her German boyfriend, despite his wanting her to dump him because of all the problems he's causing her. On the comedy side, we have John Clements as a philandering orchestra conductor, and a delightful performance from Valerie Hobson as Stella, his wife, who deals with his amours as a civilised lady should. I'm sure many people admired Ms Hobson's subsequent decision to give up her career and devote herself to her husband, John Profumo, but we lost a lovely actress when she did.
And bringing together these disparate stories is the train they all find themselves on. Definitely one of the better British movies of the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Train Of Events [DVD]
Train Of Events [DVD] by Sidney Cole (DVD - 2009)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews