Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


107 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cleverly contrived and enjoyable film.
This good old British film starts with an horrific train crash, which looks remarkably realistic, although obviously they used OO-Gauge rather than the real thing - but then we all accepted that in those days.
Then, without giving away the outcome, it cleverly takes the action back three days to show the events that led to the main characters being on that train...
Published on 30 Jun 2002 by susanp26

versus
59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Film, Poor Sound
This is a well-paced film, full of drama, with many lighter moments. The cast is well chosen, the story engaging, but it is badly let down by this DVD presentation. There are no subtitles and the sound is simply abymsmal. I had to make some very heavy adjustments to my home theatre audio to rid the film of dreadful hiss and a whistle on the soundtrack.

What a...
Published on 16 Mar 2009 by Rick


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

107 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cleverly contrived and enjoyable film., 30 Jun 2002
This review is from: Train Of Events [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This good old British film starts with an horrific train crash, which looks remarkably realistic, although obviously they used OO-Gauge rather than the real thing - but then we all accepted that in those days.
Then, without giving away the outcome, it cleverly takes the action back three days to show the events that led to the main characters being on that train. ('Train of Events' - get it?) There are four story lines, those of the engine driver, a young couple who are desparate to make a new life for themselves, an actor with something rather nasty in his luggage, and a philandering musician who (on the instructions of his wife) is trying to shake off an amorous concert pianist.
As their stories are told we are treated to a clever mix of comedy, family drama, suspense and crime.
The action takes us up to and a little beyond the crash, showing the after affects on all the characters.
There are some fine stalwarts of the post-war film industry in this production. Good old Jack Warner, married to equally good old Gladys Henson, Peter Finch, a very young Leslie Phillips, the ever elegant Valerie Hobson and the impish-looking John Clements.
If you had forgotten what life could be like in London just after the War this will remind you.
Watch it and be entertained!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Film Quality, 4 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. A. Crank (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Train Of Events [DVD] (DVD)
Despite the sound quality criticism you have to consider the age of this film and the fact that it is in Mono. However it is slightly out of sync perhaps two frames at most, to some this may be a problem, some may not even notice! Possibly there is much post sync because of the noise of the trains. The picture quality is pretty good although very slightly on the grey low contrast side.
Overall it is a good copy and a clean copy, sound is fine and if you want to see trains, excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Film, Poor Sound, 16 Mar 2009
By 
Rick "rick_in_tas" (Tasmania, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Train Of Events [DVD] (DVD)
This is a well-paced film, full of drama, with many lighter moments. The cast is well chosen, the story engaging, but it is badly let down by this DVD presentation. There are no subtitles and the sound is simply abymsmal. I had to make some very heavy adjustments to my home theatre audio to rid the film of dreadful hiss and a whistle on the soundtrack.

What a shame these wonderful pieces of a Britain long lost aren't given the respect that they desrve.

Buy it if you would love to see a portrait of Britain as she was, but beware of the sound!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent period piece, 7 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. P. A. Dodd "padman" (Kent England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Train Of Events [DVD] (DVD)
I love films of this genre and being a retired Railwayman made this film even more appealing. It maintained an air of authenticity throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Train of Social History, 15 Mar 2009
By 
S. Mortimer (Coventry) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Train Of Events [DVD] (DVD)
Train of events is truly a product of its time reflecting all the immediate post war back round to a collection of tales of sadness, hope triumph and disaster. with some neat comic twists, I could watch it for all the real life scenes that now look totally alien to what we have today, the plot and acting are a BIG bonus though, throughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars train of events dvd, 22 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Train Of Events [DVD] (DVD)
its just a great british film history, great actors and great story line. see for yourself,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars post war Britain, 14 July 2010
By 
J. Wise "John" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Train Of Events [DVD] (DVD)
I suppose it brings back memories of the films I used to go and see after the war - and I feel the story, acting and direction stand up well - all come over as real people & characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Train Crash viewing, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Train Of Events [DVD] (DVD)
I had seen this on the tv years ago so when the chance came up to getting a dvd I jumped at it. The film is excellent wit Jack Warner in the lead (I remember him in Dixon of Dock Green). If you like railways or thrillers this does both; get one!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great 5 star Movie, 9 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Train Of Events [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely first class bit of British social history wrapped up in a first class film. The blk & wht presentation, those railway yard shots with steam, the 1940's living space of the family, creates the unforgetable atmoshere of this great British Ealing movies from the late 1940's (1949) - Love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sounded ok to me, 3 Oct 2011
This review is from: Train Of Events [DVD] (DVD)
I was a bit apprehensive about ordering this dvd, having read the comments about the sound quality. In the event, the sound is absolutely fine -- without any need to take the film's age into account -- go ahead, buy and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Train Of Events [DVD]
Train Of Events [DVD] by Sidney Cole (DVD - 2009)
9.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews