Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wail of a time
England, the 16th century. Wicked Lord and corrupt magistrate Edward Whitman(Vincent Price) beats the fear of God into any villagers who follow the 'old religion'. He goes too far by massacaring members of a coven of witches led by Oona, but he spares her life, to teach her a lesson. Oona invokes a curse upon Whitman and his family. Soon an ancient creature born of fire...
Published on 14 Oct 2009 by Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Explotative titty
I hadn't seen this in probably 30 or 40 years, and I suspect the last time it would have been heavily cut for the TV. This starts off in Witchfinder General mode, but doesn't match that films style. It certainly has some good moments mainly involving Vincent Price, but as other reviewers have commented it seems to be obsessed with exposing womens breasts, particularly in...
Published 16 months ago by S J Buck


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wail of a time, 14 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry of the Banshee [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
England, the 16th century. Wicked Lord and corrupt magistrate Edward Whitman(Vincent Price) beats the fear of God into any villagers who follow the 'old religion'. He goes too far by massacaring members of a coven of witches led by Oona, but he spares her life, to teach her a lesson. Oona invokes a curse upon Whitman and his family. Soon an ancient creature born of fire is sent to destroy the Whitman family
Okay, the story is a bit of a mess. However its a highly enjoyable, atmospheric mess, and whilst many scenes seem to have been added for the sole purpose of baring the breasts of various female actresses, once we get into the 'curse' part of the story it finds a steely determination to keep the narrative flowing smoothly.
Vincent Price is in very fine form. Patrick Mower is also very good as 'son of the forest' Roderick. Theres fine support also from Stephan Chase who gives a great exercise in lip smacking villiany as Whitman's caddish son Sean, and theres a nice cameo from Hugh Griffith as cowardly gravedigger Mickey.
If that wasnt enough to convince you to buy this, then how about Terry Gilliam's wonderful Pythonesque opening titles(almost worth the price of admission on their own), a rousing music score by Les Baxter and it also looks great, courtesy of John Coquillion's superb cinematography. Another point of interest is that this film seems to take the side of the witches, as Whitman's brood are a thoroughly despicable bunch, and the witches reluctantly take action only when provoked.
The only real negative is the lack of decent extras, but this is an Optimum releasse of a Brit Horror, so I shouldnt have expected any different. I suppose we should all be grateful that at least one company is releasing them at all.
Great fun. 4 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Explotative titty, 24 April 2013
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cry of the Banshee [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
I hadn't seen this in probably 30 or 40 years, and I suspect the last time it would have been heavily cut for the TV. This starts off in Witchfinder General mode, but doesn't match that films style. It certainly has some good moments mainly involving Vincent Price, but as other reviewers have commented it seems to be obsessed with exposing womens breasts, particularly in the first half of the film. And whilst this is all very nice to look at (as a man), it really doesn't do the film any favours, and I started thinking, oh not again. A little more character development would have been nice.

Aside from Vincent Price there is Patrick Mower, who is better than I expected. The special effects are pretty good for the era, and the script isn't bad at all.

Best of all was the ending, which was a nice change from the usual 'happy ever after' horror film cliché. The picture quality is pretty good and at the right price this is worth owning - but I wouldn't pay a lot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cry of the Banshee, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry of the Banshee [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
A good film, and worth a few watches, when you want a nice scary film, not the best horror I have watched but good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cry of the Banshee DVD, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry of the Banshee [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
Love everything with Vincent Price in it, this one not one of his best but still OK. Can be quite gruesome in parts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something stirrign in the woods, 8 Jan 2010
By 
H. T. Davies - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry of the Banshee [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
Elizabethanish England, local coven, Vincent Price.

What more needs to be said?

Patrick Mower is good, a long way from his current Emmerdale incarnation. Vincent price is a bit over the top as usual and Hilary Dwyer is once again the buxom love interest. There's a fair amount of gratuitous nudity but basically it's a simple tale of local folk oppressed by evil Lord and then getting their own back quite effectively.

As another reviewer commented there are no extras butthen that allows you to conventrate on the film. Not in the same league as Witchfinder General or Blood on Satan's Claw, but if you like those I think you'll like this offering too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cry Of the Banshee and Murders In the Rue Morgue., 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like both in this double bill: Vincent Price, Cry of The Banshee the savage evil against every one in the village who is against him. The remake of Murders In the Rue Morgue staring Herbert Lom based on seeking revenge. This film is just as good as the the 1932 version original with Bela Lugosi and I enjoy watching and having both versions to my film collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is this the most underrated horror movie of the seventies?, 20 Nov 2004
By 
The Bookmark "southern_ferrets" (Rainham,Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Gordon Hessler's delirious "Murders in the Rue Morgue" is a must-see for all lovers of macabre, bizarre movies, and it has haunted me since I first saw it during its very limited British release in 1971. The plotline is closer to "Phantom of the Opera" than the two previous Hollywood versions of Poe's celebrated tale. In 1880's Paris a theatre company staging a "grand guignol" adaptation of Poe's story is plagued by a series of grisly murders. The victims were all members of the company ten years earlier, when a leading actor (Herbert Lom) was horribly disfigured by acid in an on-stage accident - or was it? In the present, the beautiful leading lady (Christine Kauffman) is troubled by a recurring nightmare in which she is menaced by a hooded figure in the mansion which was her childhood home.Meanwhile the local police chief (Adolfo Celi)suspects that her actor-manager husband (Jason Robards Jr.) is withholding information which links murders in the past and present.
The convoluted plot interweaves past, present, illusion, reality, dream and theatre; this is by far the most audacious of American International Picture's series of Poe adaptations. It was all shot on location in Toledo, Spain,which accounts for the very different look it has to Hessler's previous horror movies for AIP, which were all shot in England.
On the debit side, some of the dialogue has to be heard to be disbelieved, and Jason Robard's performance is unrelievedly dour. Vincent Price, where were you when they needed you? Post-production interference by the studio resulted in a heavily cut release print which rendered much of the plot meaningless, but thankfully the new D.V.D. issue gives us restores much of Hessler's final cut,and contains ten minutes of previously "lost" footage.
How many contemporary horror movies are as rich in ideas and levels of interpretation as this? Much credit must go to screenwriter Chris Wicking, a true original who was rarely trusted with a sole screenwriting credit -here he's working on a treatment by American hack Henry Slesar- but whose work in the genre stands out from the depressingly formulaic norms of British cinema. This is a fine D.V.D.issue, with the welcome bonus of a fifteen minute introduction by the director.
Thank you, M.G.M.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Simply...awful!, 8 Oct 2012
By 
P. Conant "amz463" (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cry of the Banshee [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
I enjoy camp, classic 'horror' films and was looking for a film that terrified me as a child which featured a banshee wailing and all the exciting bits that went with it.

This utterly boring, long winded tosh certainly wasn't it. The suspected banshees were just a few dogs howling. Vincent Price was at his worst in this film...very disappointing. Elizabeth Bergner made a very appropriate deranged eccentric as the one and only Oona, the witch ("my chill-ren, my chill-ren"). Frankly, she was entertaining, Vincent was embarrassing.

Buy it if you must have a complete collection of Vincent Price films and be prepared to fast forward, otherwise...oh, don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cry of the banshee, 15 Aug 2010
By 
A. W. Wilson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cry of the Banshee [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
Many years have passed since I saw this and I had forgotten how deeply unpleasant it is. The writers and director seem to be voyeuristic misogynists, with rape torture and brutality against defencless (bare breasted ) women, which just isn't my cup of tea. Together with appalling overacting which puts Oliver Reed to shame, and a wandering daft script, this, for me is one of the worst films I've ever seen. What persuaded Price to do it? I do love Hilary Dwyer tho, and wonder why she wasn't used more? It is fun reading the reviews on Amazon-long may opinions differ!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars long-winded tosh!, 13 Sep 2012
By 
jeremiah harbottle (Littlebourne, Kent.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cry of the Banshee [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
vincent price made some great british horror films during the 1960s and early 1970s but this one is not amongst his best.
the main problem with "cry of the banshee" is that it doesn't make a good deal of sense, at least not to me.
vincent price's character is largely under-developed which is the biggest negative thing that can be said about this film.
it seemingly takes an age to discover who the banshee is and by the time i found out who it was near the end, i had mainly lost interest.
the script, the narrative, the pace and the direction are all substandard to put it kindly........
i'd only recommend this film if you are either a completist of vincent price like me or if you are a devoted fan of british horror films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cry of the Banshee [DVD] [1970]
Cry of the Banshee [DVD] [1970] by Gordon Hessler (DVD - 2009)
Used & New from: 6.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews