Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
14
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2008
I ordered this cd over Visage's first album "Visage" for one reason: I thought the version of "Fade To Grey" included here was the "extended version".. as stated by the first reviewer here "A Customer". Be in no doubt.. the version here is the REGULAR version we all probably have elsewhere. How disappointing as I thought finally I was getting the 6 minute Dance Mix. (I've also seen this tracklisted elsewhere on other sites). This time the tracklisting provided here by Amazon is absolutely accurate. So.. yes Visage's "Best Of.." but NO EXTENDED "FADE TO GREY" on this disc.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2001
Take one part 'Visage', one part 'The Anvil', then add 'Fade to Grey' and a dodgy 'B' side and mix.
There are two reasons why this album is a must-have; 1)Fade to Grey (extended remix - classic!) and 2)Damned Don't Cry (who said synthesizers aren't soulful?). Both brilliant examples of early eighties synth-pop up there with Ultravox's 'Vienna' and Human Leagues' 'Dare'.
The Ultravox connection - i.e. Midge Ure - is very noticeable on this compilation and he's clearly the musical director on the earlier tracks. Compare 'Fade to Grey' with 'Love Glove'(released after he'd left) and you'll see what I mean! The CD inclusion of 'Love Glove' or the Bassheads remix (which is an interesting early 90's dance track though nowhere near as good as the original) don't really add anything, but give you some idea of what happened to Visage when they stopped producing quality pop tunes. If you can ignore the slightly poor 'In the year 2525','Tar' and 'Pleasure Boys' (a bit of CD programming might come in useful here) then this is a definitive 80's synth-pop album of the highest order!
11 comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2008
The good tracks on this are really good. The album is a near complete record of the band's fortunes. When all was well in the band, the music was fantastic, creative and different. However, as time went on the disagreements started, band members began to drift away and the music began to change.

Enjoy a collection of their biggest tracks. Even now 'fade to grey' and 'mind of a toy' have not been matched. Two or three of the other tracks are nearly as good.

So there you have it. A real reminder of what might have been, in happier times. Certainly enough to be a very worthy addition to your collection.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
To this day I pull out the visage tunes and listen to them, loved them as a kid in the early eighties and have albums on vinyl and best of on cd. My only real disappointment is why the hell did they get rid of the 12" version of fade to grey why not include the single & 12" version? Instead we have the utter useless basshead remix...???? what a load of rubbish and very poor track and terrible filler.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This first came out on cassette and LP as the original 'best of' compilation.

As a teenager, it was a dream intro into the group and it really does contain some awesome tracks.

However, with the dawning of CD and downloads, the choice of compilations has expanded and there are now greater collections available, including rare tracks, unusual mixes and foreign language recordings.

Great as a starter (or for completists), but there are more innovative collections on the market.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
WAS NOT FOR ME, A FRIEND ASKS ME TO ORDER FOR HIM. I'm not interested in this music,THE ITEM ARRIVED IN A FEW DAYS,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2008
This is basically a very shoddy and thrown together compilation. With a dance culture being such an integral part of the whole New Romantic/Synthpop world it seems nonsensical to me that the versions of the songs on this compilation are not the 12 inch mixes. And it's not as if the 12 inches of tracks like "Fade To Grey", "The Damned Don't Cry" and "Night Train" were those barely extended longer versions that plagued us when 12 inch versions started to become commonplace in pop as opposed to disco and funk at the start of the 1980s. Visage 12 inches as with a lot of their electropop ilk were often imaginatively extended and so far superior to the 7inch edit.And they're still not available on CD and they wonder why people download for free.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
takes me right back to the early 80's. I had this on cassette tape for my 'boom box' back then.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2015
Still enjoy listening to Visage you'll enjoy hearing it all again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
Excellent CD, Superb service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)