Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential album from Robert Cray
Robert Cray has been, and continues to be, a breath of fresh air to blues music. Cray strongly maintains the use of a story in every song which is traditional to the blues, and he has the great ability to make every song a mini drama of betrayal, or bitterness, hope, or love, or whatever; all moving atmospheric songs which you can actually picture as you listen. This...
Published on 30 Jun. 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Great album and packaged well enough
Published 2 months ago by Mr. L. J. Martin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars great album, never heard him before but because he ..., 4 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Strong Persuader (Audio CD)
great album ,never heard him before but because he is doing a show with Beth Hart who I adore I looked him up and was not disappointed by this album ,great modern blues .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Robert Cray band., 18 April 2015
By 
Vivek K. Sarawgi (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strong Persuader (Audio CD)
This is an earlier Robert Cray C.D. It set the standard for Robert. Excellent vocals and guitar work. A must for any Robert Cray Band fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A marvellous album by my hero (this week). I listen to it over and over again. As I did 25 years ago on cassette tape. Remem, 17 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strong Persuader (Audio CD)
A marvellous album by my hero (this week). I listen to it over and over again. As I did 25 years ago on cassette tape. Remember those?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It persuaded me..., 7 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Strong Persuader (Audio CD)
I've owned this album since it was first released, and I still listen to it - there's a freshness and vitality to these songs that I don't think Robert ever really managed to recapture; later on in his career he got just a little bit too smooth and almost corporate-sounding on occasions for my liking, but here he is just delightful.

The songs themselves avoid all the pitfalls; they're very strong both melodically and lyrically, and have great hooks. As an album it is a real accomplished bit of work - all of the songs are solid, consistent and tight - there's no fillers here. And of course there's Mr. Cray's guitar playing; a liquid, expressive style that has a twang to it that carries echoes of the late Johnny Guitar Watson. It's a modern style that is recogniseably him as soon as you hear it.

I think of this as the definitive Robert Cray album. It's the sound of an unjaded artist at the peak of his powers enjoying doing what he does best, and I would unhesitatingly recommend it to anyone who likes good blues-based soul. It's hard to believe it came out so long ago!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this, 17 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strong Persuader (Audio CD)
Bought this on Vinyl form in days of yore. Just topping up CD collection. I love this CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strong Persuader (MP3 Download)
Crey becoming more soulful in his portraying of the Blues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Cray, 2 Jun. 2000
By 
Darryl Godfrey "Darryl Godfrey" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Strong Persuader (Audio CD)
This CD provides a good starting point for the smooth, slightly jazzy blues sound of Robert Cray. Expect to hear his typical sophisticated sounds with a mixture of mellow and up-beat tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strong Persuader (Audio CD)
Bought as present he was pleased as punch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Mar. 2015
By 
R. Purvis (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strong Persuader (Audio CD)
Good to get this back into my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strong Persuader (Audio CD)
Great album and packaged well enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Strong Persuader
Strong Persuader by The Robert Cray Band
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews