Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice But Skimpy Collection
Grace Jones relativley short music career never really hit the heights of success it often deserved. Her first three disco albums, PORTFOLIO (1977), FAME (1978) and MUSE (1979) were fairly forgetable although they did spawn at least one memroable track per album - all of which make there way onto this definitive compilation of Grace Jones work. LA VIE EN ROSE, I NEED A...
Published on 22 May 2006 by Ian Phillips

versus
1 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother
This is a nice dance track, a mixture of funk and disco of the 70s and 80s. Nothing more, nothing less. I think it is fun, the Parisian accordion in "I've seen that Face before" takes you quite by surprise. Honestly, I think she is a very eccentric women, but she looks and presents herself better than she sings. All in all, I guess the album is fun, but you...
Published on 16 Nov 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice But Skimpy Collection, 22 May 2006
By 
Ian Phillips (Bolton, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Island Life (Audio CD)
Grace Jones relativley short music career never really hit the heights of success it often deserved. Her first three disco albums, PORTFOLIO (1977), FAME (1978) and MUSE (1979) were fairly forgetable although they did spawn at least one memroable track per album - all of which make there way onto this definitive compilation of Grace Jones work. LA VIE EN ROSE, I NEED A MAN and DO OR DIE had that early Grace Jones disco sound which was quickly abandoned in 1980 prior to the release of one of her very best albums, WARM LEATHERETTE, which succesfully combined the sounds of New Wave, reggae, rock and funk. From the album was PRIVATE LIFE (a top 20 success in the U.K) which also is rightly included on this album as this by far is one of her greatest recordings. This condensed compilation also features tracks such as MY JAMACIAN GUY (LIVING MY LIFE;1982), WALKING IN THE RAIN (NIGHTCLUBBING;1981), SLAVE TO THE RYTHM (SLAVE TO THE RYTHM;1985) and possibly her very best recording,PULL UP TO THE BUMPER (NIGHTCLUBBING;1981). This compilation coincided with her departure from Island Records for a deal with EMI which did not bring her any of the high success she enjoyed with her time at Island. Often strange but compelling album from an equally extraordinary though blatantly weird and off-the-wall artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ladies & Gentlemen, Here's Grace..., 10 Jun 2004
By 
OMG! It's got a plug! (Winchester) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Island Life (Audio CD)
As compilation albums go, this is a good offering. I'm not a big Grace Jones fan, and mainly bought this album for the two songs that bookend it - 'La Vie En Rose' and 'Slave To The Rhythm', two excellent songs. In between there is some vintage disco floor filler stuff, and the tongue-in-cheek 'Pull Up To The Bumper'. In summary, a worthy addition to any music collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memory Lane, 18 Nov 2011
This review is from: Island Life (Audio CD)
A lot of people think that I must either be gay or looney to be a Grace Jones fan. Wait, what? Why? I am neither. I grew up listening to Grace, and listening to her music just confirms to me that I have great taste in music. This compilation is near definitive if you ask me. But, it is only ten tracks? True, but it includes all of her most well-known tracks, and it comes together impeccably well, seamlessly flowing from track to track. It of course starts out with her legendary cover of "La Vie en Rose" and it finishes with the equally as important "Slave to the Rhythm". Grace's work was always cutting edge, and it is interesting to hear her belt out a disco fluff like "Do or Die", only two years prior to her incredible rendition of The Pretenders' "Private Life", which is completely dissimilar to said disco cut. Things went hard and fast, and within no more than just a couple of years she went from her number #1 disco song "I Need a Man" to "Pull Up to the Bumper". That being said, 1977-1985, captured the essence of Grace Jones without equivocation. The image, the pictures, the songs, the attitude, the fashion and the movies. "Walking in the Rain" is as hypnotic as it was back in 1981 and "My Jamaican Guy" drives as hard as it did back in '82. In conclusion, if you like great music, albeit in a small, but concise packaging, pick up "Island Life" and avoid all of the bloated compilations that came after it.

Highlights: "La Vie en Rose", "Walking in the Rain", "Do or Die", "Pull up to the Bumper" and "Slave to the Rhythm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, even if its just for 2 tracks., 17 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Island Life (Audio CD)
Just for balance, I disagree with the other reviewer. the tracks 'La vie en rose' and 'private life' are both must-have tracks. My attention was brought to these by Norman Jay and I am so glad they are both found on this one funky collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A skimpy collection, 19 Nov 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Island Life (Audio CD)
Island Life is a collection of Grace Jones' biggest hits on the Island records label. It draws from albums like Portfolio (1977), Fame (1978), Muse (1979), Warm Leatherette (1980), Nightclubbing (1981), Living My Life (1982) and Slave To The Rhythm (1985). The tracks are arranged chronologically so it maps out her musical development from the robotic disco sounds of La Vie En Rose through her new wave experiments with Private Life, her torch song phase in Libertango up to the funky R&B of My Jamaican Guy.
She wasn't taken seriously as a musician up until the release of Warm Leatherette in 1980, but I have always enjoyed her early disco work, especially the Portfolio album with its great tracks like Tomorrow, Send In The Clowns, I Need A Man and La Vie en Rose. The following two albums, Fame and Muse, were weaker but still contained a sprinkling of memorable disco musings like Autumn Leaves, Do Or Die and others.
Warm Leatherette really put her on the musical map, especially on account of her version of the title track that was an obscure synth-pop single by Daniel Miller's The Normal. She also did interesting versions of Private Life (The Pretenders) and Love Is The Drug (Roxy Music). Tracks 6 to 8 come from Jones' very successful Nightclubbing album. Libertango and Walking In the Rain are witty, accessible pop ballads while the funky Pull Up To The Bumper is controversially sensual. My Jamaican Guy from the innovative Living My Life album is jerky, funky and tribal with stunning vocal arrangements.
Unfortunately Island Life doesn't really succeed in providing the best of Grace Jones. It ought to properly have been a double disc as there are many other classics in her oeuvre that deserve to be on a best of album. Songs like Demolition Man, the title track from Nightclubbing, Rolling Stone, Art Groupie, Nipple To The Bottle and The Apple Stretching are equally worthy of inclusion on a greatest hits compilation. And then there are the great albums that followed her Island period: Bulletproof Heart and Inside Story, but that's another story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars why we LOVE Grace...., 7 Oct 2009
This review is from: Island Life (Audio CD)
being a "certain" age ( i remember - ah i remember..) discovering this compilation of Grace's peak 80's recordings with Island records back in the late 80's (i'm usually a few years discovering great artists..) and totally loving this cd and for good reason ....

"Island Life" from 1985 is just a great intro cd compilation to one of the late 20th Centurys iconic females, with a broad range of Grace's styles - from the early camp disco-diva phase, through to the uber-cool noir dub-club period (aided by ace dub duo- sly+robbie) to her last lp for Island "slave to the rhythm". this compilation is not necessarily perfect and is certainly a little uneven on styles, BUT new fans of Grace in 2008 via her lacklustre comeback "Hurricane" lp will probably get a shock if they heard the leap in quality contained within "Island Life" or pretty much any of her mid-period island label cds. go to those for the real deal on Grace. oh - AND she could eat kylie, madonna, and miss ga-ga for breakfast !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Grace, 21 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Island Life (Audio CD)
An excellent CD to have in my collection. Her deep and sensuous voice is just hypnotic. I LOVE ISLAND LIFE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Jones, 2 May 2005
This review is from: Island Life (Audio CD)
Legendary for her looks, attitude and amazing talents. Grace Jones took the universe by storm in 1977 with her musical debut "Portfolio" which included her gold selling single "La Vie En Rose." After three disco albums she changed her image with a little help from her then-husband Jean Paul Goude. The first result came in 1980, titled "Warm Leatherette" and it was a hit. Finally, Grace got the acclaim that she so richly deserved. Her amazing covers hit right between the eyes, "Private Life" is a perfect odd couple tune that Grace mastered with full capability and her rendition of the Normals "Warm Leatherette" was something comepletely new. A great addition to this "Best of" CD is the "Thorngren Remix" of "Love Is the Drug" which has not been available elsewhere. Her perhaps biggest hit album came in 1981, titled "Nightclubbing." A compilation of various of covers, everything from David Bowie to Sting. Despite Grace's amazing talent as an inpreter, her own stuff was just as stunning, an example of this can be heard in her biggest chart success "Pull Up to the Bumper." The third Sly and Robbie collaboration arrived in 1983 dubbed "Living My Life," which turned out to be last collaboration bewteen the rhythm couple and Grace. This time around, Grace was fully involved with everything; writing and even eventually co-producing each song on the album. "Living My Life" stapled Grace as a fully grown-up star; "My Jamaican Guy" is closer to Reggae than any other of her previous work and the 7" single of "Living My Life" helped Grace to become the ultimate star of music videos. After three years of playing movie parts, Grace and Trevor Horn put together a biography titled "Slave to the Rhythm" which still sounds as freash as it did back then. Legendary for her looks, attitude and amazing talents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grace Jones struts her stuff, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Island Life (Audio CD)
I'm not sure if it's the fond memories of dancing to Grace Jones or her character which shines through the music as always, but a certain taste for her music and versatility comes through on this collection of her hits. I enjoy listening to it loud, although I must say my wife doesn't share my enthusiasm. (or my feelings for this collection of songs;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All the Hits, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Island Life (Audio CD)
I think this is probably the best Grace Jones album. Includes many of her better known hits and an entertaining mix of songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Island Life
Island Life by Grace Jones
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews