Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another world, another vision
This was an extraordinary debut album which is as crisp and fresh today as when I first heard it in 1985. This album is a collection of glimpses of stories — some almost narrated, some barely hinted at. But all tantalisingly brief.
Marlene on the Wall is the song that brought this album to the UK public's attention, but the song that riveted me was 'The Queen...
Published on 6 Feb. 2004 by Martin Turner

versus
3 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bored
I recently bought this album because I really like the song Marlene On The Wall. I've also enjoyed some of Suzanne's other songs such as Tom's Diner and Luca. Seeing the five star reviews on here and the fact that it is at such a cheap price I purchased a copy.

The CD arrived and I put it into my hi-fi expecting a classic. First thing I noticed was how bad...
Published on 30 Jun. 2008 by C. Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another world, another vision, 6 Feb. 2004
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Suzanne Vega (Audio CD)
This was an extraordinary debut album which is as crisp and fresh today as when I first heard it in 1985. This album is a collection of glimpses of stories — some almost narrated, some barely hinted at. But all tantalisingly brief.
Marlene on the Wall is the song that brought this album to the UK public's attention, but the song that riveted me was 'The Queen and the Soldier' on what was then Side 2. It's a haunting almost fairy tale which ends — well, buy the album and find out how it ends. From there I had to go back to Some Journey, which is like a brief scene from a Russian novel, or maybe a half chapter of Michael Strogoff.
Suzanne Vega had already mastered the art of shifting perspective in this album. Knight Moves takes us very close in, right to the moment, while Small Blue Thing is like seeing the song from a great height.
The guitar work is masterful, and eminently playable for those willing to take the trouble to learn it.
Someone once suggested to me that Suzanne Vega's first album was her best, the second her second best, the third her third best, and so on. I don't agree with him, because I think that she develops in different musical directions. But I can see what he meant - in terms of what it is, this album is perfect. Vega was wise not to try to do the same thing again with her second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Singer-Songwriter Perfection - 1st time around, 19 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Suzanne Vega (Audio CD)
Suzanne Vega's eponymous debut album put her fimly in the public's mind with Tracey Chapman and Michelle Shocked. A latter-day Joni Mitchell her gentle introspective songs were never finer than on "Cracking" or "Undertow". The exquisite "Small Blue Thing" had a whole bedsit generation curled up in sympathy and the top twenty single "Marlene on the Wall" struck a chord with everyone (male or female) who'd done something they regretted the morning after! "The Queen and the Soldier" clearly demonstrates her folk roots but manages to remain just the right side of twee. This is a perfect album, ideal for chilling in the bath, on the sofa, or even the tube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent debut and a taster of what was to come, 22 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Suzanne Vega (Audio CD)
I agree with many of the reviews. This debut album by Suzanne Vega is excellent and worthy of at least 4 stars, possibly 5. Back in 1985, music was drifting into the horrible 80s dross, particularly in the UK. What a relief when Suzanne Vega arrived with some hope.

Marlene On The Wall was a good well-deserved hit in the UK and I was one of the gang that went on to buy the album off the back of hearing the single. Cracking and "Small Blue Thing" are outstanding. "Freeze Tag" is sublime and wonderful. "Marlene On The Wall" was the acid test until Solitude Standing album arrived.

I have to say however, that "The Queen and The Soldier" The Queen And The Soldier is really the very best track on this album.

So nothing further to say except I am pleased to say the album has crossed to CD extremely well.

In passing can I put in a word for "(I'll Never Be) Your Maggie May" - ok it came years later but when reviewing Suzanne Vega at her best, for me this song is up there with "Luka", "Gypsy", "Marlene On The Wall", and "The Queen And The Soldier".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suzanne's Classic Debut, 30 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Suzanne Vega (Audio CD)
If you only ever intend to get just one Suzanne Vega studio album then be sure to make it is this one ! There are ten songs in total and none of these songs could be considered to be a weak link in any way .The main musical elements here consist of Suzanne's voice and her acoustic guitar being augmented in a considered and complimentary fashion by keyboards ,electric guitar, bass and drums . I have fond memories of seeing her perform live on two different occasions in the '80's and both times she played the entirety of this debut album plus 'Tom's Diner' and 'Luka' .After this album her sound changed and her work began to be more 'produced' and commercial .Here the songs are produced sympathetically and are therefore allowed to breath and shine as they should .

The whole album holds together in a very well rounded and cohesive way and has proved to be a piece of work that has definitely stood the test of time. It is quite difficult to pick favourites (because they are all so excellent ) but suffice to say that it speaks volumes for the strength of the songs that 'Marlene on the Wall' is in equally good company !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A winters record., 26 Dec. 2011
By 
This review is from: Suzanne Vega (Audio CD)
This is one of those records that I wished I'd have had in my youth and had grown up with instead of only getting into her music recently.
This record is also a very wintry one,the sparse instrumentation reminds you of bare branches and crackling ice underneath your feet whilst out walking in the countryside,also Vega's detached sing/ speak along is icy cold at times,check out the first two tracks inparticularly for this.
People say Vega doesn't have much of a voice but to me she holds the notes very well in her big hit off here "Marlene On The Wall",but her hushed tones are perfect for her songs.
This sort of music is timeless and for me and is perfect to listen to at this time of year,heck it's good to listen to at any time.
Thought this would have had more reviews saying it's been out for so long,hope that doesn't mean that both this excellent debut and Vega have been forgotten about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Along with Cyndi Lauper, finest debut of the 1980s, 26 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Suzanne Vega (Audio CD)
This album is so thought-provoking, sensitive and beautifully instrumented that it would be a crime not to like it. Suzanne Vega emerged as a folk rock singer-songwriter/guitarist in the style of the legendary Joni Mitchell. But this wonderful entirely self-written collection sets her apart. From the spoken opener "Cracking" to the funky "Neighborhood Girls", there is always something to keep you enthralled. The most commercial moment is undoubtedly the album's biggest hit, the classic "Marlene On The Wall" - a chart hit back in 1986. But there is much more here. The cellos serve up a treat on "Undertow", while acoustic works wonders on "Small Blue Thing". The standout is the beautiful ballad "The Queen And The Soldier", still one of her finest tracks 17 years after this album's initial release. A record to treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The First is always the best, 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suzanne Vega (Audio CD)
This was Suzanne's first offering she followed this up with "Solitude Standing" Best track on that was "Luka".

On this we have her Albatross "Marlene On the Wall" A song I can never tire of listening to, the other outstanding track is "Small Blue Thing" if memory serves the Vinyl "Live" version of this track is better but still this is song writing in it's finest art form.

Her later work I found disappointing, so for a newcomer this is best, I liken Suzanne to Ricky Lee Jones,who's first album was mustard
but everything else was definitely also ran, this is for me is the thing they both share, but to be objective it's always hard to follow that first flush of success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get it! Its great! Suzanne vega at top., 26 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suzanne Vega (Audio CD)
Finally I played this first album in HiFi mod with joy . I've expect many years !
The original tape, (we know) is bad registered (too high and lacks of bass frequency).
This remastered version isn't correct too, the sound frequencies are shifted to the treble too.
Probably as was recorded on the disc can not be changed, but is better anyway : the volume level is a bit higher and it's a goog thinks. the drums are fuller, less compressed sounding, the acoustic guitar is outstanding.
All is more natural and vivid and the noise of the recording is contained.
finally sorry for my english (I was born in italy).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stands the test of time, 14 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suzanne Vega (Audio CD)
I bought this album soon after hearing "Marlene On The Wall" on the radio; I was not disappointed then or now. It has been said that good music will stand the test of time, for me this album is proof of that. Easy and enjoyable to listen to with enough interest to draw you back time after time. If you are unfamiliar with this album, do yourself a favour, get acquainted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rediscovering an old treasure, 20 Oct. 2002
By 
This review is from: Suzanne Vega (Audio CD)
I was a Suzanne Vega fan back when this album was first released and I'd forgotten just how good it was. In my opinion, this remains her finest collection and is a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Suzanne Vega
Suzanne Vega by Suzanne Vega
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews